25 years ago today....

zacharyamelie

I remember being in class in middle school and the teacher found out and allowed all of us to go to the library to watch the news. Being that young the magnitude of this tradegy did not quite compute the way it should have at the time, but enough for me to remember where I was when it happened.

I was a sophomore in high school when this happened. I didn't see it, but apparently one of the science classes was watching the launch live on TV, so word spread around the school pretty quickly afterwards.

I was in sixth grade at the time. Another teacher came running in our classroom and told us what happened. We then filed over to another classroom that was watching it live and watched the replays on tv. I remember that day like it was yesterday. I also remember the jokes that started up not even three days after it happened.

I was in 8th grade, and had laid out of school that day. I had been flipping through the channels trying to find something to watch, and wandered upon the launch, so I decided to check it out. I don't remember who the news anchor was who was reporting, but I remember the despair in his voice when it became apparent that the shuttle was not going to emerge from the large cloud of smoke, and that something had gone terribly wrong. -_-

"Sometimes, when we reach for the stars, we fall short. But we must pick ourselves up again and press on despite the pain." ~ Ronald Reagan

I was in High School and in the hallway when a teacher told me the news. I remember it vividly. I remember when Ronald Reagan got shot too. I was in middle school and in shop class. Memories I will likely take to my grave.

I was home eating lunch at the time. I turned the tv on and started to watch it. I said to myself "this can't be good".

The Space Shuttle explosion not the crappy lunch you were eating....right?