Jump to content

GIDEON'S ARMY - Warriors Of Love [Legacy Edition] (2013)


Recommended Posts





Finally, after more than 25 years of wait, one of my most beloved '80s underground American AOR / Melodic Hard Rock albums is being released on CD for the first time ever: GIDEON'S ARMY "Warriors Of Love". With a wonderful remastering treatment by Retroactive Records, this essential record is available in limited quantities packaged in a full color four panel Digipak CD.

Gideon's Army was a San Francisco Bay Area based combo formed at the end of the seventies which played extensively the US west coast mostly as part of the white metal movement. Yes, Gideon's Army was a Christian band, but they were a different beast than Stryper, Whitecross or Petra. Their sound and style has more in common with Night Ranger, Idle Cure, Aviator, Icon, etc, combining hooky melodic guitar riffs with tons of keyboards and swirling synths over a catchy choruses baggage. In short: "Warriors Of Love" is an awesome mid-eighties ear-candy US Melodic Hard Rock / AOR album.

With easily accessible and immediately memorable songs such as "Moment By Moment", "Runaway" or "Backsliding Brother", it's a wonder why this group wasn't signed to one of the major recording labels back in the day. The title track itself is 'that kind' of power ballad that smashed the eighties radio but strikes with more energy than most of their later contemporaries. This is a strong song that demands a repeat play right after listening, and you can't stop listening to it over and over again. Quirky commercial poppy melodic rock melodies appear in the form of "No Fun" and "Video", complete with drummer Jerry Anderson playing electronic Simmons drums, plenty of that kind of reverb that was the typical sound at the time, and let me tell you, I love this.




Until now, I was used to listen "Warriors Of Love" with the scratchs of my LP vinyl record or the hiss from my wasted cassette copy almost like 'an additional backing track noise'.

This Retroactive Records "Warriors Of Love - Legacy Edition" has brought A NEW LIFE to this wonderful album.


The remaster is AWESOME, crystal clear and pristine, and now you can enjoy this great recording in all its glory.
I bet 90% of you have never heard of Gideon's Army "Warriors Of Love". If you are a fan of pure mid '80s American AOR / Melodic Hard Rock, do yourself a favour and grab this gem as soon as possible.

A Must Have.

01. Moment By Moment
02. It's Your Love
03. Warriors Of Love
04. No Fun
05. I Know Someone
06. Runaway
07. I Know You Could See
08. Video
09. Backsliding Brother
10. Face To Face

Mark Greeves - lead & backing vocals, bass
Jerry Anderson - lead & backing vocals, drums
Doug Naruo - keyboards, synths, backing vocals
Darin Warren - guitars

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...
  • My Little Pony

I'm pretty sure Retroactive Records are all silver pressed. At least, I've never got one that wasn't.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Paid a lot for the vinyl back in the day, some nice songs there.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

They did the Grace album on CD as well, so you can grab both. I transferred the vinyl "Warriors of Love" years ago to a CDR and listen to it occasionally.......it was the beginning of their "rock" period as a band and was a very decent album IMO!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • 2022 HH Donation Drive

    Please support Heavy Harmonies! The donations goal is the out-of-pocket expenses to run the main site and this board for calendar year 2022.

    82% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Posts

    • Yeah, sad news. Even though she was a quiet achiever in that group with Stevie getting most of the attention, she sings Lead on two of my favourite "Fleetwood Mac" tracks. "Little Lies" is a Killer. R.I.P.      
    • For me, "Run-D.M.C." in '88 on their "Tougher Than Leather" tour when I was 16. A bit left field, but I loved these guys in my early teens. They weren't afraid to embrace Hard Rock guitars in their music.    
    • I was there too mate. You can't beat the atmosphere of a concert "in the round". I'm surprised it doesn't happen more often.
    • Keep a lid on it 
    • This one looks like a fun ride....  
    • I keep sticking with the band but my initial thoughts are that this is basically hookless. I sure hope this was just released as the first single cause it is loud and fast and isn't considered the best song on the upcoming album.
    • GENERATION LANDSLIDE (Cold Sweat / Lillian Axe members) – Ruling The Street Scene (2022) online sources · NOVEMBER 28, 2022     Comprising former members of both Cold Sweat and Lillian Axe, Las Vegas’ hard rockers GENERATION LANDSLIDE release their debut album ”Ruling The Street Scene”. Fronted by Anthony White, formerly of Cold Sweat and Cold Gin, GENERATION LANDSLIDE is a whirlwind of ’80s and early ’90s-influenced American-style melodic hard rock, complete with big hooks, singalong choruses and a feel-good vibe that continues throughout the entire ”Ruling The Street Scene”. Produced by White, the album kicks off with the ferocious ‘Little Miss Lonely’, then ‘Feel the Sensation’ follows with heavy gang vocals telling the story of finishing your day job and feeling the anticipation of going wild from seeing your favourite band in concert that night from a spiritual way. ‘Love and Pain’ relates the ups and downs in every relationship and the emptiness of being alone and ‘Are You Out There?’ is a tribute to the late Thin Lizzy bassist Phil Lynott. Highly Recommended   01 – Little Miss Lonely 02 – Feel the Sensation 03 – Nite Time Magic 04 – I’ll Keep Movin’ Along 05 – Love and Pain 06 – Are You out There 07 – Sweet Ellie May 08 – The City on the Edge of Forever 09 – Me in You 10 – Standing in the Rain Anthony White – lead vocals, lead guitar Sandy Stein – guitar Jonathon Swanson – bass Ken Koudelka – drums   BUY www.amazon.com/Ruling-Street-Scene-Generation-Landslide/dp/B0BFBV9HN2
    • Australia 1 Argentina 1 (Aus 5 Arg 4 on penalties) 🇦🇺 🪃 
    • USA 2, Netherlands 1. (*my prediction)
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.