Jump to content


2019 Donors
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Delbert

  1. I really liked this band's debut and looking forward to more from them.......
  2. I listened to this track........ Oh Dear, I quickly found myself being transported to the "Twilight Zone", hearing influences of Perry Como and Frank Sinatra (yes, I'm old enough to recall them). If it hadn't been for my wife turning up the volume on the TV I would surely have been lost forever!!!. Not the Zinatra I'm familiar with for sure.......
  3. Hey Sam, talk about buttin heads, here I am.....probably one of your top 10 head butters...LOL. Actually, after you moved to the silver pressed stuff, I started collecting them. I have a pretty impressive collection of Retrospect Releases and the very first one was "DefCon". You sent that to me as a sort of peace offering, remember? I was actually surprised to see this post because I was told that due to health reasons, you had put the business up for sale. Strange how these stories appear and are passed around. It all makes sense now.... I've still been cherry pickin off the site, Discogs and some of the auctions to pickup titles I missed along the way. Your assessment of the CD label business is spot on....very gloomy and sadly, headed toward and nearing end I believe. The downloading and internet of things has killed CDs (for all but the enthusiast like us), along with the soaring postage rates which I compained about even during my E bay selling days. I haven't spent any time in pawn shops for over 5 years because they quit accepting CDs. The music stores are vanishing across the US at an alarming rate. I would be truly surprised if you could find someone to take over your business at this late stage of the game. Finally, I do hope you see your way to at least crank out a few more for us die hards.......I wish you well!
  4. I agree completely.....good choice of words Geoff
  5. Here's a heads up for those of you into CD collecting....the Estonian Band FIRST NIGHT has their new 14 track CD almost ready to be shipped and they are now accepting pre orders with PAYPAL to firstnightaor@gmail.com .........The CD costs 16 Euro which includes postage and I personally believe this is going to be hard to get in the near future since it is available only from the band at this moment. They sound very much in the vein of the Finnish band PRAYER with elements of LEVERAGE and BROTHER FIRETRIBE....... you can hear samples of all the tracks on CD baby at this link FIRST NIGHT CD  sound samples   14 tracks
  6. I always loved the sound of this band and have been waiting anxiously for something new......The samples seem to be in the same tradition as the older material, but.....I am definitely going to miss the vocals of Pekka Heino. Wow!! That said, let's be fair and give the new effort some time to grow on me.....
  7. I've been waiting for this one for quite a long time. Have been following the band on Facebook and now we are extremely close to actually holding a physical CD in our hands. According to the band, the CD is in pressing right now and will be available shortly. For me, It's hard to find good melodic rock (definitely radio ready sound) of this quality. I love the tasty keys and just the right level of guitar in the mix. This band reminds me so much of the Finnish band PRAYER with its vocals....hey, this singer has a quality that is unique and with the excellent harmonies, works to his advantage. Classy pure melodic rock with some definite pomp elements. Luv the use of keys here as well...... Similar in sound to PRAYER, GREENHOUZE, HOUSE OF MIRRORS and at times, BROTHER FIRETRIBE. I know some of you don't care for this vocalist, but let's also realize, the uniqueness in the sound of his delivery.....I think that is what really drew me to the PRAYER releases from Finland. Like it or not, this is a pleasant and refreshing effort IMO!
  8. Totally love this band....have their first two CDs and anxiously waiing to score this one.....
  9. Great sounding band......I am fortunate to have a copy of the demo tape as well....
  10. anxious to hear some tracks off this one......
  11. enjoyed the debut, so looking forward to hearing samples of his followup
  12. Anxious for this release....I have the Japanese pressing of the first
  13. Oh, there are many sound samples posted, you just have to navigate the site by clicking on the "bands" and then there are links to listen to their songs Most of the bands have at least 3 or 4 different samples posted
  14. You are spot on.....those titles labelled OUT OF STOCK are ones that will be released in the near future. The bands have been signed and the releases are being prepared for release. I know on the titles I purchased in the first release batch, they were listed like this and then changed to "Pre Order" with a release date of August 21 declared......As with any new project, we just have to hold our breath and be patient. Delbert
  15. Jacob That is the essence of my post....here is a label providing the obscure bands for us....and if you listen to the sound samples on the web page, they are great sounding as well. I'm certain you have observed numerous bands appear on Escape, Frontier, Perris and other labels and thought "Who are these guys, where did they come from, I don't recognize any of them".........I'm a collector, I have 100's of bands in my collection that I am positive neither you or many others have ever heard of before and when you heard them, would love them..... Delbert
  16. Dan That is surprising to me. The only response I can make would be that maybe it is something that was overlooked. I'm sure there's much involved in starting a project such as this. Actually, I hadn't seen anything anywhere advertising the new label, only learned of it when discussing a trade with Josh back in May sometime. I'd be great if he did reach out to you...... Delbert
  17. This Monday I received a package in the mail that I have been anxiously awaiting with bated breath for a couple of months. It contained the CDs from the new METALLIC BLUE RECORDS LABEL that was recently started by one of the members of our group, Josh Dowdle. I felt compelled to post to let all of you know about this great new label and the bands being offered now and in the future if you haven't already heard of it. I know I have discussed with many of my collector friends the need for these small labels to propel these obscure bands and CDs to us for our collections. If you are like me, I hate the new wave of downloading and love to hold the physical CD in my hands. Oh, I have to mention, the liner notes and entire packaging on these Metallic Blue Records CDs are first class as is the sound. Most of you know I am a stickler for high quality audio....LOL!! Please, check out the new label and support it if you can, and Josh, I think you've put together a great package starting out.....good luck and long life....... METALLIC BLUE RECORDS
  18. great story......love hearing these bits of nostalgia.....
  19. Great CD.....thanks to Stefan for bringing it to my attention......
  20. Anxiously awaiting my Japanese Pressing of this Cd....the samples I heard were killer and pulled my chain to the max
  21. I just ordered my copy of this new CD.....for me, it is a dramatic change from the previous release. I love the addition of keys to the mix
  22. Nice score getting that Miriah 1992 demo Russ..........
  23. I ordered Japanese Pressing from CD Japan with the bonus track.....this album is definitely right up my listening pleasure alley.....
  24. I agree, the last track was definitely the one that pulled my chain the most......may be a pretty good album when finished.......I'm sitting on 50/50 right now
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.