Cataloging your music, databases etc.

DaHun72

I've been putting off cataloging my CD collection for a couple of years but after doing a bit of a clean out I noticed I have heaps of duplicate CDs! So the time is right. I used to put everything into an excel spreadsheet so it would house all the info I wanted eg.

Artist

Title

Year

Label

Label ID

# of CDs

Notes eg. OBI, Bonus Tracks, Digipak etc.

Was wondering how everyone else catalogs their collection. There is so much software and apps these days that something good must be available. For instance I tried Libib but after I put in the ISBN I got the correct Artist, Title and Year but that's it. It said foreign label.

Would be cool to have something that grabs the artwork, allows for the main info to be put in but also allows notes or tags etc. for additional info.

Label ID?? What's that? I don't even have label but sometimes which I did.

At the moment I just use:

Artist

Title

Year

But one day I'd like to add stuff like label, style, male/female vocals etc. But I doubt I ever will...

Artist, Title and Year would be the minimum requirements.

I certainly wouldn't care about things like Record Label or Label ID / Catalogue No.

But I do make note of the Music Style and Rating, as those benefit me when looking through a long list of my collection. Depending on what I wanted to listen to, I can quite easily scan through a list of Hard Rock or Melodic Rock or Power Metal (etc.) to see what I've got, rather than browsing my CD shelves where everything is ordered alphabetically by Artist and then Year.

What about keeping a record of something more personal to you, such as Date Purchased? I knew someone who did that as he liked to occasionally see how his tastes in music changed over time.