Jump to content

Vega - Battlelines


Recommended Posts

On 6/3/2023 at 7:29 PM, Eric3 said:

No more Martin brothers in the band, right? I'm somewhat concerned about that.

no need to be. Just heard new single on Planet Rock and its great - one of the best songs Ive heard this year.

Pretty hard rocking, great melody and chorus. 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites



New video for 'Love To Hate You'.

From Frontiers:

UK rockers VEGA are back with “Battlelines,” their eight studio album overall and the culmination of a string of releases which started in 2009 with their debut album “Kiss of Life”. The new album, while not a departure from the band’s defined and classy sound, shows a band determined, mature, and ready for the next step in their career. It has a crisp sound and immaculate musicianship showcasing the great talents in the band. On the songwriting front, the band have returned with a more muscular sound, but no less full to the brim with melodies that will grab you from the first note to the last.  

 "Battlelines" completes a line-up revolution which started already with the previous record “Anarchy and Unity”. Exit the Martin brothers, keyboardist James and bassist Tom, enter the new bass player Mart Trail who, together with Billy Taylor (ex-Inglorious) on guitars and Pete Newdeck (Nitrate, Midnite City) on drums (who both debuted on the previous record), singer Nick Workman and guitarist Marcus Thurston gel together in a perfect musical combo that truly brings VEGA to a completely new level.

Vega wear their musical influences on their sleeves: may it be the classic Bon Jovi sound from the late 80’s and 90’s or Def Leppard, the Birmingham based quintet knows well how to to create melodic rock with a hard edge that’s as catchy as hell! Perhaps even a little more hard-hitting than their previous albums but “Battlelines” is still a very well-crafted and entertaining album of their trademark melodic heavy rock.
With pent up energy, a rejuvenated lineup, and a brand new album, VEGA are now firing on all cylinders. With dates penciled in for Autumn it may well be the case of a show not to be missed at all costs!

1. Heros And Zeros
2. Killers
3. Battlelines
4. Love To Hate You
5. Don't Let Them See You Bleed
6. Embrace The Grey
7. 33'S And 45'S
8. Into The Fire
9. Run With Me
10. Not Enough
11. God Save The King
12. Gotta Be You

Nick Workman - Vocals
Mart Trail - Bass
Marcus Thurston - Guitar
Billy Taylor - Guitas
Pete Newdeck – Drums








Edited by Stefan
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, yeah, that's pretty good! It's definitely still "them" which for me is a good thing. I don't know if I agree with the label's comments because their last album was pretty "muscular" sounding (and they were definitely firing on all cylinders for that one too!) but I guess it gets difficult to come up with new press fluff when a band gets this far into their careers, lol.

Looking forward to hearing more!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

One of the few bands nowadays on Frontiers i  can pretty much buy blind, and this one doesn't disappoint one iota.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

44 minutes ago, Jez said:

One of the few bands nowadays on Frontiers i  can pretty much buy blind, and this one doesn't disappoint one iota.

Totally agree Jez ,have given this a few spins today and it's just what I expect from Vega... :)  good stuff

Edited by lettard
  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Cool song. If ADV is strictly hired to play keys, it should be fine. 
    • Ooh, nice!  I'll have to revisit the first album. 
    • Ugh... I hate you so much. You know I hate you, right? ;} I've never seen either iteration. 
    • These are sounding pretty good. 
    • New album out April 26th. SiX By SiX, the progressive power trio comprising Ian Crichton (Saga), Nigel Glockler (Saxon) and Robert Berry (3.2), are pleased to announce the release of their sophomore album ‘Beyond Shadowland’ on InsideOutMusic on 26th April 2024. The band reconvened in Berry’s own Soundtek Studios in the San Francisco Bay Area in 2023 to bend, shape, hammer and caress their diverse musical talents into 11 impressive new tracks.  With this album, they continue to define and build upon their unique melodic space, welding guitar-driven rock, metal and prog into a unique and powerful sonic setting. Tracks: 1. Wren 2. The Arms of a Word 3. Can’t Live Like This 4. Obiliex 5. Only You Can Decide 6. Titans 7. Outside Looking In 8. Spectre 9. Sympathise 10. One Step 11. The Mission Vinyl-only bonus tracks: 1. SiX By SiX Orchestra Medley 2. The Arms of a Word (Instrumental) 3. Honor Bridge 4. The Mission (Instrumental)    
    • Press release: Newman are pleased to announce the follow up to 2021’s ”Into The Monsters’ Playground”, the UK Melodic Rock band was formed back in 1997 by Steve Newman and quickly gained a great reputation after releasing their debut, and subsequent ”One Step Closer” albums. A string of high quality releases have ensued throughout the last 20 years insuring a strong and loyal following. Highly respected by fans and fellow musicians alike, this new album will add to the bands great legacy and underline the reason why Newman are considered to be one of the UK’s top Melodic Rock artists. The new album tentatively titled ”Colour In Sound” will be the bands 14th studio album and will be released through AOR BLVD Records in May. Artwork will be revealed soon as well as the first single accompanied by a video in the next few weeks, watch this space.
    • Imagine a world where Andrew Wood didn’t die and Mother Love Bone was still creating awesome music!
    • “My Icarian Flight” featuring the one and only ADV 😜  
    • lol, this was my thought process too. What about Confess?! I like both bands, but not at the expense of one of them. 
    • I do have to give him credit for sounding exactly the same as he did in 1989...
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.