Jump to content

Dan Reed Network - Origins


Recommended Posts

New song for sure.  Very much the same as the last album.  I like it a lot as I'm a 30+ year fan.  If you're looking for "Ritual" this will not tickle your fancy.

Notice the audience participation in the new song / video... from what I understand at least one old-school track (voted on by the audience) will be included on the new album.  Something like that, anyway.

I know one thing is for certain... Rob Daiker has his fingerprints all over DRN's new sound... and keyboards are NOT his primary talent... the dude can flat-out play the guitar!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...
6 hours ago, Stefan said:

Released via Reed's own 'Zero One Entertainment' label. 

Then later by AOR Heaven also I think?  :)

Edited by lettard
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Love it!  Very new-breed DRN... I don't normally dig that type of thing from my favorite 80's bands, but I'm good with it here.  Once again, Daiker is all over this one.

Look at Mel slide into everyone of those notes on bass.  Dude is SOOOOOOOOOOOO damn good.  Such a shame he's virtually unknown outside Portland, Oregon (and a those of you in-the-know for this type of music).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

I'm quite enjoying this too. Far more melodic than funky for sure. It's like melodic rock versions of their stuff. So I'm not a made fan of these guys. I know 'Ritual' and 'Rainbow Child' are old songs, but are there more? Or are the rest all new songs? It's a fine mini-album, either way. Love the new version of both those songs, as well as 'Right in front of me' and 'Shameless.' 

He has such a great voice... wish he did more pure melodic rock. :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah 4 are old tracks re-recorded (Ritual,Forgot To Make Here Mine,Let It Go & Rainbow Child) 4 from 8 which why I haven't purchased it,doesnt matter how good the re-recordings are,the originals were excellent so I just don't understand why not just release a 4 track e.p?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

From AOR Heaven:

In many respects an unusual but highly interesting album that shows the roots and the future of DAN REED NETWORK displaying 4 classics (“Forget To Make Her Mine“, “Ritual“, “Let It Go“ and “Rainbow Child“). Recorded in pairs each in four prestigious studios worldwide (Manchester, Stockholm, New York and Portland/Oregon) in front of an intimate crowd., “Origins“ showcases versatile qualities of the band. It’s quite a remarkable and innovative concept, for which the diverse but somehow always characteristic sound of the Americans seems to be fitting like a glove. Although at the end of the day only eight tracks long, this piece of art definitely feels like a full album. Strong statement!


1. Fade to Light

2. Ritual

3. Right in Front of Me

4. Forgot to Make Her Mine

5. Shameless

6. Let it Go

7. One Last Time

8. Rainbow Child









Japan bonus track?:


Link to comment
Share on other sites

The new versions of the old songs are great and the new tracks are excellent as well. Nice  album from a great band

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • 2021 HH Donation Drive

    Please support Heavy Harmonies! The donations goal is the out-of-pocket expenses to run the main site and this board for calendar year 2021.

    76% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Posts

    • "Local News" doesn't even exist anymore.Right out of the gate they slam you with the Covid numbers...the body count...a clusterf__k of  negativity..maybe a little time for weather and sports and then newscast DONE! On radio - same thing  every half hour: rinse-wash-repeat.National / global depression,drug use,suicide rates still climbing....
    • As if we need something else to worry about but with overpopulation and a rapidly changing world due to climate issues..... In 2009, a patient in Japan developed a new fungal infection on their ear. The highly transmissible Candida auris fungus had been previously unknown to science (and resistant to the drugs available to treat it), but within a few years, cases started emerging in Venezuela, Iran, Russia, and South Africa. Scientists assumed that the spread was due to human travel, but when they sequenced the cases, they were surprised to find that these strains weren't closely related at all. Instead, scientists were seeing multiple, independent infections of an unknown fungal disease, emerging around the world, all at the same time. About a third of people infected with Candida auris die from the infection within 30 days, and there have now been thousands of cases in 47 countries. Some scientists think this sudden boom in global cases is a harbinger of things to come.
    • Agreed. I subbed to Russell Brand starting about 2 months ago. Yes, he's on the Left, but VERY even-handed IMO.
    • It's so hard to find unbiased info on anything these days...I just wish this virus wasn't being politicized...trust the science...once the science figures out wtf is going on which it hasn't yet....
    • Did you hear the fabled "roadmap to reopening the borders" has now been halted/delayed due the new (horrified screaming) variants? It's so predictable and the media machine are backing the states the whole way. More people at home, more people watching TV, more people buying shit from billionaires, more money for advertising, more wages for journalists , more votes for the government, more laws to control the populace. Win win win for elites.
    • This is currently the best independent media commentator on the internet. He comes from the Left, but old-school classical liberal and not the new devisive identity politics. Here he is discussing the shit going down in Australia.  
    • Gotta love the irresponsible national / global media."The new normal" for these idiots is the endless,fear mongering ritual abuse of the populace where any news on the "virus".."variants"..etc brings another flogging with the covid stick.Anyone who dares to question the over-reaching actions by government,"the science" or the asinine-repetitive-exploitive newsroom press propaganda are labeled a "conspiracy theorist"..or misinformation spreader...we've seen it all before -  try it on someone else.
    • Erik sounds good but song does little for me.  Really don't like the chorus...if you can even call that a chorus.
    • Got my refund today, fucking stupid, I was looking forward to this, oh well Loudness in March, havent seen them since 82, I was 5, my very first concert, super stoked for that.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.