Jump to content

Leverage - new singer


Recommended Posts



Pekka Heino is replaced by Kimmo Blom (Urban Tale, Heartplay). New single out now and new album out soon.



Kimmo Blom - Vocals
Tuomas Heikkinen - Guitar
Mikko Salovaara - Guitar
Sami Norrbacka - Bass
Marko Niskala - Keyboards
Valtteri Revonkorpi - Drums






Link to comment
Share on other sites

I agree...Pekka's voice is certainly unique......ironically was listening to previous Leverage releases this past week and was wondering if anything new was on the horizon.   I will miss Pekka on vocals for sure, but, being a fanatic fan of this genre of melodic rock, I can make the adjustment.....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I quite like the song, but agree the vocals aren't very powerful. Kimmo Blo was excellent fronting Urban Tale, as his voice suited that style of AOR...not sure here. Will have to hear the whole album

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have been craving new material from these guys quite a while. Excellent news that an album is coming. I'm echoing the opinions on the vocals. He sounds good IMO, but I'm so used to Heino that or will take some getting used to Mr Blom. But I'm sure I will as long as the songs are as strong as in the past. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...



From Frontiers:

BREAKING NEWS: We are excited to welcome back to the Frontiers' family the recently reunited Finnish Melodic Metal masters LEVERAGE!

Leverage landed on the scene with the independent release of their debut album, “Tides” in 2006. With their blend of Symphonic and Melodic Hard Rock, with some Progressive Metal twists, Leverage created a buzz on the scene and were signed by Frontiers for the release of their second album, "Blind Fire" in 2008 before moving to a different home for their next album, "Circus Colossus" (2009). The band became inactive not too long after the release of that album.

Somewhere during the lengthy hiatus, guitarist and band founder Tuomas Heikkinen started writing some heavy rock songs with Mikko Salovaara for Kimmo Blom to sing. This was at first more like ’therapy’....making music just for the sake of it. However, writing with Mikko and especially later, getting to play some Rainbow tribute gigs under the "Wolf Moon Rising" moniker, the guys started to get the feeling that the time was right to make the next step and bring back the sleeping monster that is LEVERAGE. The new lineup now includes Kimmo Blom (ex-Urban Tale) on vocals, Tuomas Heikkinen and Mikko Salovaara on guitar, Marko Niskala on keyboards, Sami Norrbacka on bass, and Valtteri Revonkorpi on drums.

"Of original Leverage members, Torsti Spoof had already switched his career to writing film scores and Pekka Hansio Heino was busy singing working with Brother Firetribe,” says Tuomas. "There’s never been any issues and nothing but brother-like friendship between any of us, it was just obvious that we couldn’t continue LEVERAGE as a heavy rock band with the same line-up. In a way, this is a circle closing. Kimmo was actually supposed to be the vocalist on the first pre-production demos of what became ’Tides’ back in the day, but he was too busy at that time with Urban Tale for it to happen."

Leverage’s new lineup already went into the studio and came up with an impressive single, “Red Moon Over Sonora”.

"It’s a blast to enter a new era with the new line-up and a renewed relationship with Frontiers, who we believe is the powerhouse for bands like us,” concludes Tuomas. "We’re super excited about the new music we’re working on right now and look forward to sharing it through new releases and playing live.”

You can expect new music very soon as the band is set to deliver a digital only EP this year and a new release to come in early 2019!



Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • My Little Pony

OK, how did I miss this announcement in January?? But now that I realise Pekka's not fronting the band, I'm not so excited. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...



On 6/25/2018 at 2:07 PM, Crazysam said:

New song from the upcoming EP "The Devil's Turn" to be released in late August via Frontiers on digital download format only




1. Dead Man’s Hand
2. Wheels From Hell
3. The Unicorn
4. Children Of Skyfall

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Lyric video for the new song:    
    • No replies in this thread, really? These guys deserves your recognition, absolutely quality stuff!    
    • Listening to this in a shopping centre with the phone to my ear and it sounds ok. But overall underwhelmed. Bed City were awesome and his vocal we top notch. But I like to think I can disregard that and hear it for what it is. I think it's the Christian stuff that is holding me back. And I dealt with Stryper stuff no problems so I'm trying to figure out why this isn't sitting well I guess times have changed and styper always came off as a bit gimmicky or shticky and kind of fun. It's also 30 years later and I really don't care Bout the Christian messages. They are boring now. Even Stryper aren't as obvious in their lyrics these days. Or maybe it's all just a reminder of the shit Josh did that landed him in jail? Silly to constantly remind people of that. Would prefer just some fun rock music I think.  
    • Nate seems like a legit nice guy too… From his FB page: I just want to thank everyone for such a positive response on the latest announcement! It means the world❤️ I will do my absolute best to honor Cj’s legacy and keep his name alive each show. Hope to see you all soon Best Regards  Nate Peck   And from earlier this year, this lovely pic of him and CJ
    • On Instagram where Stevie Rachelle posted the link to the story it was crazy how many people don't know anything about the bands recent history or read the article. Several people moaning how they are replacing him too quick etc without realising he has been touring with the band since last year when he was covering for a recovering CJ and that Nate and CJ actually became really good friends. CJ would have wanted them to carry on and gave this guy his blessing, essentially.
    • Caddy & Co - Real Little Bandbox  
    • Good news.  Nate seems like a great dude and from what I've seen, he does a nice job.  I think he's the right guy for that gig being he was filling in with CJ's blessing and he has the right tone in his voice to do the songs justice.  Granted, there's no replacing CJ's unique voice but good that they'll still be out there celebrating the music. One thing I wonder is if they'll maybe considering doing some new music with Nate?  I mean, he's a young guy and would probably love to record some new music with them.  Not sure how much demand there would be for it but I like to see them put out a new song at least and just see how it goes.  It would be nice to give Nate something of his own in the setlist too.  I'm not gonna hold my breath though lol.  
    • Earth Vs Wildhearts - Wildhearts
    • Doom of Destiny - Axxis
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.