Jump to content

Charlotte - Self Titled

Recommended Posts


Indianapolis, Indiana - Eonian Records is pleased to present the quintessential catalog of by Los Angeles rockers CHARLOTTE.

In 2010, Eonian Records released one of our most highly celebrated releases to this day. Fast forward twelve years and the band discovers the digital audio tapes for their entire collection, including a host of never-released studio sessions. The Eonian team did not even make it through the second song when we unanimously agreed we needed to do this again!

What separates this from ‘Medusa Groove’ you might ask? The band collectively picked 17 of their favorites (10 from their Eonian debut 'Medusa Groove' and 7 never released tracks), then turned the digital audio tapes over to Rob Calwell of Bombworks Sound for remastering. They sound as crisp and amazing as ever! Also, brand new stunning artwork including tons of never-before-seen photos, and liner notes written by Steven Reid, of Fireworks Magazine and Sea of Tranquility and lead vocalist, Eric Ganz. This is a must-have!

CHARLOTTE's story originally began in upstate New York in 1984. Some back-and-forth banter between the band regarding the so-called “sins of mankind” led to a conversation about legendary women who left their mark on history through less than reputable means which in turn led to a discussion about the legend of 'Charlotte the Harlot', the most beautiful of whores. Seeking symbolism, the band shortened the name to CHARLOTTE. Initially, CHARLOTTE's sound was heavily influenced by the likes of Judas Priest, Motley Crue, and Ratt.

Relocating to Los Angeles in the autumn of 1986, CHARLOTTE would go through a number of rhythm sections until the lineup of Eric Ganz (lead vocals), Nick DiBacco (guitars), Vinnie Cacciotti (guitars), ex-Masi member Chris Colovas (bass), and Eric D. Brewton (drums) was complete. It seems only fitting that a band named after a wicked woman played their first gig at a club called Jezebel’s in Orange County, California. Never really considered themselves a ‘hair’ or metal band but simply a rock band, their music transitioned to more varied influences from Deep Purple, Great White, Aerosmith, and Led Zeppelin.

CHARLOTTE quickly garnered barrels of buzz and rode the wave of their rapidly rising popularity, and although a deal never materialized, many industry giants such as Geffen, ATCO, Arista Records, Giant, and Mercury all showed great interest. Through it all, they were never content to follow the trend, always staying true to themselves and delivering vibrant, creative, unpredictable hard rock music. Despite the major buzz, selling out every venue they played, and magazines hailing CHARLOTTE as the next big thing, the big contract just didn't materialize.

But no matter what, just like the harlot after which they are named, CHARLOTTE’s legend and legacy continue to live on. Splitting up in 1996, CHARLOTTE would, after teaming up with Eonian Records, reconvene again and are going strong to this day.


CHARLOTTE ‘Self-Titled’ Tracklist:

1. Siren 2. Medusa Groove 3. Zoo Of Hearts 4. Little Devils 5. Woman Behind The Eyes 6. When I Need You 7. Got Love On The Line 8. Miss Necrophilia 9. She Get It Up 10. Changes 11. Roadhouse Of Love 12. Mistreated 13. Rock City USA 14. Tough Love 15. Vicious Nature 16. She’s On Fire 17. All Tied Up


  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Cool. I'll be curious to hear the "new" songs. 

Are we to understand they've been back together since 2010? As in 12 years? I wonder if there is any interest from band or label to release any new music? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

27 minutes ago, Geoff said:

Cool. I'll be curious to hear the "new" songs. 

Yeah...I count six (I could be wrong) that don't appear on Medusa Groove...don't know if i'd be up for shelling out for that tbh

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • 2022 HH Donation Drive

    Please support Heavy Harmonies! The donations goal is the out-of-pocket expenses to run the main site and this board for calendar year 2022.

    82% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Posts

    • urgh both of those songs are a cheese fest. Hard pass 
    • My CD arrived. Gotta say it is one of the cheapest, shittiest packaging of a cd I have seen. It is just a double panel with a disk (no tray). No booklet, no lyrics, very little info. printed. Terrible artwork (as you can see above). Glad I only paid $17 as it isn't worth more than that presentation wise. Musically I have only listened once so far so will reserve judgement until then. Note - Jack Jones only played on one track, the lead single. But he is touring with the band.
    • Slash - 4 The Midnight - Heroes Thirty Days Out - Thirty Days Out  Journey - Original Album Classics (Journey, Look Into the Future, Next) Every Day Life - American Standard 
    • Brilliant tune... reminds me of prime MSG, to be honest. Maybe a slight 'Anytime' vibe? But a magnificent song.  But the song I've had in my head all week is '100 thousand years.' Man I love that one. I rated this album fairly earlier in the year, but with a bit of a jumbled year of listening I haven't concentrated too much on albums this year. Listening to everything now, and I have to say that this album stood out as one I maybe did not give it's due credit. Those two songs are excellent, and I also like 'Get Away' and 'Crash & Burn' of the rest. Some nice gear on here. 
    • Exactly. Same goes for Sunstorm.
    • They're solid and consistent... just missing a bit of something to make them stand out for me, personally. The album is solid, like their other stuff. 
    • ADV wrote most of the debut. but that was before he burned himself out writing another 4000 songs of course the main problem is it isn't Revolution Saints. If you still want to showcase DC pick some more band members and call it something else but don't pretend its Rev Saints anymore. 
    • I don't have as much disdain for Del Vecchio as some do, but I can't help but feel like this sounds very... generic in an ADV kind of way? It's not that it's a bad song by any means, it's just that I've only listened to it once, but it feels like I've heard it about 300 times because it sounds like so many other songs Del Vecchio has produced. Secondly, since they've outright admitted that Revolution Saints was meant as a vehicle to showcase Castronovo, without Jack Blades and Doug Aldrich, I'm a little puzzled as to why they didn't just make a Deen Castronovo solo record instead. Surely at this point, anyone familiar with Frontiers, melodic rock music and especially Revolution Saints knows who he is.
    • Two Arms to Arms (bootleg) - Def Leppard 
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.