Registered Post

Geoff

To start off the story, I have been trading CDs all over the world for nearly 15 years now. In those 15 years I have never once used Registered Mail and I've never had a problem (except that one c*nt who stole 2 of my CDs but that's another issue).

I just lined up a trade with a nice chap from Russia and one of the guidelines to the trade was that we use Registered Post, as he would be doing so. So I thought, fair enough, I'm getting Skagarak's debut out of it so why not. It'll probably cost me a couple of extra dollars. Literally, I was expecting to pay $1 or $2 extra.

Well FUCK ME WITH A FUCKING BOWLING BALL!!! To send 2 CDs registered to Russia, it cost me au$23!!!! What the fuck? Non-registered, this would have cost me au$5.85 or something close and I'd have been delighted. As it is, the trade is completely fucked for me. If I'd known those costs were involved I would have bailed as soon as I saw 'Registered Post' mentioned. I could have bought that Skagarak CD for less than au$23 and still had my 2 CDs to trade.

So is this a strangely fucked up price, or is that what you guys pay every time you register parcels?

This is why I won't spend the money to register overseas packages. Like you found out, it's a ripoff that works only in the post office favor. I take my chances with just regular overseas shipping. I've only been screwed over a couple of times with overseas trades so it's still been worth it not to register them.

Sounds a bit high, but yes, depending on the country you live in, Registered Mail is a giant screw job.

Here in the U.S. it's US$11.00 in addition to whatever you would normally pay in postage.

... and have a nice day.