Jump to content

Dorothy - Gifts From The Holy Ghost


Recommended Posts

  • 2 months later...

Wow, how the hell did I miss this one... Rest in Peace is fucking excellent! Just ordered the album, Gifts From the Holy Ghost


Trev Lukather co-wrote and produced 3 of the songs on the album: Hurricane, Touched By Fire, and Top of the World

Jason Hook looks to be a co-writer on the track "A Beautiful Life" 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Stefan changed the title to Dorothy - Gifts From The Holy Ghost



From blabbermouth.net:

DOROTHY Announces 'Gifts From The Holy Ghost' Album Details

DOROTHY, the band led by Hungarian-born vocalist/writer Dorothy Martin, will release a new album, "Gifts From The Holy Ghost", on April 22 via Roc Nation. She has also shared her anthemic new track "Black Sheep" — an homage to her fans and a rallying cry for unity: "we are blood, we are family," Dorothy breaks curses, going toe-to-toe with the blistering guitar riffs.

"Gifts From The Holy Ghost" was born from a sense of divine urgency, it is her most bombastic and gloriously, victorious rock and roll work yet. Each song built on triumph—the album is a healing and remedial experience, made to unify listeners and point them towards a life full of purpose.

Martin's life changed forever when she was forced to face death on her tour bus some three years ago. After her guitar technician had taken an overdose, Dorothy instinctively began praying for his survival. While he may have temporarily died, the technician was astonishingly, miraculously restored back to life. It was this moment that seemed to bring Dorothy to life too. It was this divine intervention that caused a radical and spiritual awakening in the singer, the result of which can be heard on "Gifts From The Holy Ghost", Dorothy's third studio album as front person for DOROTHY.

While the band's first, irreverently named album "Rockisdead", was made on a combination of whiskey and heartbreak — inspiring Rolling Stone to name them one of rock's most exciting new acts, and Jay-Z to sign them to his label Roc Nation — "Gifts" was built on recovery, health, and holiness, in a way that reverses the clichéd ‘good girl gone bad narrative'.

With the combined powers of Keith Wallen, Jason Hook, Scott Stevens, Phil X, Trevor Lukather, Joel Hamilton and the legendary ear of producer Chris Lord Alge, "Gifts From The Holy Ghost" is made from a musical palette which seems to encompass each of the musician's influences, as well as many of the essential sounds of rock music's history — from swampy blues to '90s alternative — in a way that makes the case for rock and roll itself. Not only is the genre alive, but it's more invigorated than ever.

Dorothy has always been an instinctual writer and artist. Throughout her life, she's been asking the big questions, both in and outside her art: "What's the meaning of life? Why are we here? How are we here?" When she couldn't find the answers to those questions, she'd numb out the empty uncertainty with drugs and alcohol. She was eventually admitted to rehab and a new chapter was opened in her spiritual journey.

The album's lyrics are a perfect balance of specificity and generality, so that the listener can attach their own darknesses and triumphs to the songs, while still getting a sense ofDorothy's own. "We are all one human family." she declares.

With "Gifts From The Holy Ghost", Dorothy identifies her purpose as an artist. She conquers darkness with light, numbness with feeling, disharmony with unity — all while delivering one of this year's most fun rock and roll records.

"Black Sheep" follows the album's monumental lead single "Rest In Peace" which pushedDOROTHY into Top 20 at Active Rock Radio charts this month and garnered over four million streams worldwide.

DOROTHY kicked off an extensive 40-date U.S. tour in her hometown of San Diego on Monday and continues southbound this week before heading up the East Coast.


"Gifts From The Holy Ghost" track listing:

01. Beautiful Life 
02. By Guns 
03. Rest In Peace 
04. Top Of The World 

05. Hurricane 
06. Close To Me Always 
07. Black Sheep 
08. Touched By Fire 
09. Made To Die 
10. Gifts From the Holy Ghost






Edited by Stefan
  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • 5 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
  • 2 months later...

This power ballad deserves some attention ... "Close to me Always"

Fucking love this :banger:


  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.