Jump to content

King Kobra - Music Is A Piece of Art


Recommended Posts



From sleazeroxx.com:

Next King Kobra album ‘Music Is A Piece of Art’ to feature guitarists Robby Lochner & Rowan Robertson

King Kobra and Rough Cutt frontman Paul Shortino was recently interviewed by Sleaze Roxx four days ago. Part 1 of the interview was released two days ago where Shortino explained in detail how and why there now exists two Rough Cutt bands. Part 2 of Sleaze Roxx‘s interview with Shortino will be released later tonight. During Part 2 of the interview, Shortino spoke some more about Rough Cutt but also revealed that King Kobra were recording a new studio album.

King Kobra‘s last studio album dates back to 2013 when the line-up of Shortino (on lead vocals), Carmine Appice on drums, Johnny Rod on bass, and, Mick Sweda and David Michael-Philips (also known as David Philip Henzerling) on guitars released the album II.

With respect to King Kobra‘s next studio album, Shortino advised: “Well, It’s Carmine‘s band and the deal is signed with Cleopatra. And we’re going to have vinyl. The title of the album is ‘Music Is A Piece of Art.’ The album cover is awesome! There’s a song on there — the title track “Music Is A Piece of Art” — and it’s a great song. I wrote the lyrics to this and music has always been there when no one else was. It’s been my best friend. It’s things like that everybody can relate to, you know. “Music is a piece of art, in your ears, straight to your heart.” It’s not going to be your typical ’80s kind of album. It’s got a little bit of the ’70s vibe to it.”

In terms of who, in addition to Appice and himself, will be playing on the new King Kobra album, Shortino revealed: “[Bassist] Johnny Rod and [guitarist] Robbie Lochner because [guitarist] Mick [Sweda] is tied up with the BulletBoys. And I don’t think that [guitarist] David Henzerling is doing it. I think it’s [guitarist] Rowan Robertson. Yes.” In regard to how Robertson got involved, Shortino stated: “Well, it was Carmine‘s choice on who he picked. He was releasing some other stuff and it looks like Frontiers wanted another King Kobra record.”

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • My Little Pony
2 hours ago, Tabe said:

Always a good sign when a member of the band doesn't even know who is in the band or is playing on the record.

Haha. Right?

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • I'm with you and think it might be similar for me. I always loved H.E.A.T with Erik and was pretty much a Kenny basher as I wasn't a fan of those first 2 albums at all.  I had very low expectations and really didn't think I'd care much for new music with Kenny.  Anyways, I've slowly come around on Kenny as the singles were released and I'm enjoying the new album.  Yeah, it's not exciting me quite as much as the Gronwall albums did but Kenny sounds excellent to my ears and I'm having no issues with sound or production.  Just sounds like some good melodic hard rock to me.
    • Yeah, at the moment he's the only option for me here. A few guys I'm not really interested in and although EM was everywhere a few years ago, he definitely appears to have settled down recently. If anything, wouldn't mind seeing his name pop up a little more these days, though it's fine as is. 
    • I've been a bit let down by recent albums but the genuine anticipation I feel for new material from these guys means they must have done something right through the years. Would absolutely love it if they unexpectedly hit another homerun. 
    • Classless Act - Welcome to the Show Out of This World - Out of This World Within Temptation - The Unforgiving  The Black Sorrows - The Chosen Ones Horsehead - Onism i-TEN - Taking a Cold Look (Rock Candy remaster) Touch - Touch (Rock Candy remaster) Spys - Spys/Behind Enemy Lines (Renaissance double album reissue)  
    • Literally just added this one to the main site: https://heavyharmonies.com/cgi-bin/glamcd.cgi?BandNum=433&CDName=30 Coming In Hot&Letter=A  
    • Another greatest hits album! And even worse, live greatest hits: JACKYL : 30 Coming In Hot +3 New Tracks (2022) BY BANNED WEBSITE · PUBLISHED AUGUST 13, 2022   When many classic hard rock-related acts from their generation succumbed to trends, JACKYL has been strong & healthy for more than 3 decades. Now 2022 JACKYL are celebrating the 30th anniversary of their platinum debut album with the release of a new best-of collection titled ”30 Coming In Hot”. There has been a ‘best of’ from the band some years ago but this one is different: ”30 Coming In Hot” includes their best songs this time performed live, where they truly showcase their power, plus 3 brand new studio tracks. JACKYL earned two Guinness Book of World Records citations and the designation “The Hardest Working Band in Rock ‘N’ Roll” for performing 100 shows in 50 days as well as 21 shows in 24 hours. Yeah, JACKYL born to play live, and ”30 Coming In Hot” is really ‘hot’ indeed. Very well recorded, mixed & produced, the set is very, very good and entertaining, and you have 3 new songs to enjoy as well. Highly Recommended   01 – Another Round (New Studio Track) 02 – Get All Up in It (New Studio Track) 03 – Bad Decision (New Studio Track) 04 – Blastoff (Live) 05 – My Moonshine Kicks Your Cocaine’s Ass (Live) 06 – Encore (Live) 07 – Screwdriver (Live) 08 – Down On Me (Live) 09 – Push Comes to Shove (Live) 10 – Just Because I’m Drunk (Don’t Mean You’re Right) (Live) 11 – Secret of the Bottle (Live) 12 – I Stand Alone (Live) 13 – When Will it Rain (Live) 14 – Dirty Little Mind (Live) 15 – Redneck Punk (Live) 16 – Cut the Crap (Live) 17 – The Lumberjack (Live) Jesse James Dupree – Vocals, Guitar Jeff Worley – Guitar Chris Worley – Drums, Percussion Roman Glick – Bass   BUY www.amazon.com/Jackyl-30-Coming-Hot/dp/B0B5N9T45Y
    • I have no real opinion on the band's schtick. I do have an opinion on their earlier albums - they contained a lot of good songs. The last few... not so. Hope they can pull something out here but expectations aren't high
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.