Indy Car champion Dan Wheldon dies after horrific crash

Captain Howdy

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/95473

Such a great racer. Safety in indy car is fucking woefully inadequate compared to other forms of motorsport.

While I stopped watching indy car after the death of the CART championship, I still kept a passing interest in it, and through both the CART championship and IRL, the death and injury rate has just been horrible.

I started watching CART and F1 at the same time in 1993, and while F1 reacted to the deaths of Senna & Ratzenberger in 1994, Indy car still hasnt realised that open top cars and solid walls do not mix.

I'm no expert on racing, but I've seen the crash footage and watched some of the discussion online since the crash:

1. This track was simply not designed for Indycar, the number of cars on the track, and the speeds they attain. Many are saying it was a very poor track choice.

2. It wasn't the solid walls that were the cause. His car went airborne and went above the barriers, hitting the fence above. Plenty of other vehicles hit the solid barriers and those drivers walked away.

Other than a complete car redesign, I don't know how this could have been prevented.

Sad. Young guy (33).

Other than a complete car redesign, I don't know how this could have been prevented.

As I already said, the safety in F1 far excedes that in Indy car. That not only includes the cars themselves which have to go through rigorous crash tests, which get tougher and tougher each year, but to the design if the tracks.

The big problem with Indy car is the lack of run off areas and proximity of walls/fences to the track.

Nascar is dangerous enough, but they at least have a metal shell surrounding them.

The last deaths in F1 were the two at Imola in 1994, but I have lost count of not only Indy car deaths, but near fatal accidents as well.