Jump to content

Bonfire - Roots


Recommended Posts


Out February 26 on AFM Records.

It’s been more than two years now since Bonfire, following the outstanding debut of their current vocalist Alexx Stahl on Byte The Bullet (2017), were unanimously celebrated for their successor album Temple Of Lies (2018). Two years which saw the band rock countless stages at home and abroad before going on to set the bar even higher with their latest offering: Fistful Of Fire is definitely one of the toughest Bonfire albums ever and has been released in March 2020. As everybody knows today, this album release was ill-fated by that worldwide Covid-19 pandemic – store had closed short after the release and the tour had to be postponed and even cancelled in the end. It’s a fact, that the band did not play one single show with their new album to that very day.

However the band from Ingolstadt is trying to looking forward. New plans arouse for an upcoming project. It was summer 2020 when the band again hit the “Flatliners Recording Studios” to start recording the new longplayer “Roots”. It’s a magnificent "almost unplugged"-album with 24 tracks recorded completely over again and interpreted in new ways. It includes very young ballads like “When An Old Man Cries” and old evergreens like “You Make Me Feel”, contains old rock hits like “Ready 4 Reaction” and "American Nights" but also arising rock hymns like “The Devil Made Me Do It”, so every fan of this band will find something on this one. On top of that in features 5 brandnew songs that have been created while a
crowdfunding campaign as remittance works for fans.

With this release and the new campaign on StartNext the band tries to get some money into their empty band accounts and offers quite some musical delicacy with regards to the content. Besides various merch items, living-room concerts, VIP Tickets for their streaming release show and special rarities like original master tapes or guitar amps, the new album “Roots” can be ordered here: https://www.startnext.com/bonfire-back-to-the-roots

Let’s hope for better times, in which live-concerts can take place again and let us support and celebrate one of Germany’s biggest rock bands in alternate ways until that day.


1.  Starin' Eyes
2. American Nights
3. Let Me Be Your Water
4. Price of Lovin' You
5. Comin' Home
6. Ready 4 Reaction
7. Give It a Try
8. Sleeping All Alone
9. Who'S Foolin' Who
10. Why Is It Never Enough
11. Fantasy
12. When An Old Man Cries
13. Love Don'T Lie
14. Lonely Nights
15. Under Blue Skies
16. You Make Me Feel
17. No More
18. The Devil Made Me Do It
19. Without You
20. Your Love Is Heaven to Me
21. Piece of My Heart
22. Youngbloods
23. Our Hearts Don'T Feel the Same
24. Wolfmen
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Have loved the last few Bonfire albums but not feeling that song.  

I checked out the startnext site and they've got some cool items you can buy.  If you're in Germany, for 1600 euros, Bonfire will play a concert at your house (unplugged).  That's cool.  Or for 950 euros, they'll record a song for you.  Or a lifetime ticket to every Bonfire show.  Or a master tape reel with live recordings from 1988-92.  Neat stuff.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

Killing the Bonfire Legacy if you ask me.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 months later...

I've been playing with some new headphones and other audio equipment, and one thing that struck me about this 2-CD set is that it is exceptionally well recorded and produced. Really top notch compared to some of the "professional albums" being produced these days.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.