Jump to content

Houston - II


Recommended Posts

  • 5 months later...

To be released in September.






1. Glory

2. I'm Coming Home

3. Return My Heart

4. Talk To Me

5. Back To The Summer Of Love

6. 24 Hours

7. On the Radio

8. Losing

9. Just Friends

10. Believe

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...
  • 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

Anyone else got hold of this one yet?. Like the fist album, it's sugar sweet, feel good 80's Retro AOR, but perfectly done. Some great tunes on here, ('Back To The Summer Of Love' you'll be humming months afterwards), with a lovely production job too. Check it out if you haven't already.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well did this take me by surprise. I always considered these guys a fairly average AOR band, and then from out of nowhere they come out with this masterpiece.
I agree with Jez about "Back to the Summer of Love", a brilliant mid-tempo anthem in the same breezy AOR style as "Need Her" from the last H.E.A.T album. In fact, I would use the H.E.A.T reference on a lot of these tracks - especially on their "lighter" moments. "I'm Coming Home" is another stellar track, just perfect AOR like something straight out of 1989. Then you have "Talk to Me" with one of the most perfect choruses of the last few years. Stunning. "On the Radio" on the surface sounds like generic AOR, but is anything but - this is another stellar AOR track, the verses and chorus pure genius.


I just can't believe it, but I'm giving this one the full score - a perfect 100%. OK, maybe I wouldn't call every song a masterpiece, but the good ones are just f*cking brilliant and overall it's a very consistent release, perfectly produced, mixed and performed by all involved. Thumbs up!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the contrary, I found this is still a good album but pale compared to the debut. I rated the first one pretty highly but it slowly creeping down over time, but maybe this one will slowly walk upward, who knows. Three strongest tracks here that's worthy around 8.5 are 'I'm Coming Home', '24 Hours', and 'Believe'. And then 'Back To The Summer of Love' is slightly below that, still a great track, and followed by 'On The Radio' and 'Just Friends'.


'Return My Heart' could be most average tune here, 'Losing' has average verse but pretty cool chorus, not bad though. 'Glory' makes a decent opening tune, perhaps they should switch 'Summer' to be the first song. Production is quite solid but I think I'll ended up spinning the first one more frequently than this one.



Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Really enjoyed this one. I personally much preferred it to the debut, but still need some more spins. First impression is a great AOR disc.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Got the album a day early. The rest of the album is pretty much on par with the singles released, so if you like them you will probably like the whole album. Final track is an instrumental, which is probably the closest to what people would have expected from Mick, pretty bluesy.  
    • Arrived this morning: Rolling Quartz - Fighting (Korean import) Mick Mars - The other side of Mars
    • Owned this on cassette and CD, but never came with glasses I did though replace my CD with a Jap copy a few years ago to get the original version of Ain't the same (the version on Cuts is much better).
    • Album out April 14th. From Pride & Joy Music: A Neverending John’s Dream is a Melodic Hard ‘n’ Heavy band formed in Barcelona in 2022 when Joan M. Heredia (drums, vocal, and composer) teamed up with David Vidal (guitars), Paul E. Schuster (bass) and Xavier Miró (keyboards). Joan M. Heredia started to play drums, to sing and to write songs more than 20 years ago, has been playing in dozens of bands but so far never has thought about releasing own material until now. A Neverending John’s Dream’s debut album, “Coming Back to Paradise”, was completely written and produced by Joan M. Heredia. The recordings and the mix took place at Moontower Studios in Barcelona. Erik Mårtensson (Eclipse) at Mass Destruction Production Studios (Sweden) mastered this release. The cover artwork and the CD layout were designed by Jan Yrlund, at Darkgrove Design (Finland); photos were taken by Irene Serrano. “Coming Back to Paradise” is a melodic hard ‘n’ heavy album, with a late 80s/ early 90s feel, but with an up to date production. The lyrics are telling stories about a lot of experiences, centred in human condition, music, and nature. The song chosen as a single with a video clip (filmed by Visual Noise Barcelona) is “Coming Back to Paradise”, a veritable hard rock hit with the homonymous title of the album. The meaning of the band’s name is a bit philosophic. The creation of music has no end (Neverending), and this fact, is like a dream for Joan M. Heredia (John). Live gigs for Spain around currently being planned.      
    • "The Show Must Go On". A magnificent track. The original by Queen is beyond KILLER, but I just discovered today that Australia's sweetheart, Delta Goodrem has covered it. It's a worthy tribute.  The best cover that nearly surpasses the original is the EPIC version by JSS. Of course, the fap value of Delta has to be taken in to account, so it's a quandary.         
    • I’m surprised there’s not more of a buzz about these guys here on the board. “Tell Me” and “ Take on Me” (no, those aren’t White Lion and A-Ha cover songs) are both solid AOR/melodic rock songs. The vocals on the verses could use a little more “umph”, but the choruses are quite tasty. 
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.