Jump to content

RUDE AWAKENING - S/T (1987/2015)


Recommended Posts



from BANNED WEBSITE: http://BANNED WEBSITE.blogspot.com/2015/11/RUDE-AWAKENING-Rude-Awakening-2015-Beau-Hill-Synch-Life-By-Night-Bricklin.html


Produced by renowned '80s guru Beau Hill, Texans' RUDE AWAKENING self-titled CD is a throwback to an era when lovely melodies and catchy choruses where the motto in Rock music.


Rude Awakening was formed in Winnsboro, TX in 1985 and disbanded in 1989. Most of the members were prolific songwriters, but since they were teenagers never got signed to a record label, thus never released an official CD.


The idea behind this CD project and reuniting of band members (Jim Richey, Jeff Hamm, Kenny Swann and Jeffrey Galloway) came from an imaginary “what if…” scenario.


“What if Rude Awakening had been discovered and signed a record deal during their time as a band?” “Which original songs would have been used for the CD?" and "How would they have sounded in a professional recording studio with a big time producer?”


So even though this new CD was recorded in 2015, the attitude, songs, and image of the band are that from 1987.




Rude Awakening’s CD features 14 original songs akin the glory days of American radio-rock / poppy AOR and melodic rock.


This is simple and lovely at the same time; catchy tunes with feel-good melodies and sing-along choruses. Rude Awakening remind me Bricklin, The Synch, Life By Night, The City, etc... all that US bands with an indie charm.


However Rude Awakening is mostly guitar-driven, with extra keyboard embellishment and three-part backing vocals.


But the band are also capable to deliver ballads; “Goodbye” and “You Slipped Away” are in the power-ballad mould with a strong rock background, while “For Angie and “Traci” are softer with acoustics into the mix.






So if you like mid-80s American radio-rock / AOR / melodic rock with an indie spirit, Rude Awakening is for you and one for the collection.


Beau Hill provided a bright production, but respecting the band's origins and that 'indie feel' so Eighties by bands of this ilk.


Very Recommended.


01 - First Impression
02 - One More Cry
03 - For Angie
04 - All I Do (Is Think About You)
05 - Leather and Lace
06 - You Slipped Away
07 - Take Your Time
08 - Here We Go Again
09 - Traci
10 - Next Time
11 - 17
12 - When I Saw You
13 - Goodbye
14 - You Can Never Look Back


Jeffrey Galloway - vocals, bass
Kenny Swann - guitars, backing vocals
Jim Richey - drums, bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Jeff Hamm - guitars, backing vocals


thanks to Alex !



Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • My Little Pony

Awfully amazing album cover, and now I'm fully erect. Anyone heard this yet (cant hear sample at work)



Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest rocken91

I just bought this CD from CDBaby, but I also found all of the songs are on youtube and iTunes too. I just like CD's with the artwork etc. The music sounds good. It is the lighter side of 80's metal--more melodic rock. Has a Cheap Trick vibe to it mixed with old KISS. The singer sounds a little like Paul Stanley. The songs are very catchy--lots of hooks and there are four ballads on there: Two 80's style power ballads and two other more traditional ballads. Very impressed with the songs and hooks. I miss this style of music.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • First, I'm just impressed you found a video where you can actually hear Lzzy; everything I'd seen the last 2 days was terrible sound quality. With that said, she sounds fine. Not gonna make anyone forget Sebastian, or Erik for that matter, but she'll do a good job filling in 👍
    • Was this release on an EP CD?
    • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qdehd0UQhuo
    • From Escape Music: KEYS has just completed their second album, “The Grand Seduction”.   This all-keyboard band is the brainchild of singer Jake E (Cyhra, Amaranthe and others) and keyboardist Mark Mangold (Touch, Drive, She Said, Michael Bolton, Cher, Paul Rogers and others) with Emanuel Bagge (Sweden’s Got Talent Finalist) on additional vocals and keys, Irwan Fabrien (noted keyboard guitar sound designer) with help of drum gurus Alex Landenburg (Kamelot, Cyhra and others).   Featuring live performances with three keyboardists and a huge battery of keyboards, this ambitious band brings keyboard and instrumental prowess to new heights while playing songs that run the gamut from scathing progressive melodic forays to catchy and melodic rock anthems …and Jake’s award-winning voice (Burrn Vocalist of the year 2020).   Previous KEYS album also featured guest keyboard additions by Charlie Calv of Angel and others.   Though songs are first and foremost, this band shows the versatility of keyboards in this day and age.  These artfully crafted songs are ripe with scathing synth, organ and “guitar” pyrotechnics, dazzling time signatures and drumming, bombastic choruses and “guitar” riffs (played on keyboards with the now available plug in’s that perfectly emulate guitars).  As Mark and Jake are first and foremost award winning songwriters, they never lose sight of the composition and melodies, though couched in the very signature and hard to pigeon hole sound (isn’t that the whole point?) of this band and Jake's 4 octave vocal range.   Release Date: 19th July 2024 CD Catalogue No: ESM389   CD Track List: 1. THE GRAND SEDUCTION 9:02 2. ALL I NEED  6:49 3. SHINING SAILS  5:51 4. SWITCHBLADE  6:02 5. VORTEX   4:06 6. SKIN AND BONES  6:42 7. TURN TO DUST    4:42 8. CRAZY TOWN   7:43 9. THOUGHT WE HAD FOREVER  6:04 10. THE WORLD IS OURS (Curse the Lies)   4:02   Vinyl Track List: Side A 1. THE GRAND SEDUCTION 6:47 2. ALL I NEED 6:49 3. SHINING SAILS 5:51 4. VORTEX 4:06   Side B 1. SWITCHBLADE 6:02 2. SKIN AND BONES 6:42 3. TURN TO DUST 4:42 4. CRAZY TOWN 7:43   PRODUCED BY MARK MANGOLD AND JAKE E MIXED BY MARK MANGOLD MASTERED BY MAOR APPELBAUM  
    • Lyric video for the new song:    
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.