Jump to content

High Road Easy - Drive


Recommended Posts

'Drive' by High Road Easy out now. Melodic hard rock from Germany.



01. Fire In The Hole (03:42)
02. Loving You (04:03)
03. Emily (03:46)
04. Fly From Here (03:38)
05. Love Lies Bleeding (03:30)
06. Come To Me (04:39)
07. Setting Our Sights (03:35)
08. Mysterious (03:27)
09. Here I Am (03:27)
10. Memories (03:28)
11. Beat Of My Heart (04:31)



Link to comment
Share on other sites

This was pretty awful, imo. Did a sexy little rating recently:


01. Fire in the Hole (3:42) - really terrible opener - 3.00

02. Loving You (4:03) - just as bad, probably worse - 2.00

03. Emily (3:46) - really really average tune… but better than the first two - 5.00

04. Fly from Here (3:38) - painfully average balladic tune - 4.75

05. Love Lies Bleeding (3:30) - okay melodic rocker - 6.00

06. Come to Me (4:39) - really nice melodic rock amongst the thorns - 8.50

07. Setting Our Sights (3:35) - pretty pointless - 4.00

08. Mysterious (3:27) - another pointless plodder - 4.00

09. Here I Am (3:27) - real average tune - 5.00

10. Memories (3:28) - boring, shit song - 4.00

11. Beat of My Heart (4:31) - rubbish - 4.00




Really bad album bar the song 'Come to me.'

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 years later...






We have already reviewed two years ago the previous album by HIGH ROAD EASY, the project of German musician Sven Horlemann and vocalist Jan Knopf, whom are back again with their third effort simply entitled "III".


Also simple are the songs featured on the album - melodic hard rock in nature – yet catchy and diverse enough to require repeat listens.

Horlemann is the orchestrator playing several instruments, while vocalist Jan Knopf is a deadringer to Steve Shannon of '80s AOR band Idle Cure, delivering smooth phrasing and a nice melodic tone. His mid-range vocals fit perfectly to these Melodic Hard Rock tunes with an unmistakable Euro feeling, no accent at sight.


The overall sound on "III" is harder than on the previous High Road Easy album, evident since opener "Faster Than The Speed Of Light", where title speaks for itself: an uptempo Melodic Hard Rocker with strong riffs, abundance of bass grooves and punchy drumming.


Also the darker "My Life" and the marching "This Is the Life" rock with muscle, however the rest of the songs are much more melodic.





"Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea" sounds typically Scandinavian melodic hard rock, same as "Haywire" with a fine catchy chorus.


Then "Darkness and Joy", midtempo "Higher Ground" (one of the best songs on the album) and the semi-ballad "Heaven Knows" go for more AOR oriented sounds including synths.


"Wings" is another calm rocker with a smooth melody, cleaner guitars and polished vocals. "Fortune and Fame" ups the tempo a little but it's quite generic and the solo boring.

On "III" you'll find straight, classic Euro Melodic Hard Rock with catchy choruses and some good hooky lines, well played and arranged.


High Road Easy has evolved a lot from their previous album, with stronger songs and much better production - this time the drums sound compact and solid. Hey, they even have additional drum contributions by legend Kenny Aronoff and Troy Luccketta (Tesla).





Self managed, "III" feels really professional for an indie. There's bands that have 20 times the money and 50 times the resources to get their albums sounding right, and even they sometimes fail.


So much respect to High Road Easy then, who have recorded an enjoyable set of tunes for this, their third album.

01. Faster Than The Speed Of Light
02. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
03. Darkness And Joy
04. Higher Ground
05. My Life
06. Heaven Knows
07. Haywire
08. Wings
09. Fortune And Fame
10. Come What May
11. This Is The Life

Jan Knopf - lead & background vocals
Sven Horlemann - guitars, bass, keyboards, vocals
Magnus Brandell - drums
Kenny Aronoff, Bruce Wackerman, Troy Luccketta - add. drums
Stefan Wurz - Keyboards


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah, hated their last couple and can't see me bothering with this one. Anyone heard it? Is it actually worth listening to, or just like the others?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.