Jump to content

Jani Liimatainen - My Father's Son


Recommended Posts



'Breathing Divinity' featuring Björn Strid and 'Side By Side' featuring Pekka Heino are pretty cool tunes.

From Frontiers:

Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the upcoming release of a new solo album from guitarist/songwriter Jani Liimatainen (The Dark Element, Insomnium), "My Father's Son" on May 6, 2022. The Finnish musician's impeccable talents are on full display on this new album and he's got a stellar cast of friends lending their talents to the proceedings. 

"My Father's Son" includes guest lead vocals from Björn “Speed” Strid (Soilwork, The Night Flight Orchestra), Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica), Timo Kotipelto (Stratovarius), Anette Olzon (The Dark Element), Renan Zonta (Electric Mob), Pekka Heino (Brother Firetribe), and Antti Railio (Celesty, Diecell). Liimatainen even takes on lead vocal duties himself, as well. Additionally, bassist Jonas Kuhlberg (One Desire), drummer Rolf Pilve (Stratovarius, Smackbound), and pianist Jarkko Lahti provide instrumentation, while Liimatainen handles guitars, keyboards, and programming. Jens Johansson (Stratovarius, Rainbow) and Janne Huttunen provide guest keyboard and saxophone solos, respectively. 

Jani Liimatainen's career in metal kicked off as a founding member and guitarist for of one of Finland's premiere power metal bands, Sonata Arctica. Currently, Jani Liimatainen is a member of the popular melodic death metal band Insomnium. He is also a member of Cain's Offering alongside Stratovarius vocalist Timo Kotipelto as well as being the guitarist/composer for the symphonic metal band, The Dark Element, which features former Nightwish vocalist Anette Olzon. Both Cain's Offering and The Dark Element have released two well-received albums each, both racking up millions of streams on digital music platforms and with The Dark Element, multiple music videos with millions of views. 

Those highlights of his musical resume more than speak to Liimatainen's talent and building legacy in the heavy music world. With the cast of friends who have joined him to help him fulfill his ambitious vision for "My Father's Son", his new solo album will surely further cement his standing as one of the great guitarists and musical talents to emerge from Finland. 

-    Breathing Divinity (Vocals: Björn “Speed” Strid)
-    All Dreams Are Born To Die (Vocals: Tony Kakko)
-    What Do You Want (Vocals: Renan Zonta)
-    Who Are We (Vocals: Timo Kotipelto) 
-    Side By Side (Vocals: Pekka Heino)
-    The Music Box (Vocals: Renan Zonta)
-    Into The Fray (Vocals: Timo Kotipelto)
-    I Could Stop Now (Vocals: Anette Olzon)
-    Haunted House (Vocals: Jani Liimatainen)
-    My Father's Son (Vocals: Antti Railio)

Pekka Heino
Tony Kakko
Timo Kotipelto
Jani Liimatainen
Anette Olzon
Antti Railio
Björn Strid
Renan Zonta

Jani Liimatainen - Guitars, keyboards, programming
Jonas Kuhlberg - Bass
Rolf Pilve - Drums
Jarkko Lahti - Piano
Jens Johansson - Guest keyboard solo
Janne Huttunen - Guest saxophone solo

Petri Aho
JC Halttunen
Tony Kakko
Jani Liimatainen
Anette Olzon
Antti Railio
Björn Strid
Lassi Vääränen
Renan Zonta








Edited by Stefan
Link to comment
Share on other sites

A monster of a release…gorgeous on every level. Good to see Frontiers releasing such a beautiful piece of work with a variety of different vocalists. It won’t be for everyone but this will easily find its way into my top 10 of 2022.

Edited by zacharyamelie
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.