Jump to content

LOADED GUN - Loaded Gun (2016)


Recommended Posts


LOADED GUN - Loaded Gun (2016)




Hailing from New Jersey, US, LOADED GUN released by themselves their self-titled debut some months ago, but now Perris Records has picked up the band and released the album worldwide.


If you're one of those people that wish for the past and ask 'Why can't they make music like they used to?' then you'll be interested in "Loaded Gun", a straight-forward brand of ’80s influenced hard rock.


Yes, they take inspiration from every band of the era and genre but they do it so well that you don't really care. Loaded Gun already supported Lynch Mob, Lillian Axe, Raven, etc, and contributed with a version of Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City to the Still Of The Night: A Millennium Tribute To Whitesnake.


You know from the album cover that this will be classy hard rock and when you see the band members in Poison and While Lion T-shirts then you know exactly what you're getting and they don't really disappoint throughout this 10 track album.


Tenor bluesy vocals, strong riffs, tales of love and/or sex all wrapped in a tin marked RnR are the order of the day and at various points you'll be getting some Warrant ('Lie Alone'), Great White ('Addicted'), LA Guns (in title track 'Loaded Gun') and a little The Cult in the darker 'The System Has Failed' - and all at harder side, not their cheesiest.




Of course, you get the obligatory ballad - 'You Were Mine', in the vein of Cinderella - and while it might not replace the classics of their era for you, it certainly has enough to shine the light on the band for being more than just a bog-standard act of sexual deviants as is often the case with young band chasing and trying to recreate the hard rock dream.


They even go through some more 'metal' moments in a song such as 'Revolution', while 'She Likes Thunder And Lightning' delves in to the '70s blockbusters of bands such as The Sweet.


Loaded Gun seem to have all the ingredients to produce an album of note in the near future - they need a renowned producer and polish some vocal arrangements - but this self-titled debut rocks with lots of melody and effective riffs, delivered with the unpolluted spirit of a band hungry for glory.


"Loaded Gun" is Classic US Hard Rock done from the heart, and as said, Rocks.


01 - Addicted
02 - Loaded Gun
03 - Slow Love
04 - You Were Mine
05 - Lie Alone
06 - Hard Candy Blues
07 - The Beast Inside
08 - Revolution
09 - She Likes Thunder and Lightning
10 - The System Has Failed


Ed Owens – lead vocals
Dave Classen – guitars
Matt Flanigan – guitars
Stevie Lang – bass
Vinnie Costanzo – drums




Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • 2022 HH Donation Drive

    Please support Heavy Harmonies! The donations goal is the out-of-pocket expenses to run the main site and this board for calendar year 2022.

    82% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Posts

    • You're probably right it's a bad comparison but I guess I just think of the Defiants as more of a project than a band for whatever reason.  I suppose it's because they rarely play live although I know they have played a few times.  
    • Brothers In Arms-Dire Straits
    • That April Rain song sounds pretty good to me !
    • That Sammy is a top 5 release of 2022 for me. The Disturbed is also good. My daughter is getting Taylor Swift for Xmas
    • comparing this to Defiants is ridiculous- Defiants is just D2 under a different name  And it will probably be best album of 2023 
    • beautiful, all in their prime 
    • Pretty over this stupid and weak supergroup crap from Frontiers now. Feeling cynical that they are just trying to squeeze every last $ from the fanbase. Fan abuse.
    • The fundamental difference is that the mainstream media is now portraying the Chinese COVID protestors as glorious freedom fighters standing up for their inalienable human rights, where protesters in the U.S. and Canada were portrayed as terrorists, insurrectionists, and right-wing nazis by the very same mainstream media. Fuckers. I guess the current administration(s) have exhausted the money pit being diverted to Ukraine with respect to public approval, so now time to ratchet up somewhere else to send gobs of taxpayer money so that billions can be funneled back to the DNC via crypto...
    • Agree! There was a time back 5 or 6 years ago when I'd get into these project type things....Defiants, Nordic Union, etc.  And I'm sure I'll still enjoy new Defiants music when it drops. But I'm definitely saturated on these things and I'm basically to the point where I'm paying very little attention to them.  I'd rather invest my time into "real" bands that I might actually get the chance to see live someday. Like you say, I'll still sometimes check out these things and maybe I toss a song into my playlist here or there.  But odds I actually purchase an album from one of these new projects is very low.  
    • This seems like something that would be massively exciting maybe five or six years ago but now, not so much. I'm just so bored with the Frontiers factory churning out studio project after studio project with the same songwriters, the same production, and random hodgepodges of vocalists...year after year after year. I'm just not interested in this stuff anymore, I'll listen but the odds that I'll come back to it (let alone buy the album) are low. Those songs are mediocre. They're not ADV's worst but they are not his best either. IMO Robbie steals the show in both of them. Why is ADV still doing backing vocals for a project created specifically for THREE vocalists?  P.S. that band name SUCKS lol
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.