Jump to content

Equator - Fire


Recommended Posts


From http://BANNED WEBSITE.blogspot.com/2015/06/EQUATOR-Fire-2015-Norway-melodic-rock-Da-Vinci-Houston-State-Of-Salazar.html

Six-piece act EQUATOR formed seven years ago in Bergen, Hordaland, Norway. From the beginning the aim of the guys was to recreate the classy, catchy Melodic Rock / AOR music from the '80s.
After an EP released some time ago EQUATOR are back with a new studio effort entitled "Fire".

Despite of being written by guitarist Torkel Eikevik (which seems to be a shredder on a side project) all the songs in "Fire" are keyboard-driven tunes inspired by the Scandi sound from the late Eighties. Take as example Da Vinci, Return, early Fate, some Skagarack and alike.
The last tracks here are taken from the first EP and you can note the 'demo spirit' of these recordings, on the other hand, the new material shows the evolution of the band both in the songwriting and the overall performance / production.

Tracks such as "Back On the Streets", "Emelie", the more poppy "Set the Night On Fire", or the mid-tempo AOR of "Without You" are clear representations of Equator's sound: pure Scandi Melodic Rock.
More AOR oriented are the slower cuts "Hold On to Your Heart", the slightly British "Where Noone Knows", and the ballad "Does It Feel Like Love".
All are melodious, sweet songs to the ear yet there's something the band needs to develop; more punchy and memorable choruses, a mandatory factor for this type of music.

"Fire" is a good presentation card for Norwegians Equator, showcasing to the Melodic Rock world their intentions to create music in the classic mold of the genre. I think this also would serve as a working sample for specialized recording labels.
The songs are pretty good, but ironically, lack some 'fire' as mentioned with the choruses, the vocals need more polish, the mix, etc. However I see potential on these guys. A skilled producer / musical director can do miracles.
If you live in the area, Equator will start a mini-tour next June 18 presenting the album in Oslo and various Scandinavian cities.

Odd Utgard - lead vocals
Eivind Nyhammer - keyboards
Torkel Eikevik - guitars
Erlend Nyhammer - guitars
Vegard Nyhammer - bass
Severin Sandvik - drums





01 - Emelie
02 - Back On the Streets
03 - Hold On to Your Heart
04 - Set the Night On Fire
05 - Without You
06 - Where Noone Knows
07 - Does It Feel Like Love (Remastered) https://soundcloud.com/user370406/does-it-feel-like-love-remastered
08 - Afraid of Loving You
09 - You
10 - The Time is Here
11 - Fight for Love
12 - Melancholia

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Cool song. If ADV is strictly hired to play keys, it should be fine. 
    • Ooh, nice!  I'll have to revisit the first album. 
    • Ugh... I hate you so much. You know I hate you, right? ;} I've never seen either iteration. 
    • These are sounding pretty good. 
    • New album out April 26th. SiX By SiX, the progressive power trio comprising Ian Crichton (Saga), Nigel Glockler (Saxon) and Robert Berry (3.2), are pleased to announce the release of their sophomore album ‘Beyond Shadowland’ on InsideOutMusic on 26th April 2024. The band reconvened in Berry’s own Soundtek Studios in the San Francisco Bay Area in 2023 to bend, shape, hammer and caress their diverse musical talents into 11 impressive new tracks.  With this album, they continue to define and build upon their unique melodic space, welding guitar-driven rock, metal and prog into a unique and powerful sonic setting. Tracks: 1. Wren 2. The Arms of a Word 3. Can’t Live Like This 4. Obiliex 5. Only You Can Decide 6. Titans 7. Outside Looking In 8. Spectre 9. Sympathise 10. One Step 11. The Mission Vinyl-only bonus tracks: 1. SiX By SiX Orchestra Medley 2. The Arms of a Word (Instrumental) 3. Honor Bridge 4. The Mission (Instrumental)    
    • Press release: Newman are pleased to announce the follow up to 2021’s ”Into The Monsters’ Playground”, the UK Melodic Rock band was formed back in 1997 by Steve Newman and quickly gained a great reputation after releasing their debut, and subsequent ”One Step Closer” albums. A string of high quality releases have ensued throughout the last 20 years insuring a strong and loyal following. Highly respected by fans and fellow musicians alike, this new album will add to the bands great legacy and underline the reason why Newman are considered to be one of the UK’s top Melodic Rock artists. The new album tentatively titled ”Colour In Sound” will be the bands 14th studio album and will be released through AOR BLVD Records in May. Artwork will be revealed soon as well as the first single accompanied by a video in the next few weeks, watch this space.
    • Imagine a world where Andrew Wood didn’t die and Mother Love Bone was still creating awesome music!
    • “My Icarian Flight” featuring the one and only ADV 😜  
    • lol, this was my thought process too. What about Confess?! I like both bands, but not at the expense of one of them. 
    • I do have to give him credit for sounding exactly the same as he did in 1989...
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.