Jump to content

Vaduz - Better Days


Recommended Posts


This is really great stuff! Believe me.

"Melodic Hard Rockers VADUZ took their name from the capital city of the principality of Liechtenstein, Europe. A strange choice for a band whose members were all born and raised in Iowa, US, but apparently they liked the name after seeing it in a travel brochure.
Vaduz born in the late eighties, they recorded and distributed independently their music then disbanded in 1993, but returned three years ago with some line-up changes and the fruit is "Better Days", the band's fresh CD.

After the first track "Workin' Band" you realise that Vaduz know how to write good catchy songs and all their members are accomplished musicians.
This is a fantastic melodic rocker akin mid '80s Night Ranger with hot riffs, superb rhythm and a killer chorus. Brian Wade's vocal timbre reminds you Jon Bon Jovi here at his young age.
Next, "I Saw The Light Again" is another winner. Complete with cowbwell, these guys takes you back to the Hair Metal glory days. Autograph comes to mind, and this isn't an excessive comparison, believe me. Terrific tune.
Title track "Better Days" is more midtempo paced but then explodes with an effective chorus, while follower "Thy Kingdom Come" is a superb piano-ballad with Nelson hints, very well crafted for sure.

Uptempo returns with the foot-tappin' bluesy rocker ala Great White "Hey Yeah", "Enemy" is more modern (Extreme here and there), whilst "Faces In The Storm" is another ballad, this time acoustically based.
"Lowdown Blues" as title says, is a strong whiskey-soaked blues rocker (Tesla-ish) feauring an impressive sustained guitar, vintage keyboards and moody vocals.
For the end we have one of these 'monster power ballads' akin Warrant, very electric in the highly harmonized chorus and crystal during the verses.

"Better Days" by Vaduz is one of the surprises of the year without a doubt.
If you like pure, elaborated late US '80s Melodic (Hard) Rock in the style of the aforementioned bands, you can't miss this little gem. My only complaint here is the short tracklist. Seriously, all these tracks are glorious.
Not only the songwriting is truly faithful to that age/genre, the musicianship and the crystal clear production (excellent for an indie) have the "80s magic touch" so difficult to obtain these days."



01. Workin’ Band
02. I Saw the Light Again
03. Better Days
04. Thy Kingdom Come
05. Hey Yeah
06. Enemy
07. Faces in the Storm
08. Lowdown Blues
09. On My Way




Link to comment
Share on other sites

Stupid name for an American band - sounds like some typically plodding Euro metal name. Anyway, songs sound great and I'll check this one out asap.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 7 months later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • 2021 HH Donation Drive

    Please support Heavy Harmonies! The donations goal is the out-of-pocket expenses to run the main site and this board for calendar year 2021.

    78% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Posts

    • Unless your beathing and lungs are so fucked up you have to be put on a ventilator.  So sorry I inconvenienced hospital staff. 
    • The morons who go to the hospital are just as ridiculous as the people who rail on them for not being vaxed, maybe it's Darwin's theory and who are we to interfere? I begrudgingly went to the hospital, they told me I had Covid, to come to the hospital, I went in they checked my kidney function, gave me some strips to pee on every 7 days, if the strip turned red then to come straight in, then I went home, I think that's pretty common sense, when you make the decision to not get vaxed, don't you kind of assume the risk if it's real? they cant do anything for you, so whats the point in going there? everything they can do you can do at your house, I am firmly in favor of a waiver you need to sign if your not getting vaxed that waives the hospital of any of their duties to treat you, I always spout self accountability rhetoric, that's my olive branch to a vax that's about as trustworthy as the communists pushing it, in my opinion.
    • Who comes out on top in these singer vs singer match-ups. All random. No real rhyme or reason.  
    • Hour Of Doom - Cornerstone 
    • Steel Glove - Accept ( a collection of songs pre " Balls to the walls " )  
    • For some reason the first song's melody reminds me so much of Last Christmas by Wham.
    • From Escape Music: Bite The Bullet were originally formed in 1986 by singer songwriter Mick Benton and drummer Graham Cowling. They met in 1984 when they both joined West London rock band “Mother’s Ruin”. Thanks to the legendary Greg Lake, Benton managed to secure a solo deal with Atlantic Records and he asked Cowling to play drums. Its good to see that their collaboration is still strong to this very day. In 1986 “Bite the Bullet” were formed and the music played was in the style of Foreigner, Toto and Mr. Mister, an album was released in 1989 to some quiet success. The music was warmly received and the band earned themselves some radio airplay. However, britpop was coming into the forefront and a cancelled support slot with the mighty ELO saw the band disheartened and whilst they never really disbanded there was a long period of inactivity. Benton and Cowling always remained friends and they still played in pubs and clubs over the years which brings is up to 2019 when their debut was reissued on CD. It ignited a flame in the two men and brought the original recording back to the forefront again and old fans reappraised the album whilst new fans joined in. In January 2021 the year started with “Black and White” (ESM349) and the band have gone from strength to strength. They combine Mr Mister with Asia to produce a nice smooth rock pop sound. Mick and Graham Have continued writing new material and here we are with an exciting new third release “End of the Line” and the result is amazing; the new songs have given the band a new fresh sound, bringing us into 2022. What a way to start the new year!   Release Date: 21 Jan, 2022  Catalogue no: ESM361  1 Quicksand 4:20  2 Over You 4:26  3 End of the line 3:49  4 Cold Wind 3:45 5 Roundabout 4:20  6 Lost for Words 4:12  7 September Sun 4:03  8 Band of Brothers 4:35  9 Let it Go 3:56  10 Camaraderie 5:02  11 Base Jumping 4:11  12 Sunflowers and Roses 4:08 Line up Mick Benton – Lead Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards Graham Cowling – Drums Malcolm Jones – Guitar  
    • New song 'Fearless'.    
    • Feel The Steel - Steel Panther
    • In My Darkest Hour - Megadeth
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.