Jump to content

Shylock - 'Rock Buster'


Recommended Posts

Hear are some samples of their great new disc:




All 6 tunes on myspace that feature on the new album are excellent, imo. Especially love 'Rose of Cairo', 'Rumours' (different, but very cool) and 'Sunshine vs (werses) rain'.




SHYLOCK "RockBuster" tracklist:


01.Damn Good



04.Sunshine vs. Rain

05.Just For U


07.Rose Of Cairo


09.Somebody Else

10.The Moment

11.We Are

12.Wrong Planet


Release date: 26/02/10


I really have to give credit to these guys. I always grouped them with Crystal Ball and Shakra. All three bands burst onto the scene back around 2000 with an awesome brand of heavy rock. Shylock and Shakra had identical debuts (I seriously can't tell them apart, in black and white artwork or in style, lol) while Crystal Ball tore the genre apart with their first two classic albums. Shakra then also released two great albums in succession, while Shylock released the solid 'Pyronized' followed by the 100% improvement that was 'Welcome to illusion'. I honestly thought they'd done their dash there and that was their peak. It's still easy to argue that that album is their best, but while Crystal Ball and Shakra proceeded to release more and more disappointing CDs, one after another - all sounding identical and bland, Shylock didn't stay stuck on that one sound and actually became more melodic and better song writers as time went on. IMO, 'Devotion' is argubaly just as good as 'Welcome to illusion', and this new one, 'Rock Buster' is again right on par at least. The only odd thing about 'Devotion' was that super, super tight production job which produced a sound I've never really heard before on a CD. The production job is still amazingly crisp again on the new one, but there's more balls this time round and definitely some heavier guitar.


If you ask me, this is right on par with the last two and these guys have really, really hit stride. In the early days Crystal Ball and Shakra had it over them easily, but these days they absolutely DESTROY those two bands. I just hope everyone checks out this latest CD and has their last two. Truly a band that deserves the support of melodic hard rock lovers.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This took 2-3 spins for me, but it's not too bad at all. It's sitting at a 7 out of 10 for me so far. The production is pretty good and the guitars kick ass

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My two faves at the moment are the killer opener 'Damn good' and the closer, 'Wrong Planet'. Man I love those two songs. Perfect ways to open and close a disc.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • When you say original, you mean this?  
    • W.A.S.P. - Inside the Electric Circus  W.A.S.P. - The Headless Children  Pop Will Eat Itself - Dos Dedos Mis Amigos (Remaster) / A Lick of the Old Cassette Box Ultrasound - Ultrasound  Red Sun Rising - Thread Screaming Trees - Uncle Anesthesia 
    • It's so much better to listen to the original, Erik has done some great covers, but this is a miss imo.
    • This made my recommended list for last year. Far removed sound/style wise from the awesome debut album and only one of the original lineup is featured,  but very very good all the same. 
    • This was released last year and pretty good it is.   From Andy Rethmeier's Youtube channel: A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away ... well not quite that far away, Hartlepool in County Durham to be precise, a band of rare quality was formed. That band was called White Spirit and after their debut single, "Backs To The Grind" was released on the legendary Neat Records in 1980, the major labels came knocking. They were eager to snap up a band that had far more to offer than the majority of NWOBHM bands that they were lazily bracketed with. MCA Records won the race to sign White Spirit and with a line-up of Phil Brady, Graeme Crallan, Janick Gers, Malcolm Pearson and Bruce Ruff, their self-titled debut album was released later in 1980 to great acclaim. A constant schedule of touring saw the band build up a large and loyal following, but changes in personnel saw Janick Gers join Ian Gillan, to be replaced by Mick Tucker. Toby Sadler took over bass duties from Phil Brady and Bruce Ruff made way for an unknown singer, called Brian Howe. The new and improved White Spirit entered the studio to work on their second album with then Gillan keysman Colin Towns at the production helm. Alas, the album was never completed, the band broke up and musicians went their separate ways. Mick Tucker joined Tank, later followed by Graeme Crallan. Sadler slid easily into Airrace. Mal Pearson stepped away from music for a spell before returning to action with legends The Sweet. Singer Brian Howe crossed the Atlantic and became frontman for Ted Nugent, before achieving mega platinum success as the replacement for Paul Rodgers in Bad Company. So White Spirit were seemingly consigned to music history, with former members proceeding to forge impressive careers built on this promising foundation.  Four decades on and the location of these 2nd album sessions remained a mystery. Presumed to have been consigned to a skip, as was the fate of so many priceless mastertapes carelessly discarded over the years. The day following Brian Howe’s tragic death from a heart attack in May 2020, Tucker and Pearson were on the phone reflecting on those heady White Spirit days. The missing tapes were once more discussed, but still neither had any idea where to find them. Fate stepped in, and whilst preparing to relocate to France, Mal Pearson was rifling through his furniture in storage when he found a dusty old bedside cabinet. Inside were four sets of tapes. One labelled Chiswick Studios – White Spirit. This was it. The one they’d all thought was lost for ever. The tape was handed over to Conquest Music boss and Tank guitarist Cliff Evans. He arranged for the delicate and risky process of baking the tapes to preserve and retrieve the old recordings and transfer them to digital. Successful as the process was, the sound quality of some elements of the tracks were just not good enough for today’s ears, so Tucker & Pearson decided to replace all of the musical accompaniment with a stellar line-up of players. Neil Murray (Whitesnake) and Russell Gilbrook (Uriah Heep) made up the rhythm section, with the guitars and keyboards replaced by Mick and Mal.   Tracklisting: 1. Right Or Wrong (lead vocals – Jeff Scott Soto) 2 .Runaway (lead vocals – Brian Howe) 3. The Dice Rolls On (lead vocals – Lee Small) 4. Lady Of The Night (lead vocals – Brian Howe) 5. Gotta Get Out (lead vocals – Brian Howe) 6. Better Watch Out (lead vocals – Jeff Scott Soto) 7. Don't Say No (lead vocals – Lee Small) 8. Wait A Little Longer (lead vocals – Brian Howe) 9. Holy Water (lead vocals – Steve Overland) 10. Rock And Roll (Is Good For You) (lead vocals – Brian Howe)                          
    • Lost in the Atlantic - Electric Angels
    • Fall Apart, Golden Heart - Device
    • Generation Radio - Why Are You Calling Me Now?
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.