Jump to content

Stonebolt - New Set of Changes


Recommended Posts


From Escape Music:

Limited edition numbered cd of 1000 units only 0001 to 1000!
Remastered at 24 bits by Graig Wadell at Armoury Studio, Vancouver, Canada, November 2022

Stonebolt were a Canadian band based in the Vancouver area and recorded 4 albums between 1978 and 1982. They released their debut album in 1978 on Parachute records and it put them on the map, especially the song “I will still love you” which attracted some chart recognition.

When the label “Parachute” folded the band signed with RCA and recorded “Keep it alive” in 1979, the music was quite poppy during this early era. However, things changed for what is regarded as their best album “New set of changes” which had strong elements of Pomp rock and comparisons could be made to bands such as Styx and Prism. This was released right at the start of the 80’s when the Melodic rock era was beginning to come alive. This third album is up there with many other classics though it never really got the attention it deserved.

“New Set of Changes” had some really strong tunes and is a pleasure to the ears, opening track “Take the Time” is one of those songs that will be going round in your head even after the first spin. There are many other strong songs on the album and also a bonus track “Back on the bottom line” which was a song that missed a deadline for an album but was a firm favourite in their live shows. Here it is for the very first time as a bonus track.

Stonebolt did record a fourth album “Juvenile American Princess” in 1982 and was a worthy addition to the band’s roster but “New set of changes” will always sit high above the other releases as their golden moment.

This limited edition release will be a great way to remember this Canadian quintet and with more up-to-date production techniques the sound is as fresh as it was in the 1980’s.
Release date: 20 January 2023

Track List:  
Take the time 5:54
You don’t care 4:54 
Crying again tonight 4:16
Landing in love 5:11
Please please me 3:48
New set of changes 5:11
Come and see me 3:21
All by myself 3:51
Here comes the rain 5:06
Midnight angel 5:23 
Bonus track: Back on the bottom line 4:21

The Band:
Ray Roper: Guitar, lead & backing vocals
David J Wills: Lead & backing vocals
John Webster: Keyboards
Brian Lousley: Drums & percussion
Danny Atchison: Bass












Edited by Stefan
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is very arousing and a given purchase.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • New song 'Defiance' from the album of the same name.    
    • John says he is still in Confess as well.  This was posted on the Confess FB page about an hour ago: TO CLARIFY SOME STUFF!   Yes, i've joined forces with Crashdiet, which feels very exciting indeed. With that being said, I’m still very much a part of confess. Confess is my high school Rock'n roll band that i sang in for the past 15 years and i have no intentions of leaving or changing that. We're currently working on new music and hopefully have something new to show you guys pretty soon.   // John Elliot https://www.facebook.com/confessofsweden?mibextid=JRoKGi
    • Cool song. If ADV is strictly hired to play keys, it should be fine. 
    • Ooh, nice!  I'll have to revisit the first album. 
    • Ugh... I hate you so much. You know I hate you, right? ;} I've never seen either iteration. 
    • These are sounding pretty good. 
    • New album out April 26th. SiX By SiX, the progressive power trio comprising Ian Crichton (Saga), Nigel Glockler (Saxon) and Robert Berry (3.2), are pleased to announce the release of their sophomore album ‘Beyond Shadowland’ on InsideOutMusic on 26th April 2024. The band reconvened in Berry’s own Soundtek Studios in the San Francisco Bay Area in 2023 to bend, shape, hammer and caress their diverse musical talents into 11 impressive new tracks.  With this album, they continue to define and build upon their unique melodic space, welding guitar-driven rock, metal and prog into a unique and powerful sonic setting. Tracks: 1. Wren 2. The Arms of a Word 3. Can’t Live Like This 4. Obiliex 5. Only You Can Decide 6. Titans 7. Outside Looking In 8. Spectre 9. Sympathise 10. One Step 11. The Mission Vinyl-only bonus tracks: 1. SiX By SiX Orchestra Medley 2. The Arms of a Word (Instrumental) 3. Honor Bridge 4. The Mission (Instrumental)    
    • Press release: Newman are pleased to announce the follow up to 2021’s ”Into The Monsters’ Playground”, the UK Melodic Rock band was formed back in 1997 by Steve Newman and quickly gained a great reputation after releasing their debut, and subsequent ”One Step Closer” albums. A string of high quality releases have ensued throughout the last 20 years insuring a strong and loyal following. Highly respected by fans and fellow musicians alike, this new album will add to the bands great legacy and underline the reason why Newman are considered to be one of the UK’s top Melodic Rock artists. The new album tentatively titled ”Colour In Sound” will be the bands 14th studio album and will be released through AOR BLVD Records in May. Artwork will be revealed soon as well as the first single accompanied by a video in the next few weeks, watch this space.
    • Imagine a world where Andrew Wood didn’t die and Mother Love Bone was still creating awesome music!
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.