Jump to content

Cry Of Love singer, Kelly Holland passes away

Captain Howdy

Recommended Posts



Singer Kelly Holland, best known for his stint as the frontman for early ’90s Southern rock standard-bearers Cry of Love, passed away Feb. 24 at the age of 52.

One of a very small number of young bands playing in a classic rock vein during the era, Cry of Love rose to prominence with a tough, bluesy sound that invited comparisons to veteran acts like Bad Company and Aerosmith — the latter of whom they played with in 1994, opening for the resurgent rockers on their ‘Get a Grip’ tour. The band’s debut album ‘Brother,’ released in the spring of 1993, performed respectably, spinning off a handful of successful singles (including ‘Peace Pipe,’ which hit No. 1 on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock chart), but while executives at Columbia Records were doubtless hoping for Black Crowes-style crossover sales, they never really materialized.

Following ‘Brother,’ Cry of Love seemed poised to build on the momentum they’d established, but Holland left the band in 1994, stalling their efforts to release a follow-up. Although they eventually recruited future Warrant singer Robert Mason, 1997′s ‘Diamonds & Debris’ arrived too late to capitalize on the first LP — and in an even tougher market for bands of Cry of Love’s vintage. The group split following its release, with guitarist Audley Freed going on to join the Crowes, and later Chris Robinson’s solo band.

According to the Raleigh News & Observer, Holland performed with a number of bands after leaving Cry of Love. An accomplished drummer as well as a distinctive singer, he acted as a double weapon for the local cover act Crush. Felled by an abdominal infection after a short hospital stay, he was remembered by his former bandmates as a ferociously talented, albeit mercurial, musician.

“Kelly was the greatest rock and roll singer I’ve ever known, but the boy had some demons, too,” Cry of Love drummer Jason Patterson told the News & Observer. “There were a lot of things he just could not get past, and they ate him up from the inside out.”

“Vocalists like Kelly are few and far between,” added Jeff Dennis, who played with Holland in a later group. “He was a great, great singer. A real handful, too, not easy to be in a band with. He had some routines and stuff about how he needed to go through the day that could be tough to deal with. But he was just so frickin’ talented, you were willing to do it. He was one of those guys who’d mark you or scar you, however you look at it. He made a dent in your psyche that you’ll carry forever.”

Holland is deeply missed by the circle of friends and family he left behind, many of whom share their memories of his life and talent in the comments of the News & Observer’s memorial article. Both Cry of Love albums are still in print digitally and available via streaming services like Spotify; take a minute today to play ‘Brother’ and think about what might have been.

Read More: Cry of Love Singer Kelly Holland Dead at 52 | http://ultimateclassicrock.com/kelly-holland-dies/?trackback=tsmclip

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • Shiraz Lane - Forgotten Shades Of Life
    • That is simply brilliant...such a great band...love that artwork...this has made my day  
    • New EP out now, digital only. From rocknloadmag.com: Swedish melodic hard rock supergroup Crowne will release a new live EP entitled ‘Live From Studio Gröndahl’ on 19th August, a little treat to hold fans over as they await the release of a second album by the band. A live performance ‘Kings In The North’ from the EP is available from today on all digital platforms. The studio recording of ‘Kings In The North’ was the title track of their 2021 debut album, a record that truly delivered on the promise of the combined talents of the group members. Comprised of vocalist Alexander Strandell (Art Nation), guitarist/keyboardist/producer Jona Tee (H.E.A.T.), bassist John Levén (Europe) and drummer Christian Lundqvist (The Poodles), the record was a tour de force of Scandinavian melodic hard rock. It also featured guitar solos from Love Magnusson (Dynazty), who has now joined the line-up as permanent lead guitarist. ‘Live From Studio Gröndahl’ features the quintet tearing through five songs from ‘Kings In The North’ and allows fans to hear (and see) them playing live in an intimate setting. Crowne is the most exciting, thrilling supergroup created to date from the Swedish melodic hard rock scene. Having already crafted a beast of a debut, this stellar cast of outstanding musicians are currently working diligently to better it with the recording of its follow-up. LIVE FROM STUDIO GRÖNDAHL TRACKLISTING 1  Kings In The North 2  Sharoline 3  Perceval 4  Mad World 5  Save Me From Myself        
    • That's good to hear. The album Vanity Kills was pretty awesome. Some of the songs had bit of modern rock vibe to them which I thought was cool. Yep, hope we get to hear more music from you guys. 
    • Album out now. Listen to the rest of the album:                  
    • 'Forgotten Toys' out now. Listen to the rest of the album:            
    • Love these guys. In my opinion, they are more of hard/melodic rock than synthwave. Plenty of guitar riffs and solos. Another killer track, my fave song so far this year. 
    • Want to clear  all pacman 256 levels while spinning this monster 
    • Yes, I'm the new bassplayer :). I have asked Ward Dufraimont to answer your question, as he is better suited to reply: In a nutshell : Expectations were high in 2010 with a debut album out on MelodicRock Records and big dreams, unfortunately the wheels started coming off from the word ‘go’. After losing our permanent drummer and rehearsal space and wasting precious time trying to sort that all out, frustration started to kick in. In an effort to keep moving forward, we recorded a second full length album in 2012, which sits unmixed on a hard-drive somewhere. Sometimes life gets in the way, and we decided to shelve the whole thing before friendships were lost. In 2022, with enough water under the bridge, we are back in full force, with a deluxe reissue of the debut album (out of print for years) to kickstart the whole thing. Playing out as much as we can, opening for the likes of FM, Jelusick, Gun, and others this year, spreading the word. We hope to have a new single out later this year, and more new music next year. A new decade, a new lineup, a fresh start. Nothing’s gonna stop us now !
    • New album out today.  Gave it one listen and seems pretty decent and in line with their last album. Worth checking if you liked their last one.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.