Jump to content

Alleycat Scratch - Greatest Licks & Nasty Tricks (2013)


Recommended Posts


Formed in San Francisco in 1988, Sunset Strip lads ALLEYCAT SCRATCH arrived too late to the recording of their first full length CD (1993), as soon this type of music was phagocytosed by the grunge movement. But the band made some noise and gained considerable popularity during their five years of existence. Drummer Robbi Black has put together the ultimate CD package to ever be released from Alleycat Scratch: "Greatest Licks & Nasty Tricks", including 19 songs of the band's career all remastered by himself and published by Demon Doll Records.


The disc features the entire '93 album 'Deadboys In Trash City' (including the infamous bonus track "Love Song"), all 5 songs from the self-released EP 'Cheap City Thrills' recorded in 1991 with Tommy Haight on lead vocals, as well as 3 studio recordings from the never released 2nd full album 'Encore' : "Grave Gina", "Don't Forget Me" and "Sick (Of It All)". Also known as 'The Hollywood Deadboys', Alleycat Scratch is considered the last true pure sleazy hard rock act from the Sunset Strip, with hot, dirty glammy live shows. Many specialized magazines included 'Deadboys In Trash City' amongst the best Glam / Sleazy albums ever.


So if you like early Motley Crue, Vain, Faster Pussycat, LA Guns (Alleycat Scratch shared stages with 'em all) and Guns 'N Roses, you can't go wrong with titles like to “Stilletto Strut”, “Sexual Addiction”, the ballad “Roses On My Grave”, “Love Sick Junkie”, “Plastic Dolls” or the killer “Soul Survivor”. These guys were really good at their game, and this material is well produced and remastered.

Grab a bottle of Jack Daniels, turn up the volume to 10 and crank out of your speakers with "Greatest Licks & Nasty Tricks". Rocks.



01 - Stilletto Strut

02 - Take A Bite (Outta Me)

03 - Cats Got Your Tongue

04 - Soul Survivor

05 - Sexual Addiction

06 - Love Sick Junkie

07 - Cheap City Thrills

08 - Roses On My Grave

09 - Trash City

10 - Plastic Dolls

11 - Love Song

12 - Grave Gina

13 - Don't Forget Me

14 - Sick (Of It All)

15 - Cheap City Thrills (1991 Version)

16 - Kiss Kiss (1991 Version)

17 - Junior's Bones (1991 Version)

18 - Stilletto Strut (1991 Version)

19 - Take A Bite (Outta Me) (1991 Version)


Eddie Robison - lead vocals

Devin Lovelace - guitars

Robbi Black - drums

Bobby "Boa" Dias - bass

Tommy Haight - lead vocals (15-19)

Justin Sayne - second guitar (15-19)



Link to comment
Share on other sites


How many fucking times can you release this stuff...good God.

My Thoughts Exactly.


How many fucking times can you release this stuff...good God.

My Thoughts Exactly.

The fucking original is worth about $30 now...sheesh.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 7 years later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Debut album 'Portraits' out May 31.   From Art Of Melody Music / Burning Minds Music Group:   The band was founded a decade ago under the name ”Alex Mari & The Lovers”, with the aim of writing original material. Meanwhile, in order to create good chemistry between the members, the group began playing together on several live shows, performing cover songs of legendary international artists just like Queen, Toto, Police and AC/DC.   After few line-up changes, the band was finalized with three members: Alex Mari  (Michele Luppi Band, Barock Project, Ophiura, plus guest appearances as studio backing vocalist with Rhapsody of Fire) on vocals, Gianluca Pisana on drums and backing vocals, and Sebastiano Barbirato on guitar and backing vocals. For their debut album, they established their new identity with the name, Night Pleasure Hotel.   The first studio chapter of this very promising trio offers a perfect slice of classic American AOR, reminiscent of Survivor (Bickler era), Foreigner, Prism and Toto. The album features contributions from talented special guest stars –  Michele Luppi (Whitesnake), Luca Zabbini (Barock Project, PFM), Paolo Caridi (Ellefson-Soto, Reb Beach, Geoff Tate, Krell), Gianluca Tagliavini (PFM), Roberto Galli (Michele Luppi’s Heaven, Danger Zone, Wheels Of Fire) and Iarin Munari (Red Canzian, Roberto Vecchioni, Paolo Vallesi).   Night Pleasure Hotel are sure to become one of the best newcomers of the current melodic rock scene, thanks to their infectious sound, mixed and mastered by Roberto Priori (Danger Zone, Wheels Of Fire, Raintimes, StreetLore).   The release of ”Portraits” is scheduled for May 31, 2024 via Art Of Melody Music / Burning Minds Music Group. The CD booklet features introductory liner notes written by Samuele Mannini (Melodicrock.it), while cover art and CD graphics have been developed by Aeglos Art (Wheels Of Fire, Platens, StreetLore, Raintimes, Room Experience, Nightblaze).    The first single of the album, ”Just This Once”, will be launched with an official video on March 28, 2024.   Tracklist:   01. Niko 02. Just This Once 03. We Say Goodbye 04. Walking Through The Horizon 05. You And I 06. Sweet Melodies Of Rain 07. Shivers 08. What I Feel 09. Julia  10. Suddenly 11. For You 12. Quella Sera (Bonus Track)   Night Pleasure Hotel is:   Alex Mari: Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Bass, Guitar, Keyboards Sebastiano Barbirato: Guitar, Bass, Backing vocals Gianluca Pisana: Drums, Piano, Backing Vocals
    • Queen Shrike = Queensryche 👍
    • and the new Gunship cd maybe not so much AOR but damn good stuff
    • I've enjoyed pretty much all of their output thus far..inc this  
    • First I've heard of these guys.  A bit of a Danny Wilde vibe on vocals for me.  I like it.
    • New song 'Give The Night Away'.    
    • I can't remember the ins and outs of it, but last year he put up a tweet about how anyone who does cover songs is unoriginal and have no talent, and he would rather listen to the original. I have no issue with the second part of his statement as that is all down to personal taste, but for him to call out bands as unoriginal and lacking talent when bands he listens to have done covers is quite laughable. Every time he posts shit like that I reply and he always ignores me as he knows he is chatting shit. He does it with wrestling as well. Called someone out for instulting a woman wrestler, and saying it's unacceptable to insult wrestlers like that. Pointed out he always calls Brock Lesnar a gorilla and he he should practice what he preaches .. ignored again As I say, always has to pretend he knows everything, but always gets caught out.
    • Female monarch of butcher birds
    • That's not what your girlfriend told me about your post.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.