Jump to content

Stripwired (for fans of AC/DC)


Recommended Posts






Released 2007 (Marque Records)


Track List:

01. Doghouse

02. Another Shot

03. Drop The Bomb

04. Backdoor

05. Fifty Cent Millionaire

06. Break Las Vegas

07. Knock Me Out

08. Cat Drag

09. Walk Away

10. Burn Bitch Burn

11. Dirty Love



Darren Caperna - vocals

Mike Mroz - guitar

Mike Wagner - guitar

Taylor Smith - bass

Jay Benzi - drums



Produced and engineered by Mike Mroz.




2007 is turning out to be a banner year for fans of AC/DC inspired rock. The thunder from down under themselves have an ambitious box set coming soon, Dirty Looks have returned, Airbourne and Adrenaline Factor burst onto the scene and now we have Stripwired. Hailing from Dallas, Texas, Stripwired evolved from the AC/DC tribute band Back In Black so it isn't surprising the path this self-titled CD has taken.


Vocalist Darren Caperna does a dead-on impression of Brian Johnson. If anything he is an even hoarser version of the original - if that's even fucking possible!! It still amazes me how people can sing like this without screwing up their vocal chords, but God bless 'em. As for the band behind the singer, well, if you know what AC/DC sounds like then you know what Stripwired sound like. Each song is based on simple three chord riffs poured over a steady rhythm, it is a formula that has been done to death, but it is also a formula that almost always works. And it works here.


Some of these songs could have pulled directly from AC/DC albums, in fact when the band says that people mistake these compositions for new AC/DC tracks at their live shows I believe them. For instance, "Break Las Vegas" is Stripwired's version of "Safe In New York City" while "Burn Bitch Burn" could be their rendition of "For Those About To Rock". Yet those aren't even the stand-out tracks here, for that check out "Doghouse", the debut single "Another Shot", "Cat Drag" and "Dirty Love", the last song containing a hint of Bon Scott attitude.


I don't think I really have to go into detail about this disc. Fans of what I call AC/DC clone bands will love it, while others will bitch about its lack of originality. As for me, I could care less about originality, I want something that rocks - and judging by the tingling in my spine while "Dirty Love" blasts its way through my speakers I would say this rocks!


www.myspace.com/stripwired - www.backinblack.info - www.marquerecords.com


Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, September 2007.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Cool song. If ADV is strictly hired to play keys, it should be fine. 
    • Ooh, nice!  I'll have to revisit the first album. 
    • Ugh... I hate you so much. You know I hate you, right? ;} I've never seen either iteration. 
    • These are sounding pretty good. 
    • New album out April 26th. SiX By SiX, the progressive power trio comprising Ian Crichton (Saga), Nigel Glockler (Saxon) and Robert Berry (3.2), are pleased to announce the release of their sophomore album ‘Beyond Shadowland’ on InsideOutMusic on 26th April 2024. The band reconvened in Berry’s own Soundtek Studios in the San Francisco Bay Area in 2023 to bend, shape, hammer and caress their diverse musical talents into 11 impressive new tracks.  With this album, they continue to define and build upon their unique melodic space, welding guitar-driven rock, metal and prog into a unique and powerful sonic setting. Tracks: 1. Wren 2. The Arms of a Word 3. Can’t Live Like This 4. Obiliex 5. Only You Can Decide 6. Titans 7. Outside Looking In 8. Spectre 9. Sympathise 10. One Step 11. The Mission Vinyl-only bonus tracks: 1. SiX By SiX Orchestra Medley 2. The Arms of a Word (Instrumental) 3. Honor Bridge 4. The Mission (Instrumental)    
    • Press release: Newman are pleased to announce the follow up to 2021’s ”Into The Monsters’ Playground”, the UK Melodic Rock band was formed back in 1997 by Steve Newman and quickly gained a great reputation after releasing their debut, and subsequent ”One Step Closer” albums. A string of high quality releases have ensued throughout the last 20 years insuring a strong and loyal following. Highly respected by fans and fellow musicians alike, this new album will add to the bands great legacy and underline the reason why Newman are considered to be one of the UK’s top Melodic Rock artists. The new album tentatively titled ”Colour In Sound” will be the bands 14th studio album and will be released through AOR BLVD Records in May. Artwork will be revealed soon as well as the first single accompanied by a video in the next few weeks, watch this space.
    • Imagine a world where Andrew Wood didn’t die and Mother Love Bone was still creating awesome music!
    • “My Icarian Flight” featuring the one and only ADV 😜  
    • lol, this was my thought process too. What about Confess?! I like both bands, but not at the expense of one of them. 
    • I do have to give him credit for sounding exactly the same as he did in 1989...
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.