Jump to content

The Relapse Symphony - Time's Running Out EP


Recommended Posts

This is a pretty cool new band I thought I'd post here, mostly because their image is half designed for these pages. Their style is hard to pinpoint exactly as they're kind of modern pop/melodic rock/punk. Whatever the kids call it these days. It's hard to say exactly because the fact that their lead singer is basically a dead ringer for the guy from Bowling For Soup makes one instantly compare them to BFS, even if these guys are not quite like BFS at all. Anyway, make up your own mind. They released a 5 track EP and I think it's pretty good personally.





Track Listing:


1. Forgotten

2. Make Your Move

3. The Other Side of Town

4. Burning Bridges

5. Panic! (Time's Running Out)





Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not bad, not bad. The image they have don't actually fit the music but who cares as long as the music is good.


Yeah, in a perfect world the dude wouldn't sound like the guy from BFS, but like you say, as long as the songs are good. Looking at the pic again, they kinda look like Black Veil Brides.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...

New album out yesterday via Standby Records






01 - Embrace The Darkness
02 - We Are The Broken
03 - Battlefield of Lies
04 - One More Yesterday
05 - Make Your Move
06 - Savage Eyes
07 - Walls
08 - Angels Take Us Demons Save Us
09 - The Ghost That Got Away
10 - Forever Slowly
11 - Shadows

Bret Von Dehl - Vocals
JC Charles - Guitar
Ray Miller - Guitar
Brandon Kile - Bass
Alex Foxx - Drums




Link to comment
Share on other sites

I met the vocalist, Bret, about 6 years ago at a KIX show in Virginia. At the time he had just started a band called Ner D'wells (SP?).. Cool to see him doing so well. In fact, I just talked to him in late April... He came to my annual "M-Pre Party" show I do prior to The M3 Festival in Maryland. Pretty cool stuff.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Jeez, Russ, I thought you'd hate stuff like this. Surprised to see you in this thread, even promoting them! ;)


Good album, anyway. I really like it. I'll admit it's not quite as super as I was hoping it would be, but there is some really good stuff on it. Consistent and solid. No fillers.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Got the album a day early. The rest of the album is pretty much on par with the singles released, so if you like them you will probably like the whole album. Final track is an instrumental, which is probably the closest to what people would have expected from Mick, pretty bluesy.  
    • Arrived this morning: Rolling Quartz - Fighting (Korean import) Mick Mars - The other side of Mars
    • Owned this on cassette and CD, but never came with glasses I did though replace my CD with a Jap copy a few years ago to get the original version of Ain't the same (the version on Cuts is much better).
    • Album out April 14th. From Pride & Joy Music: A Neverending John’s Dream is a Melodic Hard ‘n’ Heavy band formed in Barcelona in 2022 when Joan M. Heredia (drums, vocal, and composer) teamed up with David Vidal (guitars), Paul E. Schuster (bass) and Xavier Miró (keyboards). Joan M. Heredia started to play drums, to sing and to write songs more than 20 years ago, has been playing in dozens of bands but so far never has thought about releasing own material until now. A Neverending John’s Dream’s debut album, “Coming Back to Paradise”, was completely written and produced by Joan M. Heredia. The recordings and the mix took place at Moontower Studios in Barcelona. Erik Mårtensson (Eclipse) at Mass Destruction Production Studios (Sweden) mastered this release. The cover artwork and the CD layout were designed by Jan Yrlund, at Darkgrove Design (Finland); photos were taken by Irene Serrano. “Coming Back to Paradise” is a melodic hard ‘n’ heavy album, with a late 80s/ early 90s feel, but with an up to date production. The lyrics are telling stories about a lot of experiences, centred in human condition, music, and nature. The song chosen as a single with a video clip (filmed by Visual Noise Barcelona) is “Coming Back to Paradise”, a veritable hard rock hit with the homonymous title of the album. The meaning of the band’s name is a bit philosophic. The creation of music has no end (Neverending), and this fact, is like a dream for Joan M. Heredia (John). Live gigs for Spain around currently being planned.      
    • "The Show Must Go On". A magnificent track. The original by Queen is beyond KILLER, but I just discovered today that Australia's sweetheart, Delta Goodrem has covered it. It's a worthy tribute.  The best cover that nearly surpasses the original is the EPIC version by JSS. Of course, the fap value of Delta has to be taken in to account, so it's a quandary.         
    • I’m surprised there’s not more of a buzz about these guys here on the board. “Tell Me” and “ Take on Me” (no, those aren’t White Lion and A-Ha cover songs) are both solid AOR/melodic rock songs. The vocals on the verses could use a little more “umph”, but the choruses are quite tasty. 
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.