Jump to content

JAKKS – Scream [Japanese Edition] (2019)


Recommended Posts


from various internet feeds:

Formed in 2006, JAKKS is one of the few bands from South America still playing the kind of glammy melodic hard rock that rules the airwaves during the second half of the 80s.
“Scream” is their latest album with English lyrics / songs capturing the hooks and catchy choruses from a bygone era that never will die.

Jakks supported the likes of Vince Neil (Motley Crue), Tracii Guns (LA Guns), Bulletboys, Michael Monroe (Hanoi Rocks) to name few and in recent years played the LA club circuit (including the Whiskey A Go Go) like if time froze in 1987.

Rocking songs like ‘Screaming In The Midnight’, ‘Images And Words’, ‘Anger’ or ‘In The Darkness’ takes you back to glory days of the genre and while obviously influences abound – think Dokken or Cinderella to Poison and Firehouse – the guys add their own spin with a lot of attitude.

Of course they serve a solid power ballad in the form of ‘Only Your Love’ – none album in this genre is complete without it.


Very well composed, arranged and produced, “Scream” is just another proof that Eighties glam metal / melodic hard rock is still alive and kickin’, and doesn’t matter its geolocation, this rock sub-genre has no boundaries. (Thanks to Yuka for this one)

Highly Recommended


01 – Apocalypse (Intro)
02 – Screaming In The Midnight
03 – Never More
04 – Against The Wall
05 – Slaves
06 – Images And Words
07 – Anger
08 – Give Me A Reason
09 – In The Darkness
10 – City Of Brokenhearts
11 – Only Your Love
12 – In My Heart (Bonus Track Japan)

Alec – Bass and Vocals
Cristian – Guitar and Backing Vocals
Bonnie – Drums









Edited by AlphaMale
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

This sounds good. I'll check it out for sure. Production sounds solid, but I'd usually expect a million dollar sounding production job from any Japanese band. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • 2022 HH Donation Drive

    Please support Heavy Harmonies! The donations goal is the out-of-pocket expenses to run the main site and this board for calendar year 2022.

    82% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Posts

    • Well, at least they're being honest now.
    • Looking forward to giving this a listen tonight. 
    • Ezzakly. I was having this conversation with my friend this weekend. It took us a while, but we're finally building up our football program. I believe that has a lot to do with the amount of immigrants we've had. They move to Canada and have no love for hockey; they wanna play football. Wish this had happened decades ago. My folks never let me play hockey, because it's so bloody expensive, but there wasn't a decent football program. 
    • I think I recall listening to one of their albums. Don't they have a Southern Rock/Country vibe? Or maybe I'm just reading into their name, which makes me think of Brad Paisley. 
    • Death on the Road-Iron Maiden
    • Photo credit: Tim Saccenti Metallica dropped an atomic bomb this morning, announcing the brand new album 72 Seasons and sharing the first single, “Lux Æterna”. “Lux Æterna” is old school thrash, picking right up where Hardwired… to Self-Destruct left off, only this time, guitarist Kirk Hammett was involved in the writing. 72 Seasons will be available April 14, 2023, via the band’s own Blackened Recordings. Produced by Greg Fidelman with founding members James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, and clocking in at over 77 minutes, the 12-track album is Metallica’s first full length collection of new material since 2016’s Hardwired…To Self-Destruct. Here’s the track listing for 72 Seasons: 01. 72 Seasons 02. Shadows Follow 03. Screaming Suicide 04. Sleepwalk My Life Away 05. You Must Burn! 06. Lux Æterna 07. Crown Of Barbed Wire 08. Chasing Light 09. If Darkness Had A Son 10. Too Far Gone? 11. Room Of Mirrors 12. Inamorata “72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves,” said Hetfield of the album’s title. “The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry.”   https://bloody-disgusting.com/music/3741721/metallica-returns-with-new-album-single-and-tour/
    • Yeah I wasn't expecting them to do much as it is their first World Cup since 86....at least they are competing hard.....now if they start making the World Cup on a regular basis then expectations will rise in the years to come....
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.