Jump to content

QUADRA NIXX - Quadra Nixx (2014)


Recommended Posts



from odayrox2:



The story goes that Melodic Rockers QUADRA NIXX were formed in the '80s in the North Carolina area, and although the group achieved regional and national notice during the early Nineties, as many very good acts from the East Coast never got signed by a major label. You gotta move to California to get a chance back then.


But it's never too late, and QUADRA NIXX is releasing their selftitled debut in 2014.

QUADRA NIXX is, pure and simple, second half of the '80s / early '90s US Melodic Rock.


The band love Journey's Raised On Radio era, this is obvious in the highly harmonized choruses - 4 of the 5 members provide backing vocals - and of course, you have keyboard infusions all over, catchy refrains and a pumping rhythm section.




Guitarist Marc Jackson is the man who delivers some edge to the songs with a - guess what - a Neal schon style in the rhythm guitars and riffs, although during the well elaborated & effective solos he brings to mind White Lion's Vitto Bratta.


On the other hand, the lead vocals of Jan Fields are inspired by Steve Perry, however his timbre is more in the middle spectre and very personal. His way of singing has a dynamic and a expression that would have made the man a star in 1984.



more samples:





You can't go wrong with ultra-melodic, swirling keyboard filled tunes like "Keep The Fire Burning", "Hollywood", "Key To Your Heart", the AORish midtempo "Miranda" or the power ballad "Steal My Heart".


If the title "Look Who's Crying Now" is not a Journey homage, then what... however the song is one of the more rocking numbers on the album with a hard rock edge, as the very White Lion-esque "Daddy's Little Girl" and closer "Never Left", combining Steve Perry like harmony vocals and a sharp riff.




QUADRA NIXX is a fun-static, wonderful trip back to the late '80s / early '90s US Melodic Hard Rock.


Although production could be better, you don't care as all the songs - and I mean all - featured on this CD are Top Notch for the genre, with great arrangements, terrific harmony vocals and golden choruses.


Add to that the fact the quintet are really, really skilled musicians, performing on high level throughout.


This is a must for any fan of the genre - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

01 - What If I
02 - Daddy's Little Girl
03 - Hollywood
04 - Keep The Fire Burning
05 - Key To Your Heart
06 - Calling For You
07 - Look Who's Crying Now
08 - Miranda
09 - Steal My Heart
10 - Never Left

Jan Fields – Lead Vocals
Marc Jackson – Guitar, Vocals
Tim King – Keyboards, Vocals
Jon Young – Bass, Vocals
Jack Perry – Drums


Link to comment
Share on other sites

In their defence, I will say a large reason why I really dislike this one was because of the awful sound quality / lack of production. But even without it, I'm not sure. The first couple of songs are okay (though the intro to the album is very off-putting and irritating) and they actually sound like a really poor man's Blind Date from a few years back. In fact, BY FAR the best song on the CD is the last track - 'Never Left,' which is close to excellent. And this one really sounds like Blind Date.


It's an interesting release, but way too raw for my tastes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • I know I've posted about this hombre several times before, but apparently not in his own thread. This must change as I find him to be so awesome but no one seems to acknowledge his existence. Not just here, but his youtube channel and reach seems to be so small. Crazy for someone who produces bone crunching quality on a madly consistent basis.  Eric Dalton     -    Playing Favorites (2022) 1    .    Calling Card 2    .    Oblivion 3    .    Head in the Clouds 4    .    X My Heart 5    .    Infection 6    .    My Demons 7    .    Solace 8    .    A Part of Me 9    .    Without You 10    .    Deception     Sorry, I know I've posted this before, but his youtube channel features all three of his (excellent) albums in full if interest permits. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCb2I3-4_UvFnWWTcXBBLPYA  
    • Interesting what bands catch on this forum and the ones that don't. To me, this is a pretty good band and I'm a bit surprised, on a forum where bands like Shiraz Lane and Bad City are appreciated, there seems to be no interest in these guys. Good band that does, for whatever reason, remind me of the likes of the aforementioned Bad City.  There's a bit of hit and miss about the debut and it's far from perfect, but a pretty cool band worthy of mention and interest on a forum such as this.  Anyway, this was one of my favourites of the album- For die-hards, I stumbled across this non-album track.  
    • New video for 'I Will Be Stronger' feat. Joel Hoekstra.    
    • Very nice piece of modern rock on offer here. Lot to like on this one.  Fame on Fire     -    Welcome to the Chaos 1    .    Intro 2    .    Welcome to the Chaos (feat. Spencer Charnas of Ice Nine Kills) 3    .    Ketamine 4    .    Cut Throat 5    .    Emo Shit (feat. Kody Lavigne) 6    .    Lost In Doubt 7    .    Robbery 8    .    Signs 9    .    Plastic Heart 10    .    Rotting Away 11    .    Back Then 12    .    Jaded 13    .    Dead or Alive      
    • Welcome, album of the year? Love this project with vigour. I snuck 'Saturday' on the playlist I put on with the kids in the car, lol. Can't wait to hear any of the songs I haven't already heard and showered in love from this. 
    • Did anyone notice these guys released another new album?  As expected, it's pretty weak and more proof of their solid decline.  HOWEVER!  There is actually a good song on it. It's only one, but I kind of clapped and cheered when I heard this. I used to love these guys so much, and still love the albums I always loved from these guys but it's been some barren years. It was good to hear them do what they used to do with great ease.      
    • Couple of okay songs, but otherwise as expected above. No surprises, exactly what you'd expect from these guys in 2022.     
    • Not every song is a hit, but another pretty decent one mini-album. I like some of the gear on this one.  Villain of the Story     -    Divided 1    .    Never Again 2    .    Jester 3    .    Karma 4    .    Under My Skin 5    .    Losing Control 6    .    Wrong 7    .    Don't Go 8    .    Divided    
    • Not sure if folk know, but they got back together and released an EP this year. Anberlin     -    Silverline 1    .    Two Graves 2    .    Nothing Lost 3    .    Body Language 4    .    Asking 5    .    Circles It's not amazing, but I do really like this song from it-  
    • Not an amazing album, but pretty solid with a couple of very nice tunes-     They have a very comprehensive youtube channel for anyone unsure and wanting to give everything a listen- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYECJVZLOQebjAuj_HMKLjg  
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.