Jump to content

Positive Touch - s/t


Recommended Posts

  • 4 months later...



Holy smokes Batman! This vintage Robin's wacky saying certainly applies to this new wonder from Sweden: POSITIVE TOUCH.
This new classic AOR / Melodic Rock trio is formed by singer Johnny Englund, keyboardist Jens Rüttgerott and guitar player Stefan Cajander which were part of a late '80s band called Avenue when they were really young.
Since then, in one way or another, the three guys have been involved with something related to music, but it was around five years ago when they decided to reunite for the fun of playing music together, and Positive Touch born.

The three have been musically influenced by Toto and Journey, and you can tell that listening their music and the band's name; Positive Touch is the title of one of the best tracks from 1986's Journey Raised On Radio album.
But, according to Rüttgerott, the main reason that moved them to form Positive Touch was the resurgence in Sweden of the AOR / Melodic Rock genre in the hands of Work Of Art, W.E.T. and alikes. And you know what? You can tell that too between these wonderful 11 tracks.

This is pure '80s AOR / MR with terrific catchy choruses, tons of keyboards, multi-part harmonies and a slick guitar work by Stefan Cajander, clearly influenced by Steve Lukather's more rocking side. All tracks are superb in the best tradition of the genre, I can't find a weak number here.
Just to mention some jewels, there's extremely melodic uptempo rockers on "Do You Believe", the killer "Hope" or the soaring "I Believe".
You want classy AOR? Check "Too Far From Together", with a FM / Steve Overland feel all over it. I love this one.

More stylized stuff in the vein of Work Of Art or Street Talk? "Without Your Love" and "Still Standing Tall" will blow your mind.
Ah, and there's "Radio": TOTO in all its class, made in the Positive Touch way. This means velvety arrangements, highly refined instrumentation and smooth vocals. Seriously, this track is to die for.

Believe it or not, Positive Touch have recorded all this material at Jens Rüttgerott's home studio, just for the fun of it. They aren't looking for a record contract, although some of the songs have been put on sale at iTunes by themselves.
But don't worry, the musicianship, the arrangements and the sound here has been carefully hand-crafted and polished to the extreme by these talented musicians resulting in a top notch production for an indie. Believe me, this stuff sounds like an official record. Some label / management need to approach these guys pronto!
Do yourself a favor and don't miss this... a must for Classic AOR / Melodic Rock fans.
Absolutely Awesome.



Johnny Englund - vocals, drums, guitar
Jens Rüttgerott - keyboards, Studiofix
Stefan Cajander - guitar, bass, vocals







01 - We Are Going To Win The War
02 - Do You Believe
03 - Radio
04 - Hope
05 - Too Far From Together
06 - Without Your Love
07 - I Believe
08 - Still Standing Tall
09 - Sometimes
10 - Freedom
11 - With You



Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • I know I've posted about this hombre several times before, but apparently not in his own thread. This must change as I find him to be so awesome but no one seems to acknowledge his existence. Not just here, but his youtube channel and reach seems to be so small. Crazy for someone who produces bone crunching quality on a madly consistent basis.  Eric Dalton     -    Playing Favorites (2022) 1    .    Calling Card 2    .    Oblivion 3    .    Head in the Clouds 4    .    X My Heart 5    .    Infection 6    .    My Demons 7    .    Solace 8    .    A Part of Me 9    .    Without You 10    .    Deception     Sorry, I know I've posted this before, but his youtube channel features all three of his (excellent) albums in full if interest permits. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCb2I3-4_UvFnWWTcXBBLPYA  
    • Interesting what bands catch on this forum and the ones that don't. To me, this is a pretty good band and I'm a bit surprised, on a forum where bands like Shiraz Lane and Bad City are appreciated, there seems to be no interest in these guys. Good band that does, for whatever reason, remind me of the likes of the aforementioned Bad City.  There's a bit of hit and miss about the debut and it's far from perfect, but a pretty cool band worthy of mention and interest on a forum such as this.  Anyway, this was one of my favourites of the album- For die-hards, I stumbled across this non-album track.  
    • New video for 'I Will Be Stronger' feat. Joel Hoekstra.    
    • Very nice piece of modern rock on offer here. Lot to like on this one.  Fame on Fire     -    Welcome to the Chaos 1    .    Intro 2    .    Welcome to the Chaos (feat. Spencer Charnas of Ice Nine Kills) 3    .    Ketamine 4    .    Cut Throat 5    .    Emo Shit (feat. Kody Lavigne) 6    .    Lost In Doubt 7    .    Robbery 8    .    Signs 9    .    Plastic Heart 10    .    Rotting Away 11    .    Back Then 12    .    Jaded 13    .    Dead or Alive      
    • Welcome, album of the year? Love this project with vigour. I snuck 'Saturday' on the playlist I put on with the kids in the car, lol. Can't wait to hear any of the songs I haven't already heard and showered in love from this. 
    • Did anyone notice these guys released another new album?  As expected, it's pretty weak and more proof of their solid decline.  HOWEVER!  There is actually a good song on it. It's only one, but I kind of clapped and cheered when I heard this. I used to love these guys so much, and still love the albums I always loved from these guys but it's been some barren years. It was good to hear them do what they used to do with great ease.      
    • Couple of okay songs, but otherwise as expected above. No surprises, exactly what you'd expect from these guys in 2022.     
    • Not every song is a hit, but another pretty decent one mini-album. I like some of the gear on this one.  Villain of the Story     -    Divided 1    .    Never Again 2    .    Jester 3    .    Karma 4    .    Under My Skin 5    .    Losing Control 6    .    Wrong 7    .    Don't Go 8    .    Divided    
    • Not sure if folk know, but they got back together and released an EP this year. Anberlin     -    Silverline 1    .    Two Graves 2    .    Nothing Lost 3    .    Body Language 4    .    Asking 5    .    Circles It's not amazing, but I do really like this song from it-  
    • Not an amazing album, but pretty solid with a couple of very nice tunes-     They have a very comprehensive youtube channel for anyone unsure and wanting to give everything a listen- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYECJVZLOQebjAuj_HMKLjg  
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.