Jump to content

.38 Special - Wild-Eyed Southern Boys

66 mustang

Recommended Posts

Tracks 1. Hold On Loosely 2. First Time Around 3. Wild-Eyed Southern Boys 4. Back Alley Sally 5. Fantasy Girl 6. Hittin' And Runnin' 7. Honky Tonk Dancer 8. Throw Out The Line 9. Bring It On


The boys hit the big time here with this album. Album from 1980 that blends the southern rock style of their roots with a more polished arena sound just grabbed the listeners and the roller coster hit one of the "hold on" points. You all know the big hit here. A true story about Don's relationship going bad and if you hold on to someone too tight you smother them, you need to hold on loosely but don't let go. But this is not the only great song on here. Fantasy Girl was a small hit that is just fantastic plus you have the title track that is a concert fav. and was a single release. Album sounds ahead of its time

1. Hold On Loosely - what else needs to be said about this song? everyone knows it and it is a song that people know that never were even a thought of being alive even close to it's release date. just a transcendent song

2. First Time Around - Van Zant vocal, southern rockin song that is a fun rocker with twin guitar leads and Don's solo is fun and fits

3. Wild-eyed Southern Boy - dual lead vocals. Don and Donnie's vocals mesh great. A fun southern aor song. twin lead guitar's, dual drummers......a concert without this song can't happen

4. Back ally Salley - gets to a more pure southern rock sound here with DVZ on vocals. this is like a souther boogie styled song with great guitar sounds

5. Fantasy Girl - the other hit on the album and last of the trio of signature tunes from this album. A smooth AOR Don Barnes sung tune. Love this song and Dons vocals are so clean and clear

6. Hittin and Runnin - this is a bit of a different tough. this song could have went either way, a DVZ vocal or a Don vocal. Don takes lead on this and I find it hard to describe. not sothern and not pure aor. I guess it is a southern/aor hybrid that is an ok listen

7. Honky Tonk Dancer - getting some southern swagger back with this DVZ lead track. A fun lite boogie song

8. Throw Out The Line - another solid song to wind down the album. A DVZ sung tune that fits that southern sound on the album

9. Bring It On - DVZ bring the album to an nice close with this mid tempo southern rocker.


The band were still holding onto their southern roots hard here with Donnie haveng 5 out of the 9 lead vocals. this is a must have album from the guys. This and the next 2 we have the band at their peak

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • What a honey Gudrun Laos was and what a Killer track this is!    
    • I didn't say I didn't like it. It's a good album, but I guess after years of reading folks praise for it I built it up to be something more than it actually was. 
    • We already know you're a leftist idiot! Known all around these parts!
    • How are you guys letting horrible songs get into your head???
    • I'm surprised you didn't like it. That's a shame. 
    • It's a mystery alright, although how the band could okay this for release is an even bigger mystery. Also find it intresting that all of the reviews I've read have failed to mention the bizarre mixing and mastering of this record, which kinda makes you question their credibility as rock reviewers.   This I don't agree with at all. The thing that makes H.E.A.T the awesome band that they are is that they've never compromised with their sound or felt the urge to follow trends. We all know that they've could have gone the Dynazty route, making hard 'n' heavy records, that would probably have made them an even bigger and more popular band with the masses. Of course that's not what the fans want, and they know that. We want H.E.A.T to sound like H.E.A.T - and I think they've done a damn fine job of that on this record. I don't mind a bit of experimentation, like on Demon Eyes, as long as it's the exception and a temporarily deviation from the trademark sound. As for bangers, I do think there are some here, but they're all ruined to some degree by the poor mixing job. No, they don't reach the awesomeness of let's say "Dangerous Ground" or "Rock Your Body" from the last album, but stuff like "Nationwide", "Not For Sale", "Hold Your Fire" and "Wings Of An Aeroplane" come pretty damn close. Being the AOR fanatic I am, my main criticism with this band is always that I want them to be more AOR, like on the first 2-3 records. If you're looking for a direction, then this record is clearly a distinctive step away from that. They want to be pure melodic hard rock and not AOR, I think it's pretty clear. Truthfully it's been evident from "Tearing Down The Walls" and onward, but Force Majeure makes it even more evident that no change in that direction is very probable.   If there's anything that this album doesn't lack, it's guitars. The guitars are so loud in the mix that Kenny´s vocals are drowning in them. The album is unlistenable with good headphones, you have to play it through speakers or earphones to make it somewhat listenable.
    • You need to know who you are before trying to figure out who other people are.
    • I can work with Floor,  I like that Northward album she did with Jørn Viggo Lofstad.
    • Live performance  Honestly, I didn't care for this much upon first listen, but with each play I find it ear worming it's way into my skull...  Troy announced he was taking time off from touring last year, so I'm assuming that's still Steve Brown (Wild Mick Brown's brother)  on drums... Drummer Troy Luccketta to take time off the road and to be replaced by Steve Brown at Tesla shows - Sleaze Roxx
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.