Jump to content

Quietdrive - s/t


Recommended Posts

Well you could paint me surprised when I saw this pop up in yesterday's releases. These guys are one of my favourite modern rock bands and having loved their last CD, I had to hear this immediately. Here's the track list:


- 12 Young

- 11 Feel Alive

- 10 It Says Alot

- 09 The Good Book

- 08 Birthday

- 07 Fading Light

- 06 Body Out of Bed

- 05 Ces't La Vie

- 04 Days Go By

- 03 Always

- 02 Way Out

- 01 American Jeans


The first few songs are all very good, but come off sounding maybe a little "whipped", for lack of a better word. All very luvy-duvy type of stuff. Maybe a little "plain" for Quietdrive, imo. But still, all very nice songs. But then it's game on from track 5, 'Ces't La Vie' onwards. That track is stunning, as are most that follow afterwards with perhaps the exception of 'It says a lot' which is one of the weaker on the disc. Or 'The good book.' But the rest is superb. The new version of 'Birthday' is less quirky and arguably even better than the original. Loved that song from the moment I heard it and this new totally re-recorded version is great too.


If you loved the last 2 albums and 2009's great mini-album, this is essential. I think the thing I love about these guys is that they're not totally predictable. They play what appears to be a pretty simple style of modern rock, but always mix things up a bit. This new album will sit easily in my top 5 this year... nice save for a relatively slow year in modern rock.


Order here:



Listen here:


Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have the 2006 release When All That's Left Is You and if my memory serves me right (seldom) it was quite good. Otherwise I wouldn't have it in my collection :)

Maybe I should check out the new one...

Yeah, it's a good one. Their most basic, though, and be sure to check out 'Deliverance' from 2008 too. That was pure excellence.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • This one is really good honestly, 10 songs, pretty much all their big hits. Very concise.
    • I think most people know my stance on these two. I love LA Guns and think Tracii is one of the best guitarists to come out of the hair metal scene, and while I like Stryper I have really gone off them due to Michaels compulsion to release new material every second Wednesday. I have not bought the last 2 or 3 Stryper albums, and a bunch of other stuff he is involved in because of this. Hell, didnt even pick the first Sunbomb album up til early this year and only then it was because I got it for £5 instead of the usual £13 to £15 that Frontiers CDs usually cost. That album did not impress me. Musically it was tight but Sweets vocals were pretty "meh", and sounds like they are gonna be even worse on this album. Have to agree to what has already been said, but I can barely even understand what he is singing. Now while I am fine with listening to foreign language songs, if a singers native tongue is English, I wanna be able to understand what he is singing. Fuck me, there are death metal bands out there easier to understand than this. If I didnt know the song title, I would think it was called I'm bating bulls yeah
    • That Sunbomb release was soo bad that I can't believe there's gonna be another one.
    • Computer generated Gene is now God of Thunder 
    • Sorry, but those vocals are not good at all...
    • More info about Good Times Music: Welcome to Good Time Music…if you have found your way over here, it’s surely because you have a desire for melodic hard rock and AOR…or at least to satiety your curiosity, what we are all about . We will shortly announce our first signed band and one more will follow soon. We hope to be a landmark with the community and bring nothing but the best within the genres. To start off with we’ll release about 4 releases pr year. And with the love and support by you, the fans, we will hopefully gradually add to our rosters over the time to come. We will for sure be a force to be reckoned with and we are here to stay for good. Welcome onboard to all on this amazing journey we are about to engage in . Best, Carsten/CEO/President Good Time Music
    • It’s not a “you” problem; I could barely make out a word while listening to “Unbreakable” last night. A lyric video is definitely necessary when listening to MS these days. Still, even not having a clue what he was singing for the most part, this is better than pretty much everything off the first Shitbomb album. 
    • Enjoying this one, for defs their best release and they wear their influences firmly on their sleeves , mixing bands like Van Halen/Whitesnake/Treat/Pretty Maids/Magnum so whats not to like  
    • I didn't make the connection until a couple of days ago. This is the previous group of Tobias from Nestor.        
    • I miss the days when I could actually understand what Michael Sweet was singing.  Not sure if that's a "me" problem or a "Sweet" problem...
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.