Jump to content

seventh son-s/t


Recommended Posts

Found this at http://jam.canoe.ca/Music/Pop_Encyclopedia/S/Seventh_Son.html


Artist: Seventh Son




1 She's Insane 3:50

2 Going Downtown 4:16

3 Sticky Little Girl 2:58

4 She Got Me 3:58

5 Invaded 3:02

6 Hard Right 4:08

7 Someone Like Me 3:58

8 Head Over Heels 3:06

9 Skintight 3:18

10 You Don't Turn Me 3:21


Michael Zweig (guitar, vocals) Victor D'Arsie (keyboards) Anton Evans (bass) Terry Martell (drums)


Zweig and D'Arsie had played their share of Top-40 and classic rock cover bands in and around Toronto and were once members of Danny Brooks backing band when the were signed as The Knockouts to a record label that had folded before an album could be finished.


The studio drummer for those sessions was Terry Martell (Refugee) and at that point the three formed the idea of Seventh Son around 1987. They recruited bassist Anton Evans (David Quinton Band) and began demoing original material while working as the backing band for Lulu's Roadhouse in Kitchener which allowed the guys to hone their chops by being backing musicians for the likes of Bo Diddley, Fabian, The Platters and the late Del Shannon.


They were also finalists in the late '80's for battle of the bands contests held by both Q107 (The Homegrown Contest) and CFNY-FM (The Modern Music Search) before deciding to go for the brass ring. They approached producer Tim Thorney (Cassandra Vassik, The Front) and engineer Kevin Doyle (Alannah Myles, Amanda Marshall) to help them capture their magnetic live sound.


The tapes so impressed Jeff Burns at Justin Entertainment that he signed the act and released the album with a minimum of remixes. 'Seventh Son' was released in 1991 but did not fair well and the band was caught in the red-tape of Justin's bankruptcy.


The band members have gone on to other studio projects; Anton Evans released a solo album in the early '90's and currently plays with ex-members of Desparado and Wrabit in classic rock act The Hitmen; Michael Zweig released his second solo album, 'Candyland', on Pacemaker in the late '90s and is currently a member of The Carpet Frogs.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • Yeah, at the moment he's the only option for me here. A few guys I'm not really interested in and although EM was everywhere a few years ago, he definitely appears to have settled down recently. If anything, wouldn't mind seeing his name pop up a little more these days, though it's fine as is. 
    • I've been a bit let down by recent albums but the genuine anticipation I feel for new material from these guys means they must have done something right through the years. Would absolutely love it if they unexpectedly hit another homerun. 
    • Classless Act - Welcome to the Show Out of This World - Out of This World Within Temptation - The Unforgiving  The Black Sorrows - The Chosen Ones Horsehead - Onism i-TEN - Taking a Cold Look (Rock Candy remaster) Touch - Touch (Rock Candy remaster) Spys - Spys/Behind Enemy Lines (Renaissance double album reissue)  
    • Literally just added this one to the main site: https://heavyharmonies.com/cgi-bin/glamcd.cgi?BandNum=433&CDName=30 Coming In Hot&Letter=A  
    • Another greatest hits album! And even worse, live greatest hits: JACKYL : 30 Coming In Hot +3 New Tracks (2022) BY BANNED WEBSITE · PUBLISHED AUGUST 13, 2022   When many classic hard rock-related acts from their generation succumbed to trends, JACKYL has been strong & healthy for more than 3 decades. Now 2022 JACKYL are celebrating the 30th anniversary of their platinum debut album with the release of a new best-of collection titled ”30 Coming In Hot”. There has been a ‘best of’ from the band some years ago but this one is different: ”30 Coming In Hot” includes their best songs this time performed live, where they truly showcase their power, plus 3 brand new studio tracks. JACKYL earned two Guinness Book of World Records citations and the designation “The Hardest Working Band in Rock ‘N’ Roll” for performing 100 shows in 50 days as well as 21 shows in 24 hours. Yeah, JACKYL born to play live, and ”30 Coming In Hot” is really ‘hot’ indeed. Very well recorded, mixed & produced, the set is very, very good and entertaining, and you have 3 new songs to enjoy as well. Highly Recommended   01 – Another Round (New Studio Track) 02 – Get All Up in It (New Studio Track) 03 – Bad Decision (New Studio Track) 04 – Blastoff (Live) 05 – My Moonshine Kicks Your Cocaine’s Ass (Live) 06 – Encore (Live) 07 – Screwdriver (Live) 08 – Down On Me (Live) 09 – Push Comes to Shove (Live) 10 – Just Because I’m Drunk (Don’t Mean You’re Right) (Live) 11 – Secret of the Bottle (Live) 12 – I Stand Alone (Live) 13 – When Will it Rain (Live) 14 – Dirty Little Mind (Live) 15 – Redneck Punk (Live) 16 – Cut the Crap (Live) 17 – The Lumberjack (Live) Jesse James Dupree – Vocals, Guitar Jeff Worley – Guitar Chris Worley – Drums, Percussion Roman Glick – Bass   BUY www.amazon.com/Jackyl-30-Coming-Hot/dp/B0B5N9T45Y
    • I have no real opinion on the band's schtick. I do have an opinion on their earlier albums - they contained a lot of good songs. The last few... not so. Hope they can pull something out here but expectations aren't high
    • There’s bound to be an ADV fan somewhere 😂
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.