Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hi Heavy Harmonizers,


The world of AOR rock has now entered a landmark. Its common knowledge that many songs, including rock songs, have been written specifically for movie soundtracks. Everything I Do (I Do For You) by Bryan Adams (Robin Hood Prince of Thieves) and I Dont Wanna Miss a Thing by Aerosmith (Armageddon) are two of the more famous examples.


Many songs have been written about books, usually classic novels, retrospectively. However, until now, there has never been a song written, specifically for a novel as the book was being written.


This is our story.


In 2010, I wrote an action thriller novel entitled Hold On!, a project that was driven by my growing stack of AOR CDs. I took the books title from the most often-used song title in the AOR genre. This was then followed by a sequel, Go! Hold On! Season 2 (the title Go! inspired by the song by Asia), and finally, Run! Hold On! Season 3. Hold On! reached #1 on Amazon on May 29th, 2015, and to critical acclaim.


Purely for fun, I created the Hold On! soundtrack video, containing snippets of the tracks that had inspired the story, and put it on Youtube. One of the songs was Highway of Love by Shining Line:



In August, 2015. one week after the release of Run!, I was contacted on Facebook by Pierpaolo Zorro11 Monti, the mastermind behind Shining Line, Charming Grace, and guest artist on Room Experience, Lionville, and Moonland. Blown away that one of his songs had been an inspiration for my book, Pierpaolo proposed he wanted to write, record, and produce the official theme song for my next book. I eagerly accepted.


Pierpaolo then told me hed managed to poach Nick Workman, the lead singer of VEGA to sing duet on the track. With that, I signed on as executive producer.


Subsequently, Nick and I met up and shared stories. My harrowing stories about the publishing world inspired his song, White Flag, which became the lead single from VEGAs fourth album, Who We Are:



In May, 2016, we finally settled on a scene from the new book - a spin-off sequel to the Hold On! Trilogy entitled Hold On! Tomorrow, as the template for the song.


I am proud to announce our song Gotta Get Away by Charming Grace (feat. Nick Workman) the official theme track for my book, Hold On! Tomorrow. This is a slice of classic arena rock, categorized by an infectious melody, a huge chorus, keys, and masterful guitar playing. It also marks Charming Graces first new song in three years.


Gotta Get Away appears on the album We Still Rock The Compilation, due for release on October 3rd from Tanzan Music:




An official video for the song is currently in development. For now, heres the temporary version, featuring our amazing cast of performers, and scenes from the book to which the song relates. We hope you enjoy it:



Peter Darley

(Pee Dee)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Interesting idea, one I wouldn't have considered. Most people link music with videos, movies, TV shows, or events.


Next step is to do an album corresponding to a book, where each song ties to a chapter... :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Interesting idea, one I wouldn't have considered. Most people link music with videos, movies, TV shows, or events.


Next step is to do an album corresponding to a book, where each song ties to a chapter... :)

That idea is in the pipeline already - not my book, but one by . . . let's say - someone you all know. ;)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Fuck me, he is off on one again: https://rockcelebrities.net/michael-sweet-stryper-is-the-most-hated-band-of-all-time/ Just a few comments that make me cringe: “We may very well be the most ‘hated’ band of all time but we’ve persevered and we’re still here. We are The Yellow & Black Attack. We are Stryper.” Now I am sure there are bigger bands out there who have more haters than Stryper ever had. Whether this is for right or wrong reasons, Nickleback, U2 and Coldplay spring to mind as bands that have got more hate than Stryper over the years, and they mostly ignore it because they choose to acknowledge the millions who do love them rather than cry about those that hate them. “When I listen to Stryper (as an outsider and as unbiased as I possibly can be) I can hear some pretty cool stuff going on. And at the risk of sounding egotistical, I think Oz and I are one of the better guitar duos to have cranked those Mesas up and harmonize in the studio and on stage. I don’t know, maybe I’m just dreaming and we do suck. Oh well, if this is what ‘sucking’ looks and sounds like, I’ll take it.” How can you ever listen to your own music as an unbiased outsider? The guy is blatantly so thin skinned that he just cannot accept some people just do not like his music, or do not like overly preachy christian music. I have said before on here, I really like Stryper and some of Michaels projects outside of the band, but I have had serious burn out on anything he releases just because he releases way too fucking much. And his attitude has seriously turned me off of supporting him. I have not bought the last few Stryper albums. There are a couple of solo albums I am missing. Didn't buy the last Sweet & Lynch. And I only bought the first Sunbomb when it was mega cheap recently. The quality is hit or miss, which I think is down to him going for quantity over quality.  
    • Yeah will look forward to this also   £16 shipping!! I'll wait for a UK seller to stock  
    • Another band that really is not the band it is pretending to be
    • There seems to be no other takers, so here's the solution highlighted.     
    • Dodges Vs Diamondbacks. With this organist playing while car burns.  
    • I quite like this album. Best songs for me are Straight Up Jack, Nobody Gets Out Alive and Southside of Hell.  Score: 4 out of 6. 
    • New song 'Ghost In Me'.    
    • This cd is listed twice as Heard It on the Radio - Volume 1 and Heard It on the Radio Volume 1 and with two different covers 
    • Seems like it would be right up your alley. I'm enjoying the album immensely. French group.            
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.