Jump to content

.38 Special - Resolution

66 mustang

Recommended Posts

Tracks 1. Fade to Blue 2. Just Can't Leave You Alone 3. Deja Voodoo 4. Find My Way Back 5. Changed by Love 6. After the Fire Is Gone 7. Miracle Man 8. Shelter Me 9. Homeless Guitar 10. Saving Grace 11. She Loves to Talk 12. Trouble 13.

Shatter the Silence


So, what to say about this? I guess it is the 4 era of the band. first is the pure southern rock sound of the first 2. second is the hit's filled 80's. third would be the switch in singers and now this, Don is back in the band. Gone is the polished 38 Special that had a string of hits in the 80's, replaced with a bit more stripped down sound. Don's vocals start to show some wear and tear here and with Jeff not in the band it seems to be missing some magic although Carlisi does have some writing credits on the album. Not to say it is a bad album but different. Funny, when I pull out the cd and open the booklet I still have the reciept from Blockbuster Music. Seems I bought 2 cd that day, This one and Paul Rodgers NOW cd. $30.36 for both cd's purchaced 6/17/97 at 12:58pm. I can remember going to Kingsport with the top down, geetting the cd's. I even know where I stopped to eat lunch at that day, it was a little barbque place down town.


1. Fade To Blue - is an ok opening track that lets you know this is going to be a little different. stripped down a little, not as bombastic as other opening / hit singles.

2. Just Can't Leave You Alone - I do really like this. stripped down sounding song that is a pure "STALKER" song.

3. Deja VooDoo - This southern rocker is a split lead vocal with Van Zant and Barnes trading back and forth. first kicking song on the album. at this point you see that Van Zant's vocals have held up better over the years.

4. Find My Way Back - another stripped back mid tempo song that is good but misses the classic sound

5. Changed By Love - a fantastic song. an inward looking song that takes you on a journey of someone growing up becoming a better man and what changed him. ro be honest it even has some religious overtones in the lyrics.

6. After The Fire Is Gone - This Van Zant led firecracker of a song is what you expect from the band for the most part. a good solid rocker with writing credit also being given to little bro Johnny

7. Miracle Man - what a great song. This is almost classic 38 Special. If the start of the song was a bit more polished it would fit in with any of the mid 80's albums.

8. Shelter Me - an ok song. If I'm in short on time this is one that I'd hit the skip button on. a bit more acoustic based styled song

9. Homeless Guitar - Van Zant led southern rock song. what you expect and one of my fav's on the album. "I use this six string like an archer weilds his bow. I believe when the arrow finds its mark it pierces the soul" "I know how it feels to be judged at a glance"

10. Saving Grace - you go from one of the most southern rock sounding song to one of the softest songs. it is a very pretty song. "you are my saving grace. you are the light of a love ever lasting. I find a hiding place in your arms, my one and only saving grace"

11. She Loves To Talk - Van Zant led kind of boogie styled song. nice to hear the band still do this kind of song

12. Trouble - another Van Zant led rock song. big bass groove sound to start this off. ane of the kind of mid tempo rockin guitar driven songs found on the mid 80's album

13. Shatter The Silence - Don closes out the album with a high speed mid tempo kind of song that dot's the album. it is an ok song to close out the album.














Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Cool song. If ADV is strictly hired to play keys, it should be fine. 
    • Ooh, nice!  I'll have to revisit the first album. 
    • Ugh... I hate you so much. You know I hate you, right? ;} I've never seen either iteration. 
    • These are sounding pretty good. 
    • New album out April 26th. SiX By SiX, the progressive power trio comprising Ian Crichton (Saga), Nigel Glockler (Saxon) and Robert Berry (3.2), are pleased to announce the release of their sophomore album ‘Beyond Shadowland’ on InsideOutMusic on 26th April 2024. The band reconvened in Berry’s own Soundtek Studios in the San Francisco Bay Area in 2023 to bend, shape, hammer and caress their diverse musical talents into 11 impressive new tracks.  With this album, they continue to define and build upon their unique melodic space, welding guitar-driven rock, metal and prog into a unique and powerful sonic setting. Tracks: 1. Wren 2. The Arms of a Word 3. Can’t Live Like This 4. Obiliex 5. Only You Can Decide 6. Titans 7. Outside Looking In 8. Spectre 9. Sympathise 10. One Step 11. The Mission Vinyl-only bonus tracks: 1. SiX By SiX Orchestra Medley 2. The Arms of a Word (Instrumental) 3. Honor Bridge 4. The Mission (Instrumental)    
    • Press release: Newman are pleased to announce the follow up to 2021’s ”Into The Monsters’ Playground”, the UK Melodic Rock band was formed back in 1997 by Steve Newman and quickly gained a great reputation after releasing their debut, and subsequent ”One Step Closer” albums. A string of high quality releases have ensued throughout the last 20 years insuring a strong and loyal following. Highly respected by fans and fellow musicians alike, this new album will add to the bands great legacy and underline the reason why Newman are considered to be one of the UK’s top Melodic Rock artists. The new album tentatively titled ”Colour In Sound” will be the bands 14th studio album and will be released through AOR BLVD Records in May. Artwork will be revealed soon as well as the first single accompanied by a video in the next few weeks, watch this space.
    • Imagine a world where Andrew Wood didn’t die and Mother Love Bone was still creating awesome music!
    • “My Icarian Flight” featuring the one and only ADV 😜  
    • lol, this was my thought process too. What about Confess?! I like both bands, but not at the expense of one of them. 
    • I do have to give him credit for sounding exactly the same as he did in 1989...
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.