Jump to content

Big Trouble - 20 Years and a Million Beers Ago (2022)


Recommended Posts

BIG TROUBLE – The Very Best Of; 20 Years And A Million Beers Ago [Retrospect Records]

Various Sources - PUBLISHED JANUARY 23, 2023


BIG TROUBLE - The Very Best Of; 20 Years And A Million Beers Ago - full

Put together by Retrospect Records, “20 Years And A Million Beers Ago” compiles “The Very Best Of” BIG TROUBLE”, the Atlanta, GA, hard rock band that made some noise between 1990 and 1992.

Besides opening for such acts as Extreme, Skid Row, Bulletboys, Jackyl and many more, Big Trouble was selling out shows around the city and Southeast all by themselves.

Big Trouble built a large following and looked to be on their way to the heights of the Rock world. Then a little song called Smells Like Teen Spirit took over the radio and hair metal was soon relegated to retrospectives by a new generation of rock fans.

Two decades on, all four members of Big Trouble are making music in various capacities, but thought it would be neat to dust off the old masters and see what they had.

The result is “20 Years And A Million Beers Ago”, a collection of studio and previously unreleased live tracks from the band’s heyday, and one newly recorded track that looks back on it all with a decidedly different sound.

This is pure early ’90s party-hard rock akin Trixter, Warrant, Damn Yankees… fun stuff.

BIG TROUBLE - The Very Best Of; 20 Years And A Million Beers Ago - booklet

After a short intro, the CD opens with “No Stopping Now” featuring a big guitar sound and full frontal vocals characteristic of ’80s hair metal / American melodic hard rock. The band rocks out in grand fashion with catchy choruses.

One of my favorites is “Way Out”, sounding like a wayward cross of Poison and Van Halen. Released four years earlier on a major label, this song would have been a huge hit for the band.

Big Trouble revives such fan favorites as “You Might Get Lucky”, “Now You See Me”, “Hot Shot” and “Seeing Is Believing” along the way.
Additionally the band shows its chops on power ballads with “Accidental Angel”, while “Lost In Your Love” takes another crack at the style in midtempo mode.

The disc closes with a new track, “Popcorn, Whiskey, And Beer”, some kind of a sonic departure, more of an acoustic organic rock number that reflects musical growth and change in the individual members over the last two decades. It’s an ode to glory days and the sustenance of the time.

BIG TROUBLE - The Very Best Of; 20 Years And A Million Beers Ago - back

Big Trouble includes, as a bonus, three live songs recorded at Avondale Town Cinema / August 1991. “Candyland” is a pleasant surprise, sounding radio ready for the day and perhaps even now. The band’s cover of Van Halen’s “Somebody Get Me A Doctor” is middle of the road, but buoyed by a wealth of enthusiasm.
A quite good band that deserved better luck, but never it’s too late…

01 – Circus
02 – No Stopping Now
03 – You Might Get Lucky
04 – Falling out of Loving
05 – Take Me
06 – Now You See Me
07 – Way Out
08 – Upside Down
09 – Accidental Angel
10 – Hot Shot
11 – Lost in Your Love
12 – Seeing Is Believing
13 – Popcorn, Whiskey, And Beer [new track]
EXTRA TRACKS (Live 1991):
14 – Intro by Brian Greathouse of 96Rock WKLS Atlanta
15 – Candyland
16 – Life Rolls By
17 – Somebody Get Me a Doctor

James Schmitt – Vocals
Mike Wilkes – Guitars
Dan Call – Bass
Chuck Strawhand – Drums



Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Try the first 3...s/t , One Step Closer , Dance In The Fire...but they do have a couple of best of's...Decade I & II...as you say the studio albums contain filler but some good quality stuff also.
    • FOREIGNER’s MICK JONES issues statement: “Fans will have become very aware that for some time now, I have not been performing onstage with the band. A number of years ago I was diagnosed with Parkinson's disease. I want everyone to know that I am doing alright, however, l've always liked to be at my best when performing onstage, and sadly at present find that a bit difficult. I'm still very much involved in the background with Foreigner and remain a presence. Parkinson's is a daily struggle; several of my friends are also dealing with the disease. The important thing is to persevere with the loving support of my family, and remind myself of the wonderful career l've had in music. I thank all the fans who have supported Foreigner throughout the years and continue to attend our concerts. Please know I appreciate your support; it always means so very much to me, especially so at this point in my life.”
    • Does anyone have some recommendations on where to start with this band? It seems like every album I try listening to has some good songs but also a lot of filler...
    • Good news, I really like Confess :-)
    • Great band and they've been on fire since they got this vocalist but that's not a great choice for a single IMO. It just kind of meanders along.
    • Good call. He's a bloody good keyboard maestro let's be fair.
    • Vinyl only bonus tracks pisses me off. Why? A cd could fit the bonus tracks far easier. Jerks. I'm annoyed about that.
    • New song 'Defiance' from the album of the same name.    
    • John says he is still in Confess as well.  This was posted on the Confess FB page about an hour ago: TO CLARIFY SOME STUFF!   Yes, i've joined forces with Crashdiet, which feels very exciting indeed. With that being said, I’m still very much a part of confess. Confess is my high school Rock'n roll band that i sang in for the past 15 years and i have no intentions of leaving or changing that. We're currently working on new music and hopefully have something new to show you guys pretty soon.   // John Elliot https://www.facebook.com/confessofsweden?mibextid=JRoKGi
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.