Jump to content

Devoid - Lonely Eye Movement


Recommended Posts



From Frontiers:

Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the upcoming release of French melodic metal band Devoid's second album, "Lonely Eye Movement" on October 15, 2021.

"The music was written with Jorris Guilbaud and me and Carsten [Schulz] wrote the lyrics. It's a song about the horror of dealing with depression, trying to make your way through every single day. It doesn't matter at all what others might tell you about what or who you are, the struggle never stops. We wanted to give a melancholic atmosphere to these songs, but we wanted to leave hope at the end," says guitarist Shad Mae of the album's title track.

Of the album's overall sound, Shad continues, "the idea was to achieve the perfect mix between my heaviest influences (Evergrey, Devin Townsend, Soilwork, etc.) and AOR bands I like (Winger, White Heart, Giant, Strangeways, etc.) and to produce an album which is very catchy and timeless."

Devoid's second album overall, “Lonely Eye Movement” is a huge step forward for the band and the perfect vehicle to introduce them to a larger international audience. Coming four years after their debut album, “Cup of Tears”, musically, the band develops the melodic and slightly progressive sound of the debut and makes "Lonely Eye Movement" perfectly suited for fans of hard hitting, but very melodic metal.

Devoid is the brainchild of French guitarist extraordinaire Shad Mae. Combining technical finesse and outstanding arrangements with extremely memorable choruses and hooks, Devoid is rounded out by powerhouse German vocalist Carsten 'Lizard' Schulz (Evidence One, Book of Reflections), guitarist Gwen Kerjan, keyboardist Jorris Guilbaud, bassist Geoffrey Shob Neau, and drummer Benjamin Lesous.

The band came to the attention of the label when they submitted their music via the label's Frontiers & Beyond website (https://www.frontiersandbeyond.com) and instantly caught the label staff's ears with their hooky, melodic style.



1. Lonely Eye Movement

2. Man Without Fear

3. Impostor

4. Destination Heaven

5. Waiting For The Storm

6. In The Absence Of Holiness

7. Mirror Maze

8. Hands Of Salvation

9. Stroboscope Life

10. Martial Hearts

11. Wood And Wind



Carsten 'Lizard' Schulz - Vocals

Shad Mae - Guitars

Gwen Kerjan - Guitars

Jorris Guilbaud - Keyboards

Geoffrey 'Shob' Neau - Bass

Benjamin Lesous - Drums





Edited by Stefan
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.