Jump to content

Dog & Pony Show

Doghouse Reilly

Recommended Posts

This is for MetalllianStallion. The rest of y'al can feel free to ignore.


FIrst off, dude, I guess I'm flattered to be "deputized" (Deputy Doghouse) by somebody who's done his own fair share of policing the comments section of HH through the years. That you would see fit to pin your tin star on me is a real honor.


Reckless Love: I'm aware that 'gay" is often slang for "lame" or "stupid." I've even done it myself (see Maestro Alex Gregory, Priscilla, Michael Bolton). Why not? I was a teenager once too. There is actually a scholarly tome about the patterns of communication in adolescent boys called "Dude, You're A Fag." But you often to amplify it with references to gerbils and Bruce Jenner, which would seem to take things beyond mere lameness and stupidity. So it's somehow become this noble thing to be "politically incorrect," which itself is too often used as a euphemism for ignorant and unthinking. But then when it comes to religion ...


Satanic Rites: I understood what you meant in your first comment on that CD, that the band's name was ludicrously out of step with its music. I said so at the time, and even joked back (keyboards as the instruments of the devil). Next thing you know, you're proselytizing at me about the connections between musical performance and demonic possession. I was waiting fo rthe part about backward-masking. There was even that time you wagged the finger at some guy with 777 in his handle, and how his language wasn't befitting somebody sporting J.C.'s jersey number. But yes, I was using the more general definition of "theology" (in fact, this is the first I've heard of the word being strictly limited to Christian belief systems--does this make the phrase "Christian theology" redundant?) You don't have to justify your faith to me; frankly, I'm not really interested. As for my "blood and semen" comment on BrutalMetal, I think the post you're referring to was specifically related to a concept album based on the Jack The Ripper murders--again, as I said in the very same comment. Nothing religious about it, other than Jack's speculated desire to punish prostitutes for their evil ways. In fact, I don't believe I've posted on very many truly satanic bands on BM, much less in praise of their ideology. I frequent that site because I'm increasingly bored with the desperate '80's revivalism and treacly pop-rock on HH, rather than an affinity for any kind of "lifestyle" of any of the bands.


Does this clear anything up?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • 2023 HH Donation Drive

    Please support Heavy Harmonies! The donations goal is the out-of-pocket expenses to run the main site and this board for calendar year 2023.

    86% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Posts

    • From Escape Music: Escape Music is delighted to announce the release date for the long-awaited Robert Hart fourth studio album title “Circus Life”.   Limited Edition Vinyl in “Green Leaves” colour (500 all numbered 001 to 500), also will include hand signed postcard by Robert Hart.   Release date: 26th Jan 2024   1-  Overdrive (3:56) 2- Stone Heart (4:41) 3- Blame it on me (3:32) 4- I’m on your side (5:05) 5- I’ll Take the bullet (4:08) 6- Lay me down easy (4:23) 7- Right here, right now (3:51) 8- Too much time on my hands (5:07) 9- Bring on Tomorrow (4:24) 10- That was the day (4:26) 11- The wrong side of love (4:29) 12- The time of our lives (4:13)   Robert Hart – Vocals (Solo / Bad Company / Manfred Mann / Diesel)   And featuring: Steve Morris (Heartland / Lonerider / Ian Gillan) Steve Overland (FM / Lonerider / solo) Robert Sall (Work of Art / WET) Steve Mann (MSG / Ousey Mann / Lionheart) Chris Childs (Thunder / Tyketto / Lonerider) Harry James (Thunder / Shadowman) Keith Atack (Atack / Bonnie Tyler)   Robert Hart is a much-loved British vocalist and has been involved with many top acts over the years such as Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, Bad Company and The Jones Gang. He is also remembered for his fine solo albums, more recently “Pure” which was released by Escape music in 2020.   Robert has such a versatile vocal range and can adapt his vocals to many types of rock music, such as AOR, Hard Rock and Blues rock and he has demonstrated this admirably on many occasions since the 1980’s. This is no exception.   “Circus Life” also features many musicians and songwriters such as Steve Overland and Steve Morris who actually wrote the songs we have on show here. The style of “Circus Life” is an extension of what Robert gave us for the “Pure” album but this new recording tops even that. We have bags of melody and some excellent musicianship, as you would expect for such a line-up. If you like Bad Company then you are not going to be disappointed with these 12 tracks.   Both on CD and limited-edition vinyl this is a fine start to 2024.
    • From Pride & Joy Music: SIGNING ANNOUNCEMENT! Pride & Joy Music is happy to announce the addition of Norwegian Glam influenced Hard Rock & Metal band Notörious to its roster! NOTÖRIOUS will release their second album "Marching On" worldwide by January 19th 2024 on Pride & Joy Music! "Marching On" is a continuation of the anthemic heavy metal heard on their debut album "Glamorized" (2020). It is full of catchy tunes that will make you want to party all night! Although the album is deeply rooted in classic rock and glammy heavy metal, NOTÖRIOUS includes a sub-genre of which their native home of Bergen, Norway is known for; black metal - creating their own spin to the genre; "True Norwegian Glam Metal" on the title track. It is clear that NOTÖRIOUS has evolved into a different beast with "Marching On", delivering a more raw, honest and less polished live sound. A pure rock & roll album at its core but with a vigalant attitude - exactly what you need. "Marching On" was recorded and mixed at Polyfon Studio by Leif Herland, and mastered by Rhys Marsh.   Tracklist: 1. Intro 2. Manimal 3. All Night 4. Ain’t No Stoppin (feat. Mark Boals) 5. Ten Minutes 6. Eternal Fire 7. Remember You 8. Venom 10. Marching On (feat. Henrik Skar)      
    • No song, just a great line that made me laugh.  I just heard Bill Maher describe Jesus as a "nepo baby".
    • Bargain. Should be able to onsell that lot for a tidy profit.
    • Christina Chong (La’an from Star Trek: Strange New Worlds) - Fck U 4 Xmas Age restricted, so you gotta be signed in 😉
    • Awesome news.  Boy!!! Mick Brown's son looking more like his dad.
    • Not for those who don't like harsh vocals, but it's interesting hearing the different vocal characteristics against one another. Simple but effective video too.  
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.