Jump to content

Absolva - Never A Good Day To Die


Recommended Posts





From absolva.com:


ABSOLVA is a British metal band, an inspired & modern take on the proud traditions of this genre. Formed in May 2012 by Chris Appleton & Martin McNee (both of Fury UK).

Chris & Martin had worked together since October 2007 as part of successful metal trio Fury UK, a band which had established itself at the forefront of the UK scene. From inception to May 2012, Fury UK, signed to Rocksector Records, released 3 albums, 1 EP & 1 DVD. The band also toured UK & Europe extensively as a headline act, played Bloodstock, Hammerfest & PPM Festivals, & toured as guests with Iced Earth, Saxon, Y&T, Michael Schenker & Blaze Bayley. When Fury UK bassist Luke Appleton (brother of Chris) joined American powerhouse metallers Iced Earth, Fury UK was put on hold whilst Chris & Martin decided to form Absolva. For background info on Fury UK visit www.furyuk.com

Bassist Dan Bate & 2nd lead guitarist Tom Atkinson joined & amid a wave of expectation a debut show was played at SOS Festival on 22nd July 2012 to a resounding welcome, closely followed by 4 shows in August with Iced Earth - Dublin, Belfast, Glasgow & Bloodstock Open Air.

A debut album "Flames Of Justice" was released on 5th November along with a 16 date headline tour including a special show at London Underworld, a Manchester album launch & various other shows in the UK & Europe. The "Flames Of Justice" Tour : Part Two took place February-May 2013 & totalled 33 shows including UK & European headline shows plus Hammerfest, plus 8 European dates as special guests on the Michael Schenker Temple Of Rock & Lovedrive Reunion Tour. During that tour Tom Atkinson left the band due to a self-confessed incompatibility with touring life & Luke Appleton (Iced Earth / Fury UK) covered on guitar for 9 shows short term, after which Absolva became a 3 piece.

Following a number of UK & European festival shows Absolva embarked on a further European Tour entitled "Beyond Live" to mark & promote the release of a live DVD & CD of the same name, recorded at the sell-out headline show at Wizzfest, Belgium earlier in 2013.

At the end of 2013 a brand new studio album was recorded. "Anthems To The Dead" was released on 5th May 2014 & includes guest performances from Doug Scarratt of Saxon & Luke Appleton of Iced Earth. During March & April the 3 members of Absolva formed the backing band for former Iron Maiden vocalist Blaze Bayley on his 6 week European Tour. Absolva then played a 16-date UK tour during May 2014, whilst an extensive European tour followed in September & October.

At the beginning of August 2014 bassist Dan Bate reluctantly left the band as he felt unable to devote himself 100% ongoing, & once again Luke Appleton stepped in as short term cover. Luke played all Absolva's tour dates from 4th August until the completion of the European Tour on 25th October 2014. On 8th September Absolva announced new permanent bassist Karl Schramm who starts with the band from 26th October onwards.

On 17th December 2014 Absolva announced its' first tour of 2015, with Luke Appleton of Iced Earth again guesting, but this time on 2nd lead guitar in a 4-piece line-up.

The band entered the studio in July-August 2015 to record a 3rd studio album entitled "Never A Good Day To Die", set for release on 12th October. A European Tour is booked for October-November.


Chris Appleton : Guitar & Lead Vocals

Luke Appleton : Guitar & Backing Vocals

Martin Mcnee : Drums

Karl Schramm : Bass & Backing Vocals



Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...
  • 1 year later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • Yeah, at the moment he's the only option for me here. A few guys I'm not really interested in and although EM was everywhere a few years ago, he definitely appears to have settled down recently. If anything, wouldn't mind seeing his name pop up a little more these days, though it's fine as is. 
    • I've been a bit let down by recent albums but the genuine anticipation I feel for new material from these guys means they must have done something right through the years. Would absolutely love it if they unexpectedly hit another homerun. 
    • Classless Act - Welcome to the Show Out of This World - Out of This World Within Temptation - The Unforgiving  The Black Sorrows - The Chosen Ones Horsehead - Onism i-TEN - Taking a Cold Look (Rock Candy remaster) Touch - Touch (Rock Candy remaster) Spys - Spys/Behind Enemy Lines (Renaissance double album reissue)  
    • Literally just added this one to the main site: https://heavyharmonies.com/cgi-bin/glamcd.cgi?BandNum=433&CDName=30 Coming In Hot&Letter=A  
    • Another greatest hits album! And even worse, live greatest hits: JACKYL : 30 Coming In Hot +3 New Tracks (2022) BY BANNED WEBSITE · PUBLISHED AUGUST 13, 2022   When many classic hard rock-related acts from their generation succumbed to trends, JACKYL has been strong & healthy for more than 3 decades. Now 2022 JACKYL are celebrating the 30th anniversary of their platinum debut album with the release of a new best-of collection titled ”30 Coming In Hot”. There has been a ‘best of’ from the band some years ago but this one is different: ”30 Coming In Hot” includes their best songs this time performed live, where they truly showcase their power, plus 3 brand new studio tracks. JACKYL earned two Guinness Book of World Records citations and the designation “The Hardest Working Band in Rock ‘N’ Roll” for performing 100 shows in 50 days as well as 21 shows in 24 hours. Yeah, JACKYL born to play live, and ”30 Coming In Hot” is really ‘hot’ indeed. Very well recorded, mixed & produced, the set is very, very good and entertaining, and you have 3 new songs to enjoy as well. Highly Recommended   01 – Another Round (New Studio Track) 02 – Get All Up in It (New Studio Track) 03 – Bad Decision (New Studio Track) 04 – Blastoff (Live) 05 – My Moonshine Kicks Your Cocaine’s Ass (Live) 06 – Encore (Live) 07 – Screwdriver (Live) 08 – Down On Me (Live) 09 – Push Comes to Shove (Live) 10 – Just Because I’m Drunk (Don’t Mean You’re Right) (Live) 11 – Secret of the Bottle (Live) 12 – I Stand Alone (Live) 13 – When Will it Rain (Live) 14 – Dirty Little Mind (Live) 15 – Redneck Punk (Live) 16 – Cut the Crap (Live) 17 – The Lumberjack (Live) Jesse James Dupree – Vocals, Guitar Jeff Worley – Guitar Chris Worley – Drums, Percussion Roman Glick – Bass   BUY www.amazon.com/Jackyl-30-Coming-Hot/dp/B0B5N9T45Y
    • I have no real opinion on the band's schtick. I do have an opinion on their earlier albums - they contained a lot of good songs. The last few... not so. Hope they can pull something out here but expectations aren't high
    • There’s bound to be an ADV fan somewhere 😂
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.