Jump to content

Scott Weiland & The Wildabouts - Blaster (2015) and sad news


Recommended Posts

Former Stone Temple Pilots and Velvet Revolver's new band:


from 0dayrox2: http://0dayrox2.blogspot.com/2015/03/SCOTT-WEILAND-and-the-WILDABOUTS-Blaster-2015-Stone-Temple-Pilots-Velvet-Revolver.html


Although blessed with a long and successful career fronting mega bands like Stone Temple Pilots and Velvet Revolver, it can seem that Scott Weiland's extra-curricular activities have somewhat overshadowed his musical contributions but it cannot be denied that there is a reason for his longevity and popularity (44 million albums sold so far).

2015, he is back with SCOTT WEILAND and the WILDABOUTS, and their debut CD "Blaster" released yesterday.

With a varied collection of solo efforts under his belt already, Weiland wanted a 'real band sound' and formed The Wildabouts, aiming to obtain, described by the man himself, a 'rocking... sexy... furry' output.

There is no doubt that "Blaster" stylistically fits into the works of Stone Temple Pilots but it has added fuzz and a dirty retro sound that conjures images of beautiful people in packed clubs getting hot and steamy.

I think 'glam' is the best word to paint Weiland & The Wildabouts sound: Stone Temple Pilots blended with a quite rocking retro glam style.


The funked up envelope filter riff of 'Modzilla' and 'Way She Moves' set the tone for "Blaster", dirty riffs coupled with sweet backing vocals and Weiland's unmistakable voice taking the reins.

'Amethyst' starts with a dreamy intro morphing into a driving rocker that features a cool echo-drenched guitar solo courtesy of Jeremy Brown. He and the other Wildabouts, bassist Tommy Black and drummer Danny Thompson keep things tight but free enough to put groove in these tunes, and producer Rick Parker (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club) captures the energy and emotion well.

In fact, The Wildabouts sound great, tight, and grand part the reason these songs sound so nicely.

The songwriting is pretty strong and even at its prettiest Weiland's pop nous keeps it on the right side of sweet for 'Blue Eyes' and only dips into the saccharin once on 'Beach Pop'.

The mentioned glam influence is present on the cover of T. Rex's '20th Century Boy', and the more modern sounding 'White Lightning', one of the best tracks on the album for me.


As alluded to by the cover art of a retro boombox, "Blaster" is a record that rocks pretty good, combining STP melodies with a clear nod to Seventies glam. If you liked Scott Weiland 'sober' era, this one does not disappoints.

In a macabre twist of fate, "Blaster" will be remembered in years to come by a sad event: The Wildabouts' guitarist Jeremy Brown passed away yesterday - the day the band's debut album "Blaster" was released. R.I.P.

01 - Modzilla
02 - Way She Moves
03 - Hotel Rio
04 - Amethyst
05 - White Lightning
06 - Blue Eyes
07 - Bleed Out
08 - Youth Quake
09 - Beach Pop
10 - Parachute
11 - 20Th Century Boy
12 - Circles

Scott Weiland - vocals
Jeremy Brown - guitars (RIP)
Tommy Black - bass
Danny Thompson - drums




Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • Ya, when I saw the teaser on fuckbook, I was shocked…such a great surprise.  Hope it’s a great song!
    • Not stellar, but candidly waaaay better than I was expecting.
    • Not going to disagree with this. They've really not changed their sound much across their discography. Either you like it or you don't.
    • New single 'Apocalypse Blues' out tomorrow    
    • Not quite sure about this one. The new (?) songs are good and the re-works of the 'Riot Avenue' songs do sound better than the originals (there is a but coming). 'Sword And Stone' is okay but should have been left in Bonfire's very capable hands. This version pales significantly compared to that one.  Anyway, I guess the idea of the re-recordings is decent here. For the most part the production sounds better, but, there's a problem. And without being a sound guru, I'm not sure exactly what it is. There is what I believe is an issue with the treble area in the final sound, most noticeable in the first song. I don't know the exact way to explain this stuff, but the best way to describe it is that it sounds like a well produced album, at a really low bitrate. Instead of 320kbps it just sounds like it's coming through the speakers at 64kbps... even at a high bitrate. Irritating and something I can't shake, but there's good bits to it too.    
    • I loved this dude's first two post-Idol albums. It's pure pop rock, but I still absolutely love songs such as this; Sadly, for me, everything since those first two albums has been some kind of variation of a train wreck. The Quiet Riot stuff was a mess and this type of metal he's churning out now - I regret to say - is just painful to my ears. Lyrically, he may as well be singing about pasta on train tracks with a side of tree branch for all I can connect with it. Musically I find it really boring, and lyrically it's even worse.  I've actually got the hard copies of first two CDs in my garage but it's too much hassle to go look for them. I can't remember if he wrote or at least co-wrote a lot of the stuff on those two albums, but either way it definitely sounded like the songs at least meant something to him. I'd like to hear that again rather than him trying this metal thing which really doesn't seem to suit him. If he's passionate about it, sure, go for it. I'd love to hear him doing something heavy (and good)... but with songs that actually sound like they mean something to him. This new album sounds like trash to me, I hate to say. He's undoubtedly had a very interesting life post-Idol. I'd much rather hear about that in songs rather than dragons eating reapers in balls of fiery metal or whatever shit is on this album. 
    • Pretty true to their sound so many years into their career. Definitely sounds like HS; no doubt about that. 'Broken' is my favourite song from here... nice tune. Most of the rest is all pretty good to solid too. Admirable effort. 
    • Probably wouldn't have bothered to check this out if I'd not heard an interview with Ace where they spoke about the fact that Steve Brown of Trixter fame co-wrote and produced the album. And it does sound good, production-wise. And the songs are a bit better than I expected. Stand out track is the simple but nice 'Back Into My Arms Again.'  The but? For me, it's the vocals. He is not a good singer... quite a bad one, in fact, and it affects the songs poorly, for me. Which is not to say they're all great otherwise. But some are okay. I wish they'd used Steve for the vocals... 
    • Ok even more clues. Carl's best friend the boy who cried ... and hallowed be thy name.
    • Nope you will kick yourself when it is guessed.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.