Jump to content

Bad Radiator - Hypnotize


Recommended Posts




A diverse album but very classy made. I dig this alot. Jez? Right up your alley...




"The Swedish music scene has a new cool band making some waves in Scandinavian adult radio (and charts): BAD RADIATOR, with their debut album "Hypnotize".
However, this quartet isn't a group of newcomers; all these talented musicians have been in the business for more than 25 years, formerly known as Grace.

Many AOR collector's surely treasure in their vaults Grace's single 'Ingen Kan Alska Som Vi' (No One Can Love As Do) used in the Swedish movie of the same name from 1988, which also featured another great track from the band entitled 'The Deal'.
Well, Bad Radiator are the same guys, that are Klas Bergvall on guitars, drummer Roger Hansson, Janne Persson on bass and conductor & main songwriter, keyboardist Mikael Lundgren who now handles the vocals as well. Former singer Krister Linder isn't on board as he has a performer career in the US now.
But seems that Lundgren has perfected his vocal abilities because the man's singing in this recording is top notch, and his keyboard fills together with his bandmates musicianship have rounded a soaring product here.

We're talking about superb melodies, catchy hooks, breezy harmonies and quite catchy moments. Bad Radiator plays stylized lite AOR / Melodic Rock with class and finesse in the best pristine Scandinavian tradition.
Comparisons an influences abound; put on the table Street Talk, Spin Gallery, Cutting Crew, Richard Marx, Terra Nova, Deacon Street Project, Chris Antblad some Toto and you have Bad Radiator, yet this band has a really, really distinctive style.

The melodies crafted on this disc are truly awesome.
As said, lite AOR with smooth arrangements abound in this recording such as the gem that is "Closer" (plenty of keys), the ethereal "I want to believe", the indeed hypnotic midtempo title track "Hypnotize" (love this one) and the extremely elegant "So cold".
But Radiator has 'other side' as well, and it is pure Melodic Rock with the inclusion of sometimes crunchy guitars and meaty solos. "Want you out of my life" is simply irresistible, with a superb catchy chorus - which reminds the great and quite unknown Dutch act Aquila.
"Does anybody know" has a pulsating melodic rock vibe in the Germans Casanova vein, while "Do you still think of me" recalls Terra Nova in the really melodious line and the swirling keyboard solo.
More WestCoast sounds impregnate the Richard Marx-like "Don't walk away", the te-rri-fic piano ballad "Missing you badly", the uptempo "Alexandra" and the smooth "I know what I want", all with a strong AOR feeling.

"Hypnotize" is a little gem to my AORish ears.
I am a sucker for this kind of classy material, arranged until the minimum detail an performed with extreme wisdom. At times is light as the thin air and then is balanced by catchy, pulsating melodic rockers.
Production is excellent: crisp, glossy, surgical in detail but vibrant and earthy.
I can't believe Bad Radiator is selling "Hypnotize" on physical CD only in Scandinavia. You can get it digital via major retailers, but it isn't the same listening experience.
For me, "Hypnotize" is already occupying a slot in my best album of the year list.














Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • Yeah, at the moment he's the only option for me here. A few guys I'm not really interested in and although EM was everywhere a few years ago, he definitely appears to have settled down recently. If anything, wouldn't mind seeing his name pop up a little more these days, though it's fine as is. 
    • I've been a bit let down by recent albums but the genuine anticipation I feel for new material from these guys means they must have done something right through the years. Would absolutely love it if they unexpectedly hit another homerun. 
    • Classless Act - Welcome to the Show Out of This World - Out of This World Within Temptation - The Unforgiving  The Black Sorrows - The Chosen Ones Horsehead - Onism i-TEN - Taking a Cold Look (Rock Candy remaster) Touch - Touch (Rock Candy remaster) Spys - Spys/Behind Enemy Lines (Renaissance double album reissue)  
    • Literally just added this one to the main site: https://heavyharmonies.com/cgi-bin/glamcd.cgi?BandNum=433&CDName=30 Coming In Hot&Letter=A  
    • Another greatest hits album! And even worse, live greatest hits: JACKYL : 30 Coming In Hot +3 New Tracks (2022) BY BANNED WEBSITE · PUBLISHED AUGUST 13, 2022   When many classic hard rock-related acts from their generation succumbed to trends, JACKYL has been strong & healthy for more than 3 decades. Now 2022 JACKYL are celebrating the 30th anniversary of their platinum debut album with the release of a new best-of collection titled ”30 Coming In Hot”. There has been a ‘best of’ from the band some years ago but this one is different: ”30 Coming In Hot” includes their best songs this time performed live, where they truly showcase their power, plus 3 brand new studio tracks. JACKYL earned two Guinness Book of World Records citations and the designation “The Hardest Working Band in Rock ‘N’ Roll” for performing 100 shows in 50 days as well as 21 shows in 24 hours. Yeah, JACKYL born to play live, and ”30 Coming In Hot” is really ‘hot’ indeed. Very well recorded, mixed & produced, the set is very, very good and entertaining, and you have 3 new songs to enjoy as well. Highly Recommended   01 – Another Round (New Studio Track) 02 – Get All Up in It (New Studio Track) 03 – Bad Decision (New Studio Track) 04 – Blastoff (Live) 05 – My Moonshine Kicks Your Cocaine’s Ass (Live) 06 – Encore (Live) 07 – Screwdriver (Live) 08 – Down On Me (Live) 09 – Push Comes to Shove (Live) 10 – Just Because I’m Drunk (Don’t Mean You’re Right) (Live) 11 – Secret of the Bottle (Live) 12 – I Stand Alone (Live) 13 – When Will it Rain (Live) 14 – Dirty Little Mind (Live) 15 – Redneck Punk (Live) 16 – Cut the Crap (Live) 17 – The Lumberjack (Live) Jesse James Dupree – Vocals, Guitar Jeff Worley – Guitar Chris Worley – Drums, Percussion Roman Glick – Bass   BUY www.amazon.com/Jackyl-30-Coming-Hot/dp/B0B5N9T45Y
    • I have no real opinion on the band's schtick. I do have an opinion on their earlier albums - they contained a lot of good songs. The last few... not so. Hope they can pull something out here but expectations aren't high
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.