Jump to content


Recommended Posts




If you like Queen and/or Robby Valentine, this may be something for you.



Review by Henri Strik (edited by Robert James Pashman)/backgroundmagazine.nl


Jono is a Swedish rock band that was formed by singer, keyboard player and composer Johan Norrby. He already released a solo record in 2006, an album which featured musicians that are nowadays his fellow band members. After this release, he decided to go for a band project which would include those who had helped him recording his album. He named the band after the first two letters of his first and last name. Two of his band names are already known in the music business. Guitarist Stefan Helleblad is also a member of Within Temptation and drummer Nicka Hellenberg played the drums on their latest album The Unforgiving (2011). Furthermore, the band includes keyboardist Johan Carlgren and bassist Janne Henriksson.

The fruits of the collaboration between those musicians can now be heard on their debut Requiem, an interesting sounding album on which all of the songs were written by Johan Norrby himself. Throughout the entire album you can hear that he most of all, likes to write songs that have a lot of pathos, passion and drama. Therefore it is not so difficult to hear that he must have been inspired by acts such as Queen, Mika, Robby Valentine and Valensia- all acts that have the same kind of singer that just sounds like Johan when he sings in the higher regions. They also include a lot of pathos, passion and drama in the music they released, music that was most of all written and performed on the piano just like Mr. Norrby probably did. The nine songs on Requiem display a fine combination of progressive rock, rock and pop. All of them are very much worth listening to and are sometimes related to the music which bands such as Europe, Supertramp, Toto, The Sparks and Muse have released on their albums. However the ultimate highlights on this album were for me the title track and Symphony, which are very bombastic pieces of music with many beautiful orchestral parts and melodic guitar playing.

Without a doubt, Jono could be proud of this very professional sounding debut. Those who like the music made by the acts mentioned above should try this album without hesitation. They probably will enjoy it as much as I did!














Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 7 months later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Posts

    • I think most people know my stance on these two. I love LA Guns and think Tracii is one of the best guitarists to come out of the hair metal scene, and while I like Stryper I have really gone off them due to Michaels compulsion to release new material every second Wednesday. I have not bought the last 2 or 3 Stryper albums, and a bunch of other stuff he is involved in because of this. Hell, didnt even pick the first Sunbomb album up til early this year and only then it was because I got it for £5 instead of the usual £13 to £15 that Frontiers CDs usually cost. That album did not impress me. Musically it was tight but Sweets vocals were pretty "meh", and sounds like they are gonna be even worse on this album. Have to agree to what has already been said, but I can barely even understand what he is singing. Now while I am fine with listening to foreign language songs, if a singers native tongue is English, I wanna be able to understand what he is singing. Fuck me, there are death metal bands out there easier to understand than this. If I didnt know the song title, I would think it was called I'm bating bulls yeah
    • That Sunbomb release was soo bad that I can't believe there's gonna be another one.
    • Computer generated Gene is now God of Thunder 
    • Sorry, but those vocals are not good at all...
    • More info about Good Times Music: Welcome to Good Time Music…if you have found your way over here, it’s surely because you have a desire for melodic hard rock and AOR…or at least to satiety your curiosity, what we are all about . We will shortly announce our first signed band and one more will follow soon. We hope to be a landmark with the community and bring nothing but the best within the genres. To start off with we’ll release about 4 releases pr year. And with the love and support by you, the fans, we will hopefully gradually add to our rosters over the time to come. We will for sure be a force to be reckoned with and we are here to stay for good. Welcome onboard to all on this amazing journey we are about to engage in . Best, Carsten/CEO/President Good Time Music
    • It’s not a “you” problem; I could barely make out a word while listening to “Unbreakable” last night. A lyric video is definitely necessary when listening to MS these days. Still, even not having a clue what he was singing for the most part, this is better than pretty much everything off the first Shitbomb album. 
    • Enjoying this one, for defs their best release and they wear their influences firmly on their sleeves , mixing bands like Van Halen/Whitesnake/Treat/Pretty Maids/Magnum so whats not to like  
    • I didn't make the connection until a couple of days ago. This is the previous group of Tobias from Nestor.        
    • I miss the days when I could actually understand what Michael Sweet was singing.  Not sure if that's a "me" problem or a "Sweet" problem...
    • Lyric video for 'Unbreakable'.    
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.