Jump to content



Recommended Posts




RAGE: New Song Available For Streaming - Dec. 3, 2009

Veteran German metallers RAGE will release their new album, "Strings To A Web", on February 5, 2010 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was recorded at Twilight Hall Studio and was produced by Charlie Bauerfeind (BLIND GUARDIAN, HAMMERFALL). The cover artwork was created by Thomas Ewerhard (AVANTASIA, THERION), and it shows the soundchaser as a spider, caught in a web.


"Strings To A Web" track listing:


01. The Edge Of Darkness

02. Hunter And Prey

03. Into The Light

04. The Beggar's Last Dime

05. Empty Hollow

06. Strings To A Web

07. Fatal Grace

08. Connected

09. Empty Hollow (Reprise)

10. Saviour Of The Dead

11. Hellgirl

12. Purified

13. Through Ages

14. Tomorrow Never Comes


The song "Into The Light" is now available for streaming at the band's MySpace page.


The limited-edition digibook version of "Strings To A Web" will include a high-quality DVD including 15 live clips. The main portion of the DVD will consist of the "best-of" show RAGE played at the Wacken Open Air festival in 2009, including guest appearances by Hansi Kürsch (BLIND GUARDIAN), Schmier (DESTRUCTION) and Jen Majura (BLACK THUNDER LADIES).


The track listing for the DVD is as follows:


01. Carved In Stone

02. Higher Than The Sky

03. Set This World On Fire (featuring Hansi Kürsch)

04. All I Want (featuring Hansi Kürsch)

05. Invisible Horizons (featuring Hansi Kürsch)

06. Lord Of The Flies (featuring Jen Majura)

07. From The Cradle To The Grave (featuring Jen Majura)

08. Prayers Of Steel (featuring Schmier)

09. Suicide (featuring Schmier)

10. Down (featuring Schmier)

11. Soundchaser


In addition there will be four more live clips:


12. Set This World On Fire (Live at the "Masters of Rock 2009")

13. All I Want (Live at the "Masters of Rock 2009")

14. Carved In Stone (Live in Sofia 2009)

15. Never Give Up (Rage Race Special)


"I am really proud of the album, we hardly ever sounded more inspired and it is an absolute highlight in our career," says bassist/vocalist Peavy Wagner. Drummer André Hilgers adds, "This albums show all the different faces and characters and I call it the most enormous and multifarious record I ever recorded."


"Strings To A Web" includes melodic and anthemic tracks such as "Into The Light" and "The Beggar's Last Dime", as well as powerful thrashers like "Purified" and "Tomorrow Never Comes". But the heart of the record comes in the shape of the 16-minute masterpiece "Empty Hollow", a progressive fairytale that unites everything RAGE is about.


"You can compare 'Empty Hollow' to our 'Lingua Mortis Suite' from the 'Speak Of The Dead' record," says guitarist Victor Smolski. "This song was recorded with an orchestra and is divided into five parts.


"As a band we have discovered a lot of new possibilities and elements, even in Peavy's vocals, my way of playing guitar or the arrangements in André's drumming."



Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.