Jump to content

Transatlantic Radio - That's What You Get (For Falling In Love)


Recommended Posts



Great song. Erik Mårtensson on backing vocals.

From facebook:

Transatlantic Radio - The New Conquistadors of AOR

At the beginning of the world shutdown in 2020, Los Angeles based Swedish bass player Victor Brodén found himself locked out of his normal touring work, like many other professional “sidemen”, and decided to write some songs. The stylistic choice was obvious, straight-down-the-middle AOR, the musical equivalent of sugary comfort foods to brighten up the uncertain times. Victor had been toying with the idea of writing music in this genre during all his years backing up multi-platinum selling artists like Richard Marx, LeAnn Rimes and Dokken.

Calls were quickly made to guitarist R.J Ronquillo and keyboardist Fred Kron, Brodén’s long-time buddies from the freshman class of 1996 at the music school at the University of Miami. Victor knew these were the musicians needed to make the music what it needed to be. Once Kron and Ronquillo were officially on board, it was obvious the project had to become a real band and Transatlantic Radio was born!

Keyboardist and avid 80’s music connoisseur Fred Kron, is a film and television music composer, who has had his work featured in many shows including Anchorman 2, High School Musical 2 and 90210. He has played with Ringo Starr, Michelle Branch and Joe Bonamassa to name a few. When not composing, Fred can frequently be seen playing keyboards in the house band on the Jimmy Kimmel Show. In addition to playing keyboards with Transatlantic Radio, Fred does extensive sound design, producing and engineering work for the band.

R.J Ronquillo is world-renowned guitarist with acts like Ricky Martin, Stevie Wonder and Stone Sour. R.J has been the host of one of the most followed guitar channels on YouTube for quite a few years. When joining Transatlantic Radio, R.J quickly acquired a vintage 80’s Rockman guitar effects unit to propel Transatlantic Radio straight into “Hysteria”-era AOR territory.

Drum duties for Transatlantic Radio are handled by Australian native Chris Reeve, who started his American career as the drummer for the Rock band Filter. Chris is currently the drummer for Avril Lavigne and Tom Morello of Rage Against the Machine.

To enhance the already international feel of the band, Brodén wanted another Swede in the project and enlisted the talents of Mattias Osbäck, a long-time presence on the Rock scene in southern Sweden and also a high-ranking Chief in the Swedish Navy. Osbäck brought his perfect Hard Rock voice and co-writing skills to Transatlantic Radio.



Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 hours ago, Glen said:

pass on those vocals 😒

Really? I find nothing wrong with them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • Shiraz Lane - Forgotten Shades Of Life
    • That is simply brilliant...such a great band...love that artwork...this has made my day  
    • New EP out now, digital only. From rocknloadmag.com: Swedish melodic hard rock supergroup Crowne will release a new live EP entitled ‘Live From Studio Gröndahl’ on 19th August, a little treat to hold fans over as they await the release of a second album by the band. A live performance ‘Kings In The North’ from the EP is available from today on all digital platforms. The studio recording of ‘Kings In The North’ was the title track of their 2021 debut album, a record that truly delivered on the promise of the combined talents of the group members. Comprised of vocalist Alexander Strandell (Art Nation), guitarist/keyboardist/producer Jona Tee (H.E.A.T.), bassist John Levén (Europe) and drummer Christian Lundqvist (The Poodles), the record was a tour de force of Scandinavian melodic hard rock. It also featured guitar solos from Love Magnusson (Dynazty), who has now joined the line-up as permanent lead guitarist. ‘Live From Studio Gröndahl’ features the quintet tearing through five songs from ‘Kings In The North’ and allows fans to hear (and see) them playing live in an intimate setting. Crowne is the most exciting, thrilling supergroup created to date from the Swedish melodic hard rock scene. Having already crafted a beast of a debut, this stellar cast of outstanding musicians are currently working diligently to better it with the recording of its follow-up. LIVE FROM STUDIO GRÖNDAHL TRACKLISTING 1  Kings In The North 2  Sharoline 3  Perceval 4  Mad World 5  Save Me From Myself        
    • That's good to hear. The album Vanity Kills was pretty awesome. Some of the songs had bit of modern rock vibe to them which I thought was cool. Yep, hope we get to hear more music from you guys. 
    • Album out now. Listen to the rest of the album:                  
    • 'Forgotten Toys' out now. Listen to the rest of the album:            
    • Love these guys. In my opinion, they are more of hard/melodic rock than synthwave. Plenty of guitar riffs and solos. Another killer track, my fave song so far this year. 
    • Want to clear  all pacman 256 levels while spinning this monster 
    • Yes, I'm the new bassplayer :). I have asked Ward Dufraimont to answer your question, as he is better suited to reply: In a nutshell : Expectations were high in 2010 with a debut album out on MelodicRock Records and big dreams, unfortunately the wheels started coming off from the word ‘go’. After losing our permanent drummer and rehearsal space and wasting precious time trying to sort that all out, frustration started to kick in. In an effort to keep moving forward, we recorded a second full length album in 2012, which sits unmixed on a hard-drive somewhere. Sometimes life gets in the way, and we decided to shelve the whole thing before friendships were lost. In 2022, with enough water under the bridge, we are back in full force, with a deluxe reissue of the debut album (out of print for years) to kickstart the whole thing. Playing out as much as we can, opening for the likes of FM, Jelusick, Gun, and others this year, spreading the word. We hope to have a new single out later this year, and more new music next year. A new decade, a new lineup, a fresh start. Nothing’s gonna stop us now !
    • New album out today.  Gave it one listen and seems pretty decent and in line with their last album. Worth checking if you liked their last one.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.