Jump to content

Hydra - Point Break

Recommended Posts



Press release:

Frontiers Records is proud to announce the signing of Hydra, a new melodic rock band from Sweden. The band's debut album, "Point Break" will be released on August 5, 2022. In addition to this single, a second single, 'Bringing Down The Moon' is also available. 

Hydra is the brainchild of Swedish songwriter/musician Henrik Hedström, who has been a songwriter based out of Stockholm for many years and a friend of drummer/producer Daniel Flores (First Signal, Find Me, The Murder Of My Sweet) for the past 15 years. Flores drums and plays keyboards on the album, vocals and lead and rhythm guitars are handled by Andi Kravljaca (Aeon Zen, Seventh Wonder), and bass and fretless bass by Jonny Trobro (Find Me, First Signal). Henrik plays keyboards and acoustic and clean guitars in Hydra.

In his own words, Henrik Hedström was "kind of a musical prodigy and always sang or played piano at the school celebrations." In Stockholm, Henrik started and joined a few bands through the years, serving as a singer, guitar player, and songwriter. He eventually decided to start a solo career and began working with Swedish producer Anders Bagge. After some time with Anders, Henrik started a new band, Hydra. Around the same time, Henrik was signed as a songwriter by Warner/Chappell, writing pop music, but this ultimately wasn't where his heart was and he eventually started a career outside of music.

In 2007, Henrik met Daniel Flores, whom he was introduced to through a mutual friend, Andreas Novak (Mind's Eye, House of Shakira). The two wound up recording some pop music demos for Warner/Chappell, but again, Henrik's heart wasn't really in it and in 2009, he ended his deal with Warner/Chappell. In 2019, Flores reached out to Henrik and asked him to send over some old and newer versions of his songs, particularly the rock ones. Later in 2019, Henrik's song "A Million Miles" was recorded and released by First Signal and in 2020, "Beat Them All" by Angelica, both releases coming via Frontiers Music Srl.


“Point Break” Tracklisting:

1. Stop The Madness

2. Bringing Down The Moon

3. No Lullaby

4. Stay A While

5. Angela

6. Forever My Love

7. Never Be The Same

8. Doors Of Love

9. The Most Wanted

10. Suspicious

11. To Say Goodbye



Andi Kravljaca - Vocals, Lead & Rhythm guitars

Henrik Hedström - Keyboards, Acoustic & Clean guitars

Daniel Flores - Drums and keyboards

Jonny Trobro - Bass/Fretless bass

Additional musicians: Elena Valente - Vocals on "To Say Go



Edited by Stefan
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

Rock solid AOR without any surprises. Very Toto in places, but some very well written songs. I like Daniel Flores in general, especially on the brilliant Find Me 'Dark Angel' album and the Toby Hitchcock one was good too.  Good album this one and well worth checking out

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Very, very safe. To be totally honest, I didn't find a keeper on here, but it's a solid album, all right on the verge of something a bit better. Nice, safe AOR. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.