Jump to content

Top Notch - "Mean & Smooth" (2022 FNA Records)


Recommended Posts






Track List

01 Doing Something Right

02 What's Your Daddy Gonna Say

03 You're The Only One For Me

04 She's Hot

05 Make Me Believe
06 Mean And Smooth
07 Through The Night
08 I'm Not Dreamin'
09 She's All Talk
10 Long Way From Home BONUS TRACK
11 Razor's Edge (Live 11 10 89) BONUS TRACK
12 Heavy Pettin' (by Next Of Kin) BONUS TRACK
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • AlphaMale changed the title to Top Notch - "Mean & Smooth" (2022 FNA Records)


Top Notch was formed by songwriter and guitar player, Eric Kellogg, in 1984 and included Ken Robertson on vocals, Todd Jeffries on bass, and Mark Alderette on drums. The songs were primarily written by Eric Kellogg and Ken Robertson. The hard rock sound that they developed was melodic with blazing guitar solos. Top Notch recorded their first demo on an 8-track in the bedroom of one of their best friends. This was met with much acclaim and their songs were played on KLOS and KMET Southern California radio stations. This launched them into the LA rock scene, playing every major club including The Roxy, The Whisky, Gazzari’s, and the Troubadour, opening for who would become some of the largest rock bands such as Warrant, Rough Cut, Poison, and many others. Top Notch was then picked up by Available Management run by Alan Oken and David Libert, who managed bands such as Guns N Roses, Alice Cooper, and Bryan Adams. Their new management connected the band with many large record labels and they ultimately signed a developmental deal with Polygram Records. At that time, guitarist Eric Kellogg was connected with many prolific songwriters such as Peter Frampton, Martin Briley, Mark Tanner (Nelson, Eddie Money) and Steve Plunkett of Autograph. Steve Plunkett and Eric Kellogg developed a close relationship and went on to write many songs together that are featured on this album as well as Steve Plunkett’s solo album. The band had a large and loyal following and sold out virtually every club that they played. In the midst of them preparing to sign a major record deal, the grunge scene came into play and tilted the rock n roll world upside down. At this time the band broke up and Eric Kellogg went on to write and play with many well known artists in the industry. The band was no longer together but Top Notch’s music will live on forever!

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Looking forward to my copy arriving of this release.   I've had their demo tape for many years and now, finally a real CD with even more tracks than I already have.   A good Sunset Strip band.....

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.