Jump to content

GUS G. - ”Quantum Leap”


Recommended Posts

various internet souirces:

GUS G. – Quantum Leap [2-CD version] (2021)

OCTOBER 7, 2021


GUS G. - Quantum Leap [2-CD version] (2021) full

FIREWIND, OZZY OSBOURNE, et all guitarist GUS G. said about his forthcoming solo effort ”Quantum Leap”: “I wanted to avoid making a boring album that’s 45 minutes of ‘widdly widdly’!” And he succeed.

That GUS G is a really, really good guitar player is obvious. Fortunately, Gus G. is also a gifted songwriter, and so while this undoubtedly conforms to many of the same tropes and tricks that will delight fans of balls-out shred, ”Quantum Leap” is also an album that has melody and memorable ideas in plentiful supply.

Much like Marty Friedman’s solo work, the Greek’s instincts are always to create something enduring, rather than just assault listeners with technical showmanship.

And while Gus G. is a metalhead, he drops here some AOR moments, melodic ‘heavy-pop’ and even some ’80s retro-synthwave sounds!

You can hear that vividly in opener “Into the Unknown”, wherein the guitarist can hardly be accused of reining in his dazzling abilities, and yet its dizzying five minutes are as easy to whistle along to as any of the anthems he has written as a member of FIREWIND (nine albums and counting!).

“Quantum Leap” is a CD that promises to thrill those who worship STEVE VAI’s “Passion and Warfare” and JOE SATRIANI’s “Surfing with the Alien”, such is the way it skitters across a spectrum of melodic metal styles while still delivering hooks galore.

But Gus G. is also a metalhead to his bones, and so even when surfing on a wave of gleaming AOR (title track “Quantum Leap”) or drifting serenely along in mellifluous prog mode on “Enigma Of Life”, these songs are always underpinned by muscular ensemble performances and a sense of vibrant, plugged-in bravado.

The album’s finest moments are wonderfully elegant demonstrations of prowess: “Judgement Day” is a rugged, lurching squall of murderous riffs with a killer, tear-jerker chorus; “Demon Stomp” is a steroidal glam metal beat-’em-up with some insane soloing from the man himself; “Force Majeure” is half power metal hurricane, half RUSH-saluting throwdown.

And, as if to prove that “Quantum Leap” is both smarter than the average shred record and firmly at the cutting edge of things, “Night Driver” hops onto the downtempo synthwave bandwagon with genuinely blissful and cinematic results. The gleefully overwrought balladry of “Not Forgotten” is also, in spite of itself, weirdly compelling.

He can really play, this guy. Three-dimensional shred: it’s the way forward.

Highly recommended


CD 1: Quantum Leap
01. Into The Unknown
02. Exosphere
03. Quantum Leap
04. Chronesthesia
05. Enigma Of Life
06. Judgement Day
07. Fierce
08. Demon Stomp
09. Night Driver
10. Not Forgotten
11. Force Majeure (feat. Vinnie Moore)

CD 2: Live in Budapest 2018
01. Fearless (Live)
02. Mr. Manson (Live)
03. Letting Go (Live)
04. Cold Sweat (Live, Thin Lizzy Cover)
05. Force Majeure (Live)
06. Money For Nothing (Live)
07. Thrill Of The Chase (Live)


Gus G. – All Instruments





Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • No, you need to show me where the pulse is. 
    • Yeah, it's a great album (Vanity Kills, 2010). Any new material on the horizon?   
    • Lyric video for 'Return To Glory'.    
    • New album out November 22 through Lions Pride Music. From Lions Pride Music: Martin Perticone AKA “Perticone Underdog” is an artist from Buenos Aires, Argentina who’s been in the music industry since the age of 13, when he joined the band Fondo Blues as a lead singer and guitar player. Martin played in the Argentinean under circuits for more than 25 years but during the way also got to know many important people in the music industry that led him to become Tour Manager for artists like Eric Martin from Mr Big in 2007 or even being invited as a guest for Richie Kotzen Latin American Tour in 2008. Martin has also toured around Latin America, USA, Europe and Hong Kong as a hired gun for many different artists until he finally decided to put more efforts on his solo career. That’s how his long-time friend Edu Giardina (well-known artist in Latin America) would become his producer and mentor for his debut album “Underdog”. The mixture of AOR, Southern Rock and Country makes this album unique and different with amazing and powerful melodies all over the place. The album featured guests such as Eric Martin (Mr Big) and Edu Giardina and brings reminiscent from the late 80’s and 90’s but keeping the best of current sounds and trends too. Perticone’s solo career has just begun and in only 1 year from his launch he’s got many followers and fans in Europe, Asia and Latin America. “Stuff In The Basement” was recorded during pandemic times at RED Studios Buenos Aires and features an amazing line-up of musicians from all over the world. Edu Giardina and Guillermo Porro got involved, one more time, as the producers and band members for this new release taking the album to another level. It is plain to see the growth of Perticone Underdog as an artist on this new production by just listening to the opening track of the album “Blame it on Me”. There are, as usual, some country “pearls” and 90’s rock reminiscences all over. Stuff in the Basement will be released in 29 August 2022 by Lions Pride Music worldwide!   CD Tracklist: 01. Blame It On Me 02. End Of The Line 03. Name Without A Face 04. Save Me Tonight 05. Game For Fools 06. Waiting 07. Let's Get Lost Tonight 08. What Went Wrong (I Wonder) 09. When It Rains 10. Falling   Perticone Underdog is: Martin Perticone: Lead & Backing Vocals, Acoustic & Rhythm Guitar Edu Giardina: Backing Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keys, Drums, Progamming Ezequias Aquino: Saxophone Guillermo Porro: Guitar Solo on „Name Without A Face“ Will Wilde: Harmonica on „Game Of Fools“ Emmanuel Lopez: Lead Guitar on „Let's Get Lost Tonight“ Lara Goi: Backing Vocals on „What Went Wrong“ Brad Harper: Pedal Steel Guitar on „When It Rains“   facebook      
    • You need to keep your finger on the pulse m'boy
    • Don't mind that either tbh
    • They used to be pretty solid. They really took a nosedive.
    • Hi guys,  Check out glam rock band @alliknow_official from Belgium! Playing some support shows for Gun and Mason Hill later this year!  https://open.spotify.com/artist/1DyAEG7bqQ4z10HOBOW8sA?si=B9o67DiuSs-bUQiR_uFp3Q&utm_source=copy-link  
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.