Jump to content

WIKKID STAR - Sudden Impact (2021)


Recommended Posts

WIKKID STARR – Sudden Impact (2021)

WIKKID STARR - Sudden Impact (2021) full

from various internet sources:

Now let’s go back to the future with Los Angeles’ Modern-day Cowboys WIKKID STARR and their new album ”Sudden Impact”. With this recording the guys promises to take Hair Metal back to the place once it belonged. And let me tell something, it gets it with flying colors.

The album is everything the Hair Metal fan – wherever and whoever they are – expects; a return to the Eighties glory days of the Sunset Strip.

“Sudden Impact” is sassy and sensual as the cover art shows to everyone. Just the way bands as Warrant turned them into eternal.

Musicwise, “Sudden Impact” doesn’t deliver too many modernity except for some electronic effects in some songs as “Partners in Life.” Those do bring some different feelings taking us to the the middle of the 1980s when some bands tried to incorporate them in their music. I liked the ethereal effect it gave to the song.

The album opens up with “Bring It on” which is a groundbreaker and earthshaker tune with lots of guitars as all the album is. Just loved the bursting guitar solo and the insane leading guitar riff. Great invitation card to an album that promises.

Guitarists Kyle Kaye and Rafa Souza do an excellent job as their peers throughout the years, I mean, throughout the hairs.

”Betty” adds a bit of snakehipped ‘smiffery to the more metalised recipe the band employs usually and stands out accordingly, the poppier ”Partners in Life” is also splendid, whilst “Uncle Sam” is a chunky riff of a tune heavy on the bass and topped with tailor made guitar solo.

By the time “Hot Love” rolls in, I’m ready to get out of lockdown and back into a crowded bar of loud rock and roll.

The grand finale, as it couldn’t be different to follow the tradition, is with the power ballad “You Just Don’t Understand” with the mixed taste of Mötley Crüe’s “Home Sweet Home” by the keyboards and all Poison’s ballads by the impression. By the way, the acoustic guitars in the end are just neat and pretty as hell.

“Sudden Impact” is just as whammy and delicious as your favorite glam / hair metal classics, and it does keep the faith and hold the flag for some more long.

And it does it greatly.

Highly Recommended


01 – Bring It On
02 – Out in the City
03 – All Hell’s Breaking Loose
04 – Hot Love
05 – Bump & Grind
06 – Pump House
07 – Rocket Ride
08 – Betty Sue
09 – Snake in the Grass
10 – Partners in Life
11 – Uncle Sam
12 – You Just Don’t Understand

Toney Richards – vocals
Kyle Kaye – guitar
Rafa Souza – guitar
Zeus Jade – bass
Sergio Sanchez – drums





Edited by AlphaMale
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • I think I posted these guys before. It's not ground breaking, but they have an album out and it's pretty cool. Some really cool musical passages on it.   Sever     -    This Should Have Been a Better Place 1    .    '91 2    .    Red Room 3    .    Animal 4    .    Cold World 5    .    Empty Promises (feat. Christoph Wieczorek of Annisokay) 6    .    Closer 7    .    The Disease 8    .    My Dream, My Agony 9    .    Noise in the Trees 10    .    Do You Remember Me?
    • These guys are one of those mystery bands to me. I think they're fine, just can't figure out why people fall over themselves for them as I think they're average to below average in the overall scheme of things. BUT, that is why I am a strong advocate for to eaching their owning. I'm glad people dig, I just don't really understand why. Anyway, new album is basically what these guys do. Solid, eclectic and half decent... but not great. I did think 'Beat of Your Heart' was a nice ballad. Drum sound interesting too. Took me genuinely 6-7 songs to figure out what I thought of it - if I liked it or not. I think I settled on the fact it's cool. I think. Anyway, I assume fans will adore this for whatever reasons they loved the other ones. Me, I think it's adequate, again. 
    • I'm not in the camp enough to say this is utter shit because honestly, it's not. It is capable melodic hard rock and if I put myself in the honest box, if nothing else was considered and this came along in a year like 1996 or something, it'd be a well appreciated album. BUT, all things considered, I agree that it's a pass. It's all capable, but it's very bland and it's just impossible to listen to this project without wondering why it's still called Sunstorm without JLT. It doesn't make sense.  Anyway, I thought 'Hold The Night' was a passable keeper but the rest is predictable, uninspired and bored. 
    • lol, I wonder who he thinks that is going to appeal to? 
    • I'd be amazed if there's any Tesla fans anywhere that don't like 'Bust a nut.' Is this really considered one of their weaker albums? 
    • Ok. I can understand your thinking regarding one`s favorite bands. In my case it was  Bon Jovi. First album I ever bought was Slippery, liked NEw Jersey even better. Saw them live few times, but after 1995 only some good songs on each album but still bought albums,  since Richie left I cant stand their latest albums or even live. So from that scenario I see that I am not just following my favorite bands regardles what they put out.     But in Tesla case I do stlll enjoy their releases, even those post 2010. A admit that Shock had some filler but also some of their best songs post 2000 like The Mission.   I do miss the heavier  element that Tommy brought. songs like  Dont de-rock me, Action talks.
    • Blondie on the right of the second shot is PERFECTION! 
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.