Jump to content

Vandenberg - 2020

Recommended Posts



From blabbermouth.net:

Vandenberg is back! Or should we say: VANDENBERG are back? The man himself, Adrian Vandenberg has never really been away, but the band that carries his proud name has returned, after an absence that lasted for more than three decades VANDENBERG is very much alive again in a young, fresh and all-revised 2020 version.

Adrian Vandenberg can already look back on a rich career. He played in WHITESNAKE for over 13 years, having been part of this seminal band's most legendary lineup. He was the driving force behind MANIC EDEN and, more recently, VANDENBERG'S MOONKINGS, but equally proud he looks back on VANDENBERG, the Dutch band that put him on the map, internationally. "So many people still come up to me and speak about those glory days and the albums I've made with that band," he says.

All these compliments have inspired Adrian to bring VANDENBERG back to life, albeit in an all new lineup. Together with renowned producer Bob Marlette (ALICE COOPER, BLACK SABBATH), he is currently putting the finishing touches to a new album that will be in stores later this year. A first taste of what is to come can be heard online as of today;"Burning Heart", which you can check out below. A brand new version of the classic hit, it is sung by none other than Ronnie Romero, who first came to prominence when Ritchie Blackmore recruited him for aRAINBOW tour in 2016.

Romero's impressive vocals can be heard on all songs on the upcomingVANDENBERG album and he will also be part of the touring band. Together with Rudy Sarzo (OZZY OSBOURNE, WHITESNAKE) on bass and Brian Tichy (SLASH, OZZY OSBOURNE, FOREIGNER) on drums, the band have recorded nine all new, original songs. Backed by Koen Herfst (crowned as the best drummer of the Benelux, six times in a row) and Randy van der Elsen on bass (TANK) the band plan to hit the road, soon. Says Adrian: "First get the album done and then I want to get out there and play. We want to play this music to audiences all over the world."

About his decision to relaunch the band VANDENBERG, Adrian says: "Going with the band name VANDENBERG was a logical decision. Rock fans would know right away what they are dealing with. I felt that I wasn't done with the style of music I wrote for my band VANDENBERGat the time and wanted to pick up the thread where I left it when I joined WHITESNAKE. But to me, that would only make sense if I'd come up with a brand new, testosterone-driven version of VANDENBERG with a kick-ass, world-class lineup. VANDENBERG 2020 on steroids. So that's exactly what we did. BAM! Here I go again."

Romero adds: "To me, it's kind of a dream come true. I've followedAdrian's career since for years and he always was one of my favorite guitar players, so to work with him is nothing but amazing to me.Adrian is an exceptional musician, and it's really easy to work with him. The energy when we work together was fantastic. We had great times at the studio with our producer Bob Marlette; very exciting time.”

Marlette is equally enthusiastic. "Working with Adrian has been a real pleasure," he says. "The man is working around the clock and his well of new riffs and melodies never seems to dry. With a powerful singer such as Ronnie Romero behind the microphone, I was some true magic expecting to happen and let me tell you... it has."

In short, these guys mean business. 35 years may have passed since the final studio album "Alibi", Vandenberg 2020 sounds just as fresh, relevant and at least as HEAVY as back in the day. Fun times will revive with a brand new album, and an agenda filling up quickly with festivals and other touring plans. Or as the man himself Adrian Vandenbergputs it: "Fasten your seatbelts, VANDENBERG is here to stay." 




Edited by Stefan

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

New album '2020' out May 29 and here's the brand new single 'Shadows Of The Night'.



Edited by Stefan

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • These guys actually released a nice EP called 'The Walls Between You & I' last year which was a good jam with some good tunes. But they've bettered themselves with an even more impressive new EP release this year. It's called 'Fake Smiles' and has these songs; 1    .    Life for Me 2    .    Without Her 3    .    Nvrb 4    .    Out of Touch 5    .    Freefall   They also made a pretty unflattering video for one of my favourite tunes on the EP;   Love this one too;   Which kinda has similarities to this massive earworm from their 2019 EP;  
    • Despite my above commentary I think was the closest they got to getting it right;  
    • Good new sound and a solid album, but overall it's probably going to be mostly another pass for me... as per recent efforts. The songs just don't have any longevity for me. I do love one song on it which is this;  
    • Pretty frustrating album. I actually feel like, song-wise, it's a pretty good album. But I am so turned off by the poor demo sound quality I can't really give it a proper go. Irritating, as I think there's an okay product here, but it sounds like absolute shit. 
    • Yep, ridiculously average album. 'Another Life Another Time' is an okay tune, but otherwise this ranges from terrible to bad. Very, very forgettable album. 
    • Pretty solid album with a pretty good sound, but none of the songs really do too much for me so it was sadly a pass for me.
    • Really, really average album. 'Still Close to My Heart' is a pretty decent stab at a commercial balladic number. But the rest is extremely forgettable. 'Steal your heart' was okay too... 
    • Pretty weak album, but I liked the opener, which is 'So bad.' Good song. Elsewhere I like 'Never say never' and 'My hometown' and there is potential with these guys. But overall, it leaves a lot to be desired.  
    • Only one listen in to this so it's early days, and I feel like this will grow wonderfully too. But I heard this one today and it's possibly the most interested in a modern rock release I've been for a few years. The first song hooked me immediately and I found myself really digging what these dudes were doing. Some cool lyrics and an emotive vocal delivery throughout. Don't know if others will dig it, but I loved this right off the bat.   01. Bright 02. Concealed 03. Twentyfourseven 04. Awakening 05. Gravity 06. Transition 07. Amnesia 08. Mindset 09. Oblivion 10. Worst Of Me The single;   The song that hooked me;  
    • Some good old synth-pop. Howard Jones - One To One (2 CD Expanded Edition) Alphaville - Forever Young (2 CD Deluxe Edition)
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.