Jump to content

Stoneflower - Finally

Recommended Posts



New album out in March/April on AOR Heaven.



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

From AOR Heaven:

Line-up: John Masaki – Vocals; Svenn Huneide - Bass, Vocals; Tom Sennerud - Guitars, keys, vocals; Geir Johnny Huneide - Drums 

Having released one album with Diesel Dahl (d, TNT), Tom Sennerud (g), Frode Henriksen (v) and Jon Johannessen (g) decided to form a band on their own in 1996: STONEFLOWER. The Norwegians were soon joined by Svenn Huneide (b). They decided to hire experienced drummer Steinar Krokstad (STAGE DOLLS) and Dag Bårdstu (keys) to create the best result. The debut “Crack A Little Smile” was finally released on the small label Storyteller Records in 2003 and sold world-wide via AOR Heaven’s mailorder. A video for the track “If You Say” was released feat. Geir Johnny Huneide (d). Then, Johannessen left group in 2005. 
When singer Frode Henriksen moved to a different part of the country after 2010, the band split up. Tom felt that the album already in progress was too good to let go, so he started finishing the album on his own. “Destination Anywhere” was released on his own label, Late Night Music. It received highly critical acclaim, like “best AOR album 2014” (Sweden Rock Magazine). 

After the positive feedback, members Tom and Svenn decided to reignite the band with a new singer. By sheer luck they found the amazingly talented John Masaki (“Norwegian Idol“). The first track recorded included one of the most famous and gifted Norwegian drummers, Per Hillestad (LAVA, A-HA,) but the band soon decided to go for a full-time member and the talented and AOR-loving Geir Johnny Huneide (brother to Svenn) got the job. Geir then recorded the rest of the album with Steinar Krokstad (STAGE DOLLS) guesting on one track. STONEFLOWER this time signed a record deal with AOR Heaven. “Finally” was mainly recorded in Tom’s own studio “Late Night Music“. Some drums were recorded at Leif Johansen’s (21 GUNS, PHENOMENA, A-HA) “Stable Studio“. Guests on “Finally” are Per Hillestad (d), premium Swedish AOR guitarist, Tommy Denander (PAUL STANLEY, ALICE COOPER), Bjørn Ole Rasch (keys, SECRET GARDEN) and Gunnar Westlie (g, DA VINCI). Mixed by Trond Engebretsen and Tom Sennerud, mastered by JK Northrup (KING KOBRA). 

Track list:

1. Gonna Let You Go

2. What Can Be Done

3. Believing

4. Calling All Stations

5. Kaylee

6. The Devil Never Cries

7. Shivering Hands

8. Finally

9. Through The Fire

10. How Does It Feel

11. Fall



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Solid AOR tune, I'm interested in hearing more from this release

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

This is some top notch AOR. Won't appeal to those who only listen to the heavier end of the melodic rock spectrum, but for fans of West Coast and the lighter side of melodic rock, this won't disappoint.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • These guys actually released a nice EP called 'The Walls Between You & I' last year which was a good jam with some good tunes. But they've bettered themselves with an even more impressive new EP release this year. It's called 'Fake Smiles' and has these songs; 1    .    Life for Me 2    .    Without Her 3    .    Nvrb 4    .    Out of Touch 5    .    Freefall   They also made a pretty unflattering video for one of my favourite tunes on the EP;   Love this one too;   Which kinda has similarities to this massive earworm from their 2019 EP;  
    • Despite my above commentary I think was the closest they got to getting it right;  
    • Good new sound and a solid album, but overall it's probably going to be mostly another pass for me... as per recent efforts. The songs just don't have any longevity for me. I do love one song on it which is this;  
    • Pretty frustrating album. I actually feel like, song-wise, it's a pretty good album. But I am so turned off by the poor demo sound quality I can't really give it a proper go. Irritating, as I think there's an okay product here, but it sounds like absolute shit. 
    • Yep, ridiculously average album. 'Another Life Another Time' is an okay tune, but otherwise this ranges from terrible to bad. Very, very forgettable album. 
    • Pretty solid album with a pretty good sound, but none of the songs really do too much for me so it was sadly a pass for me.
    • Really, really average album. 'Still Close to My Heart' is a pretty decent stab at a commercial balladic number. But the rest is extremely forgettable. 'Steal your heart' was okay too... 
    • Pretty weak album, but I liked the opener, which is 'So bad.' Good song. Elsewhere I like 'Never say never' and 'My hometown' and there is potential with these guys. But overall, it leaves a lot to be desired.  
    • Only one listen in to this so it's early days, and I feel like this will grow wonderfully too. But I heard this one today and it's possibly the most interested in a modern rock release I've been for a few years. The first song hooked me immediately and I found myself really digging what these dudes were doing. Some cool lyrics and an emotive vocal delivery throughout. Don't know if others will dig it, but I loved this right off the bat.   01. Bright 02. Concealed 03. Twentyfourseven 04. Awakening 05. Gravity 06. Transition 07. Amnesia 08. Mindset 09. Oblivion 10. Worst Of Me The single;   The song that hooked me;  
    • Some good old synth-pop. Howard Jones - One To One (2 CD Expanded Edition) Alphaville - Forever Young (2 CD Deluxe Edition)
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.