Jump to content

Mark Baker - The Future Ain't What It Used To Be

Recommended Posts



From melodicrock.com:

The name Mark Baker may not be immediately recognisable to many, but for liner note/album credits junkies, it signifies top shelf AOR songwriting. Whether it be anthems or ballads, a Mark Baker song means memorable hooks and a big chorus.

Mark Baker is the man behind the iconic Signal ‘Loud & Clear’ album as well as many other songs including tracks for 38 Special, Paris Black, Triumph and Boulevard.
He was also the main co-writer on House Of Lords’ acclaimed ‘Demons Down’ record, re-joining as co-writer on some of the band’s more recent albums too.

‘The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be’ is a compilation of Mark’s songwriter demos from the 80s and 90s. The songwriter demos feature various singers, including the best session vocalist of them all – Mark Free. I’m pleased to say there are several unreleased Mark Free vocals.

But that’s not all – there are some original demos from the House Of Lords ‘Demon’s Down’ record as well as an appearance from Chicago’s Bill Champlin on an amazing AOR anthem.
Several of these demos have been traded online for years and MRR is thrilled to be able to bring one disc of this material to light in July. The tracks come from DAT masters and will as always be remastered by JK Northrup.

Mark Baker ‘The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be’ will be released worldwide July 26 alongside Outlasted ‘Waiting For Daybreak’.

Track Listing & Vocalist Featured:
01. Nobody Gets Out Alive (Mark Free) 03:38
02. The Future Ain't What It Used To Be (Mark Free) 04:35
03. Demons Down (Demo Version)(James Christian) 03:34
04. No Pleasure Without The Pain (Demo Version)(James Christian) 05:00
05. Someday You're Gonna Love Someone (Mark Free) 03:45
06. A Little Too Much (Mark Free) 04:23
07. First To Cry (Mark Free) 03:43
08. What Did You Do (Mark Free) 04:27
09. Nothin' (Mark Free) 04:48
10. Dream On Little Dreamer (Bill Champlin) 04:16
11. Give A Little (Vocalsist Unknown) 03:57
12. Cold Day In Hell (James Christian) 04:12
13. Questions Of The Heart (Gary O) 04:59
14. Brighter Day (James Christian) 04:32
15. Only Young (Vocalist Unknown) 04:01
16. Runaway (Mark Free) 03:53
17. Superhero (Mark Free) 04:46
18. X T C O I (Freddy Curci) 03:46




Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting.  I definitely want to hear the House of Lords stuff...

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah sounds interesting indeed

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow.... this sounds pretty damn amazing so far. I'm very interested.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Has anyone found out the 2 "unknown artists" are ??

11.give a little male, gravelly voice, not the best, 80s maybe 

15.only young, female

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Pretty nice stuff. A lot of the better stuff we've heard in some shape or form through the years, but it's a pretty cool collection. I'll listen to these Mark Free songs more than the weak offerings on the new UC album from this year. 'Brighter day' is a brilliant song and sounds nice with James Christian on vocals too. 

Okay release, but no world beater. 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • Deep Red Shadows - Lillian Axe
    • Yes the first 4 and the last one are GREAT, and I also like Dream Your Heart Out, and Blow Your Mind and Look Into Me are decent enough. Enjoying the album a lot.
    • Those first 4 songs are probably the best 4 in a row to start an album of 2020. Too bad it grinds to a halt in the middle. Also agree the last track is awesome.
    • I might be in the minority, but as good as the Defiant's albums are I enjoyed the TMF debut more than either of those. That said, I prefer their debut to this one too.  But overall it's pretty even between the two projects, for me anyway.  As far as individual tracks on Lions, one of the things that appeals to me is the fact that they changed up the style on some tracks this time.  Third time through and I find myself listening more to the songs on the second half of the album rather than the singles.
    • blinded by hate
    • I don't think he does care.  all he really cares about is getting re-elected.  he just wants markets open, schools open , retail open - that's his bottom line. The continuing spread of the virus is defended by claiming it's enhanced testing which is basically rubbish. I hope for all your sakes that the death rate doesn't spike again. But it's up isn't it. let's just hope it doesn't get worse. 
    • Totally agree The first 4 tracks are great...Lions is dreadfully boring. Decadence On 10th Street reminds me of Extreme for some reason...it’s ok. Sedona is another snoozer. The tracks around those are good...the closer Winner Takes It All is excellent.    The Defiants have taken the clear lead now after 2 full releases for each band. 
    • Glen, you started so well... but then you just couldn't help yourself and veered off into TDS land.  "trump doesn't care about people's safety or the spread of this virus." Seriously? Do you HONESTLY believe this? We don't know all of the factors being weighed to arrive at a particular decision. It's possible to simply disagree with a decision without going off the deep end and resorting to "OMFG! EVIL ORANGE MAN WANTS TO KILL YOUR BABIEZ! REEEEEEEEEE!!!!!"
    • this ^^^^ Also the small fact that it's not safe to reopen to ALL pupils. In fact it's nigh on impossible. but trump doesn't care about people's safety or the spread of this virus.
    • OK, listened to this album a few times now and I think I prefer the songs on the debut, but the production of this one. Is that fair? I agree with those who say Lions loses some momentum halfway through.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.